We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isabelle & John McMillan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stirling
1 review
“Isabelle & John McMillan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second visit to this Hotel and we had requested a sea view room on a high floor. On arrival our request had been noted and we had a lovely comfortable room on the first floor overlooking the sea. It was my birthday (Isabelle) and I was surprised to receive a gift of spa products produced in Lanzarote and a nice bottle of champagne. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was varied with several choices of meat and fish and everything tasted fresh and was well cooked. In the evening we especially enjoyed the Green room where Teresa worked very hard to serve the numerous customers, always with a smile. The musicians were very professional and this added to the relaxed atmosphere. The reservation of sunbeds is not allowed, so there was no need to rush to put towels down early in the morning and we were always able to find a bed. The hotel is spacious not only outside but also inside and on every floor there are seating areas. The outside terrace overlooking the sea is a pleasant place to relax and enjoy a drink. The wine was of a good standard and there were plenty of soft drinks and beer on tap on this all inclusive break. We have recommend the hotel to relatives who are going out on the 13th June and we would certainly return again.

Room Tip: We spoke to a couple who had a corner suite and they were absoluted delighted with the large wrap ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Isabelle M,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,861
    1,359
    426
    105
    51
See reviews for
1,433
1,654
43
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned home after a week at Sandos Papagayo. Arrived late but staff helpful directing us to the italian restaurant which was still open....just! First impressions were good. Food nice.

Now it was to try and locate our room. We didn't get any directions from the staff but found it ok in C block. Sea view room. Ok size and nice and clean. The sofa bed for our son had seen better days with springs missing. He actually fell through it a number of times. Our bed was comfy but a bit noisy with the protective sheets under the main sheet.

The main restaurant was ok with a good choice. We have had better though. However the mexican in our opinion was fantastic. Great food and good choice. The oriental was not great. Quite poor really.

Didn't see much of the entertainment but what we did see was ok. Quite funny to see the animation team mime to Grease. Plenty of bars to choose from. As usual, non branded drinks unless you pay extra for the elite service. Could not fault Abi and Bari the bar men for service.

Overall nice hotel but we did stay at the dream gran castillo in November 2012 which is next door and we rated that slightly better but it was a 5 star as opposed to the sandos which is 4.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear GCengineer,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although the hotel is located on a nice stretch of coastline it has a few significant flaws. The buffet food in the main dining hall is largely pretty awful, processed food with few fresh veg and almost no nutritional value whatsoever. Trying to book for the Chinese restaurant had a 4day waiting list so we were unable to go, but I suspect the food wouldn't have been much of an improvement.

The swimming pools are all filled with ice water and consequently adults steered well clear of the water at all times...pools are of course a relaxing place to be, that is if you wish to spend your day listening to annoyingly loud pop music, because the pools and surrounds have speakers pointed at them and a DJ with a Robbie Williams fetish, I avoid terrible chart music at home, why would I want my holiday filled with it?

The staff however were helpful and courteous and moved us to a quieter room nearer the sea with a balcony exposed to the sky, unlike the poolside rooms which have a white covered 'cell-like' feel to the outdoor terrace.

We didn't feel the need to get drunk on all inclusive beer or wine and certainly weren't interested in watching others do so whilst watching a man on stage spinning bowls on his face, but I'm sure there's plenty to keep kids and adults amused until bed time. We won't be going back though. For one thing we dont have nearly enough tattoos between us.

Room Tip: Get as near to the sea as possible and on the ground floor or first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guffington_Post,

We regret not being able to satisfy your expectations. We apologize for all the inconveniences you find and do appreciate all your comments.

I am at your disposal for any request.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have stayed at the hotel a number of times now & I suppose that is why I keep returning. You really can't go wrong by staying here, no matter what age range. The hotel is very clean & the food is always fantastic. Whilst there at the end of May 2013, we had roast lamb & beef, duck & goose.
The Chill-Out bar on the roof is so relaxing & great for an evening drink
The Chinese & Mexican restaurants are well worth booking at least once whilst you stay there.
The hotel is very large & can accomodate both families with young children & also couples without compromising the two.
Don't forget, there is a free bus to the beach & also free pool towls.
Natalia the Manager is lovely & does all she can to make the guest comfortable & happy. As do the rest of the staff. All staff are friendly & helpful.
We will be going back again, very soon I hope.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, clean & comfortable with the majority overlooking the sea & Fuerteventur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear TrentTravellers022,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

On arrival which was late in the evening the reception staff where quick and very helpful. The hotel is large and we had no problem in finding our room following directions from reception. For anybody with a sense of direction the hotel was easy to navigate around. We were in block B with fantastic sea views and a view over to Fuerteventura, we requested a sea view before we arrived and were pleased to given one.

Overall the hotel has a number of good points i.e. the rooms are a nice size, the hotel is very clean, the pools are good with plenty of spots to sunbath (pools freezing cold though - the heated pool is only heated in winter), the drinks were ok with excellent service, the chill out bar is excellent, the location is good with a 20 min walk to the marina along the coast, and the day-time (note daytime) entertainment was limited but good. There are also a few shops, a bar and supermarket at the back of the hotel, and papagayo beach is a short walk away.

On the downside though, I can't understand why people are raving about the food, yes there's plenty off it but the QUALITY is awful. We generally stay in 4 star hotels every holiday and the food at this hotel is one of the worst for quality that we have had i.e. the only meats you have are pork, veal (rubber!), pork, occasional chicken, pork, a bit of fish and did I mention pork. The restaurants, if that's what you can call them are just as bad, the Chinese is ok but the Mexican was terrible - we felt let down by both of these as they are so heavily advertised. The Italian is the best part and quite quiet compared to the main dining area that can be like spaghetti junction!! The hotel lacks character, the canteen is like a school dining room, the canarian bar is like a dinning room, the green room smells funny and is for o.a.p's. The night entertainment is simple rubbish, and it isn't the hotel entertainers fault - they are simply being asked by management to do things they cant do, in order for the hotel to reduce costs by not bringing outside entertainment in.

Overall we had a good break, playa blanca is a good resort but I wouldn't go back to this hotel as there are far better hotels than this to visit.

Room Tip: E-mail before hand for a sea view, dont book this thinking the number of restaurants will provide a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Robert B,

We regret not being able to satisfy your expectations. We apologize for all the inconveniences you find and do appreciate all your comments.

We are at your dispossal for whatever you need.
Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from a 9 night stay here with Jet2holidays with our two boys aged 11 & 14. It was our first all inclusive holiday since our honeymoon 15 yrs ago & we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The weather was a little mixed with some days cloudier than others and the wind provided welcome relief when the sun was out but could also be a little chilly when the sun wasn't shining !

The hotel appeared to be run very efficiently - it was very clean & tidy and the staff very friendly.

We had a room with a sea view in block C which was lovely. The view over to Fuertuventura was stunning and the surrounding area quiet and peaceful. The royal elite package was automatically included when we booked with Jet2holidays but I'm not sure I would book it for an extra cost. The breakfast room was nice, particularly the freshly squeezed juices but the selection of food was actually more limited than the main restaurant. The royal elite bar was well stocked but some branded drinks were available at the other bars & we did not sit in the lounge as found it rather depressing with no view. We choose to spend our evenings on the balcony near the Canarian bar which had a beautiful view if a little "smoky" at times !!

The food choice in the main restaurant was great. We found the Chinese very bland & the Mexican ok for a change.

The pool areas were well maintained & we had no trouble getting a sunbed at the start of the holiday although this was a little trickier once the hotel filled up in the half term break. The pools were freezing but our boys used them - particularly when the sun was out ! The animation team worked hard to organize day time activities & the water polo was a particular hit with our boys.

Evening entertainment is not really our thing but we did see part of a "comedy" show which was truly awful. The kids enjoyed the parrot show though.

We walked to the marina on market day (Weds & Sat) which was lovely and also took the free bus into Playa Blanca and walked back.

We also hired a car from the very efficient hire car rep in the hotel & visited the Timanfaya National park which is well worth a visit.

There were two reasons why I couldn't rate this hotel 5/5. Firstly, check in was very slow with only 2 staff at reception & a big queue of tired travellers, Secondly smoking at the pool side and the outdoor terraces was annoying - perhaps designated areas could be the answer ?? However these were only minor gripes and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food was very good, always plenty of choice in the main restaurant. We tried the mexican and italian restaurants, which were both lovely. The room was very spacious and clean, we had a sea view and good views of Fuerteventura. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in block a has sea views and views of Fuerteventura
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is placed seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. It is also near to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdresser, satellite TV with international channels. They also have safe with extra charge. The complex has three outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has five bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: international buffet, pizzeria, Asian restaurant and a French brasserie. The front desk is 24 hour open and has tourist information with car rental and tours services. The hotel has free WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.