We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Year holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Paradise Island to your Saves list
Aparthotel Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Year holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From start to finish we had a brilliant weeks holiday.we arrived on 29th Dec and check in was fast,friendly and efficient.We were in time for dinner .The food was absolutely brilliant-so much choice even for our fussy 11 year old! The New years Eve meal was quite honestly one of the best meals we have ever eaten-the roast beef was melt in the mouth!!We were asked to book our table 2 days before it was all so well organised.The staff were so friendly-from the reception,to the bar staff,waiters,cleaners and entertainers.There was always plenty going on but it wasnt in your face.My daughter loved the club dance and dancing lessons-we all loved the poolside quiz-we won twice!! Rooms were cleaned most days and towels changed.The beach and shops were about 20 mins walk which was just right-there was a free bus if you wanted.Yes the pools were cold but i can imagine that would be great in summer.The pools were spotless as was the on site waterpark.Quite honestly I cant fault it-many thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    617
    397
    196
    199
See reviews for
1,026
375
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

i had a great trip with my family, I went with my parents, my anut and uncle, my little sister (aged 9) and my two little cousins (aged 6 and 8). We all had a great holiday and didnt want to go home at the end of it.After reading some of the reviews on here we all got slightly worried about the holiday but getting there we could not find anything wrong with it, okay the pool was a little cold but it didnt matter because it was boiling outside so we wanted a cold pool to get in.The food was amazing and there were loads to choose from, salad, stew, chips,a range of pasta and this was just some of it, every night it was different our first night there it was chinese the next was mexican and so on, plus there was two rooms to choose from.you could not fault it. Our rooms were so comfy and the beds were made every day with out fail. The maids left clean towels out every day, The floors were sweeped and the rooms were spotless when we came in. The staff are so friendly there, they will always speak to you no matter what, they will always say morning or night or just even hello when you walk past and they will smile while doing it, also the people who stayed there the same time as me were lovely they always spoke too. The best bit for me and my family had to be the club at night, friendly bar staff that will make you what ever you want to drink and an amazing entertainment team, Cat, Grant ,Daren and Rhyner the most friendly people out there , they always have a massive smiles on there faces. They did great shows , on my last night they did queen, high school musical, grease and sound of music, the kids all enjoyed it and there was never a boring moment in the club or the mini disco. i enjoyed it so much we are all going back next year.

Room Tip: the higher rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on 27th December and check in was quick and easy. Adequate information given at check in to locate room and facilities within the hotel.

Room was adequate for family of 3 with two single beds in the bedroom and comfortable couch bed in living space.

Kitchen includes microwave, 2 ring stove and fridge. Bathroom was good size and shower over bath.

Maid service provided 5 out of 7 days. Towels were not changed often but it wasn't too much a problem as we had extra with us.

Beds were comfortable but pillows very soft and flat so additional pillows requested.

Pool and bar area is lovely but you need to be there early as most of the loungers had towels on them by 9.00am. Pool area is busier due to bar being adjacent to it so if you want a lovely relaxing time go to the waterpark at the hotel instead.

Waterpark is excellent and well supervised. Lifeguards are vigilant and helpful and the place was spotless.

Great selection of rides and amusements for young children, babies, teenagers and adults. The refreshment bar offers soft drinks and coffees too so no need to run back and forward to the bar or room.

Hogmanay party was excellent. Great food, lots of choice and good family entertainment arranged including fireworks.

The restaurant is good but some people don't have manners and jump the queue. No need as there was little queuing most of the time. Again, a few concerns about some basic hygiene problems but this was not any fault of the hotel or staff.

My family enjoyed a 7 day stay but would not have wanted to stay much longer.

If I could suggest improvements, it would be standard of bedding and pillows, more towels, extra staffing in the bar after 8pm, a little more choice of food in Chinese restaurant.

Would I go back? Yes if the price is reasonable

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just spent new year celebrations at the Paradise Island Playa Blanca. Glad we ignored all the moaning minnies with bad reviews - had a really good time. OK - the holiday wasn't perfect with the Thomas Cook rep sending us to the wrong coach for our transfer followed by the receptionist sending us to the wrong apartment -gave us the key to a room that hadn't been cleaned by mistake (easily done - should've gone to sp**savers?) That aside and the poor weather for the first couple of days, everything else went well. Like other reviewers, no complaints about the food, especially New Year's eve gala dinner - absolutely spoilt for choice, well presented with the catering and waiting staff working with military precision. We agree with some of the complaints such as long queues at the bars but with not everybody being "All inclusive" they could not really put the beer and wine on a "self service" basis as we have previously experienced, due to the obvious abuse this would have encountered. but additional staff would have helped. Room cleanliness presented no problems with regular visits from the maids even on New Years Day. On site supermarket a bit of a rip off but that is always the case where ever you go. If you smoke go the the tobacconist as soon as you can. My cigarettes were 2.50 euro in supermarket machine, 3.00 euro in hotel machine and 1.50 euro in the tobacconist (11.98 euro for 200) Very pleasant location with the foot bridge between 2 waterfalls over the pond presenting a nice atmosphere when walking through the resort. Overall a very nice place which we would definitely go back to. Try for yourself as everybody has different expectations and standards but if you want 5* treatment then go to a 5* resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "100' block have the best view over the Island and better sun exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

arrived new years eve 2012, rooms very clean, beds not very comfy but hey its only for a week. food very nice, plenty of choice, only complaint would be its streaky greasy bacon for breakfast. staff very friendly and kids kept entertained all day by both entertainment teams (thomas cook and hotel team) couple of things to moan about are having to pay for bottled water when your all inclusive (never had that before and always go all inclusive) also having to pay deposit for remote control for tv and air con in room. shops and bars are a bit far away but if you dont mind a walk then its nice and passes time if the sun isnt out.. all in all we had a nice relaxing week and would go back, we were wary after all negative reviews but its not that bad!!!!! (oh n dont leave money around cos the cleaners take it) Now for my comments, my girlfriend wrote the first bit. im a guy who never moans and have never placed any comments on any type of site and doubt i ever will again so having only read comments once in the hotel i reserved judgement. the first three days were dull and windy so listened to people moaning for the sake of moaning. we saw a lot of children slipping which could of easily been prevented by saying simply walk dont run no different to a swimming pool in the UK. We had a spotless room cleaned on time, i loved the food and drinks, although not the usual huge selection it was fine.the complex was clean and tidy as for the cats well there sure wasnt any mice or rats and im sure you can give them credit for that. the local cat catcher came and removed a half dozen.the ones remaining ran if you got close so never caused us any problems.all the staff were friendly but on the negative side were working long shifts due to under staffing hence queues at most bars.I love to cool down in the hotel pool but the large well presented pool was colder than my military ice breaking drills in Norway and that is the truth, so it was nice to look at. we had no incidents to report and the undercover security guard maybe would have been more visible in a uniform.This is only my opinion whether i was just lucky or maybe just got on and enjoyed a week away who knows. I hope whoever reads this just goes and enjoys a lovely hotel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned yesterday from Paradise Island not knowing what to expect after reading customer reviews we almost cancelled, thank goodness we decided to take the chance. Could find little fault with the hotel, rooms were very clean and certainly no lazy maid's encountered by us. The pool area was kept immaculate even after the aftermath of New Year Celebrations where the hotel laid on an evening banquet/champagne and fireworks. Great value for money water park kept our 11 year old entertained with no complaints about the pool temperatures, I suppose he is at an advantage living in Scotland.Food was certainly plentiful as my waistline can vouch for and again we had no complaints nor did we hear of anyone else having to starve due to the poor quality prison food implied by previous critics.
As for the cat's all in all I think we saw 5 during our 7 night stay and there was certainly no indication of fouling anywhere throughout the grounds and we were located beside the feeding station. All in all we had a nice stay at this hotel and would not hesitate in recommending it to other traveller's my advise is go for it after all you cant please everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed beside the water park which appeared to be quieter in the evening as it closes at 5pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here the end of october 2012 for 2 weeks.The weather was fantastic .
The entertainment team were great ,my two children age 8 and 6 loved it the appts where nice and spacious and cleaned nearly everyday the beds where hard though. The water park was great as was the poolside entertainment.The only downside for us was the food,after a week we had,had enough even though none of us are fussy eaters we struggled with the food.Overall a good holiday .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 109 not to far from the bar,but was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Paradise Island

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HL Hotel Paradise Island resort is situaded in a small town of Yaiza in Lanzarote, near the fishing town of Playa Blanca and the Papagayo Beaches. The HL Hotel Paradise Island is an ideal place to enjoy your holiday with your family with great facilities and service in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Aparthotel Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.