We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
tamwoth uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Came back yesterday .After reading a few worrying reviews i was a bit wary but need not have been .Food : if you couldnt find something to eat theres something wrong with you ! The service in the green bar ( biddy bar as i have seen it called )was superb thanks to Theresa. Best barmaid ive come accross ! Rooms great we had G 801:looking out over the top pools . Bed a bit hard but they have to cater to everyone . All the staff were great & not unfriendly at all .Entertainment was a bit weak but what we saw was ok . Opera singers in the outside theatre were superb , I have & would reccomend this hotel to anyone & if possible will go back a.s.a.p.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    1,230
    375
    99
    49
See reviews for
1,367
1,458
37
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We Stayed at Sandos from the 27th April - 5th May. We are a couple in mid 40's wanting relaxing holiday in the sun.
Arrived at the hotel at 1.00 to be told our room was not ready and to go and get some lunch, which we did. When we returned we where given a map our told to go and find our room, after 20 mins we eventually found our room and this is where our nightmare began. The room was not what I would call 4* neither was the view if you call it that. The so called view consisted of a wire fence and what can only be described as the Iraq dessert, it was just awful. We complained to reception and asked for another room to be told there where no other rooms, and that we had to pay 130 Euros for a better room, extoration if you ask me, the reception staff where most unhelpful so we had to call Thomas cook to get it sorted it out. After 5 hours of sitting outside with our luggage in 37 degrees where we eventually given another room over looking the pool areas.
The main buffet restaurant is very small for the size of the hotel and is desperate need of a refit. It gets very busy at meals times and it's a bit like dodgems in there. As for the food, this was very basic, not much choice and very repetitive if you like chips every day you will be fine, and if you are vegetarian, your choice is Salad, Pasta and Pizza every day. The staff work very hard in here to clean the tables as quick as they can to make room for everyone due to lack of space. We visited the Chinese which you have to pre book, and this was the best meal we had all week.
The pool area is huge and there are plenty of sunbeds, so you won't have to fight for one, the layout is very good, as the pools are spreadout. There are quite a lot of cracked tiles around the pool area which need replacing as they could be very dangerous if you fell over.
The evening entertainment is awful, and pretty much a no go if you are under 5 or over 70 you will be fine, there is nothing for people in between and it's all over by 9,30/10, they really need to address this issue. Also the all inclusive finishes at 11.00pm so not what I would call all inclusive.
if this part of Thomas cook Style collection then I dred to think what there non style hotels are like. Also there was lots of building works going on and the noise was just dreadful, why where not told about this by Thomas Cook?
Now onto the positive things. The Hotels location is very good, 20mins walk to the Marina or 60mins Play Blanca. if you don't like walking then you can take the shuttle serve that the Hotel provides which will drop at the beach and bring you back later that day. There is also a local bus as you come out of the hotel and walk down the hill, this will take you from end of the Island to the other for about 1.30Euros.
There is also a market every Wednesday and Saturday at the Marina, well worth a visit but gets very busy so get there early.
We had fantastic weather but would not return to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have just got back from a week's stay at the Sandos Papagayo and we've had a lovely holiday. This large hotel offers plenty of space, with lots of sun terraces, five pools, several bars and very good food and drink on offer all day long!

Our bedroom was large and spacious, with a nice big bathroom too. There were plenty of lounge areas inside the hotel, many with free wi-fi. The restaurants were very good, with loads of choice. As well as a selection of prepared hot dishes, vegetables and salads, fresh meat and fish dishes were cooked every day for lunch and dinner, and I especially liked the cooked-to-order pasta dishes in the Italian restaurant. My husband enjoyed the deserts and there was loads of fresh fruit for me!

As an older couple we were not bothered about the animation activities, but other guests seemed to be enjoying themselves and we were very happy to visit the adults only bar and really enjoyed the chill out terrace.

During our stay we took the courtesy bus into Playa Blanco and then walked back along the promenade. If you are looking for entertainment outside the hotel, this is not a short stroll, but with everything the hotel has to offer, we were perfectly happy.

For us, this hotel provided exactly what we wanted - good, clean accommodation, excellent facilities, wide selection of food and drink in lovely surroundings. What more could we want.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

For such a large hotel I don't think it can be faulted. Upgraded to royal elite which was very good. Branded drinks in the exclusive lounge and separate breakfast area. Food choice very good. Room comfortable and staff welcoming.
Sandos papayago beach very close but a fair walk to get anywhere.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

WHAT A WONDERFUL STAY AT SANDOS PAPAGAYA!!
This was our first stay at this lovely Hotel. Food was great , wide selection that catered for everyones needs. Constantly cleaning and courteous staff, who were very effecient . Only one thing to say ..........DEFINATELY ANOTHER VISIT ON THE CARDS!!...

Room Tip: Had a room in block C. Rooms ver large and lots of space to move. Beds we found very comfy , even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home after a weeks stay at the Sandos Papagayo Resort, we had a great family holiday. The entertainment team were great fun with special thanks to Joonas, he kept us all busy with the activities.
The food was very good and there was plenty of choice; we would like to thank Edgar, he assisted my wife with her dietary needs.
The Hotel has several pools and terraces, there are plenty of sun beds and you don't to get up early to get one. We were in block A and the room had a fantastic ocean view. The rooms are quite big and have a large balcony.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
My only negative comment would be put an iron in every room; you should not have to go to reception to rent one.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is our second visit to the Sandos Papagayo and it was another fantastic holiday.
This hotel is the perfect location if you like to visit the Papagayo beaches.
The staff in the hotel are friendly, courteous and extremely efficient.
Because it was our second visit we had champagne delivered to our room and a couple of days later we received beach hats and slippers. The Reception Supervisor very kindly changed our room to a higher floor when we arrived. Food in this hotel is marvellous with the choice of Italian, Mexican, chinese and French restaurants to vary your dining experience. Food is of excellent quality and also there is plenty variety. We went on an all inclusive deal and found the quality of drinks offered were excellent and bar staff were very friendly.
Entertainment was fine for our needs but not maybe suitable for the younger age group.
We would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort offers an All Inclusive plan 24 hours a day. It also boasts an oceanfront location on Playa Blanca beach, and it's the closest hotel to the beaches of the Papagayo Nature Reserve. All of the spacious and bright guestrooms at Sandos Papagayo are outfitted with amenities like a furnished balcony, a spacious private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels, safes (for rent) and lovely panoramic views. Sandos Papagayo has three outdoor pools, a gym, free miniature golf, and a multipurpose sports court. At the spa, you'll find hydromassage tubs, saunas and a steam bath. The hotel also has five bars, a nightclub and a nighttime snack bar. The hotel's restaurants include an international buffet, a pizzeria, an Asian restaurant and a French brasserie. The hotel staff organizes sports and recreational activities, in addition to nighttime entertainment. Meanwhile, kids will have a blast with a play area, pools and a kids' club. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the tourist information desk offers car rental and tour bookings. The hotel also has free WiFi in common areas. The hotel is just a quick walk from Papagayo Beach and less than three miles from the fishing village of Playa Blanca. Timanfaya National Park is about 12 miles away. ****All Inclusive Plan**** The All Inclusive plan includes all meals, snacks, ice cream and cocktails at the hotel's bars and restaurants. It also includes all national drinks at the bars and restaurants from 10am to 11pm. From midnight to 8am, guests can enjoy drinks and snacks at the pool bar. Premium, Black Label and a la carte drinks more than 3 years old are not included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.