We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

me and my wife just returned back from the papagayo arena , really great hotel , spotlessly clean
food great , pools great , but really cold , could do with a being heated really,
staff really polite and helpfull,
its a really big hotel , it will take a couple of days to get used to where everything is,
for the size of the hotel theres plenty of sunbeds around the pools
all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear lee s,
We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday. We send you our best regards.
Carlos Vera. Assiatnt Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,730
    1,229
    375
    99
    49
See reviews for
1,366
1,457
37
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After our June visit here we wanted to come back as we loved it so much so booked for 3 months later in September.

Everything great. As we had been before we just settled in as soon as we got dropped off. We were given room A508, previously we had B520 and had requested a room similar to before, so very grateful the hotel gave us the lovely view and peace again and an identical room. Again a massive bed which I found so comfy. The husband could feel a dip in the memory foam but he seemed to sleep well.

Food = Wonderful. So much choice and as I love food I had to have a desert plate for lunch just so I didn't pile it on and eat too much! LOVED the large king prawns one lunchtime.

New chill out bar is an excellent addition to the hotel and very very nice.

We had signed up for Sandos4U which was well worth doing as we got some freebies in exchange for points from our last visit.

We received a bottle of cava in our room on arrival which was very kind and also on my birthday they left another bottle which was very thoughtful. Another day they left some slippers and baseball caps which was very useful and kind.

In the hotel questionnaire on departure one question was 'What is the best feature of the hotel' my husband replied 'The staff' as all of them keep the place spotless, maintained and help provide our holiday, he is spot on. It's like a well oiled machine.

The odd improvement would be making a rule that all parents to put babies in a swim nappy.

Shall be booking again. It suits us and we really enjoy this hotel.

Thank you Sandos Papagayo Arena! Wish we were there!

Room Tip: Email the hotel your request. They are very kind at trying to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear EssexAngelDelight,
Thank you to you to choose us to spen your holidays and we hope to sse yoou soon on your 3rd visit. We will be delighted to attend you again.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My partner and I visited Papagayo for 10 nights in June. Fantastic hotel, very spacious, very clean etc etc. It took us a few days to get our bearings, the resort is that large. The All Inclusive is fantastic, anyone who says this isnt the case, are very picky shall we say. The quantity of food was unreal, all freshly provided daily, loads to choose from and even if you were a picky eater I would be very surprised if you couldnt find something to suit.
We enjoyed walks along the main strip sea front area, which took you right up the marina where there are many nice bars and restaurants should you want to go out to eat. The local market was brill, which we visited twice during our holiday. staf fon site were lovely, very hard working and couldnt do enough for you. Before we arrived, my partner had emailed the Resort to request a sea view room, which we got without any problems what so ever. Very spacious clean and tidy room, cleaned daily, new bed linen and towels daily, cannot fault. Our only one gripe we had while staying at the Papagayo was the sunbed issue. There where signs (rightly so too) stating that you couldnt reserve sunbeds, but yet every morning we struggled to get two decent ones, with parasol, due to everyone placing towels out either the night before or very... very early morning. There was lack of policing really for this, which ideally I think should maybe be addressed. On our last day, the reception staff where fantastic too... a courtesy room is available for all, so you are able to shower etc before leaving. We had a late flight home and wasnt leaving the resort until 6pm so this was very helpful and you don't seem to get that much nowadays on resorts... its out at 12 and thats that. All in all great holiday, really enjoyed our stay, weather was brill, staff food and drink excellent and very clean spacious resort. Would definatley return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear nbj2012,
And we definatley will be glad to attend you again. Thank you very much to choose us bteween many and many hotels.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera.Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 11 nights at the Sandos Papagayo in mid September.

The good

- staff attentive and friendly
- lots of pool choices but could have done with more sunshades
- Chinese and (especially) Mexican restaurants very good but you needed to book, sometimes three or four days ahead for Mexican. The food did get a bit repetitive though.
- room was spacious, if dated
- Papagayo beach was fantastic and near to the hotel. It's a 10-15 minute walk, admittedly a bit steep and rocky for some (quite normal for abroad) , but well worth the trip. Beautiful clear blue warm water, and so much better than Playa Blanca beach which had some sort of foamy head to it and was v overcrowded, unlike Papagayo.
- nice to be able to get your own drinks. Beer and (chilled) red wine were great, although we avoided the white wine.
- lots of bars to spend the evening, and quite decent entertainment – Chinese acrobats were great, although Glee evening and Animacion miming less so.
- Chill out bar fab, watching the sun go down with a beautiful view and a G&T. Only down side was the Spanish cover versions in a poor man's Cafe del Mar style of Beatles songs (and some Madonna)!
- Location excellent. Short walk to Papagayo Beach and about 20 minutes to the Marina which has excellent bars and restaurants, and a market twice a week. The walk in the evening was fine as the wide pavement was well-lit.

The not so good

- the bed, which although massive, was the most uncomfortable we have ever had the displeasure to sleep on. Like concrete!
- the Animacion team. Yes, I know they have a job to do, but if I ever hear the Crazy Frog again I won't be responsible for my actions. Given the noise level at certain times, and impact on those of us trying to relax, this were out of all proportion to the number of 'Aqua Fit' participants (no more than a dozen).
- the 'International Buffet'. Be sure to get to the main restaurant early for breakfast or dinner as otherwise it's a complete bunfight. The food offer was not as comprehensive as other hotels we've stayed in, e.g. the Iberostar just down the road from the Sandos. That said, the Mexican/Chinese restaurants were great.

Overall

We had a good time, were able to relax, and it was lovely having a room where we could heard the waves crashing against the beach. Just be sure to hide the Crazy Frog CD if you stay!

Room Tip: If you get given a side view room ask to move as we did and were rewarded with a sea view room (Alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear SweetPeasSouthampton,
For us is fantastic to know the good and the not so good of your stay. In reference to the not so goog, please don´t doubt that we will transfer the comments to the respectives departments to improve our service on these points. Even so I still think to see you again.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

we stayed in this hotel 3 time over the last number of years and loved it. Food was good, staff friendly and the place spotless....we barely left the hotel as it had everything for a relaxing family break...hope to return in the future :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Happygal2401,
Thank you very much for your kinds words and for us were a pleasure attend you. We´ll be delighted to see you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

thank god the beach was 10 minutes walk from the hotel but we had to go on the rocks, anyway the hotel has no information that this beach is, big round of applause for the animation team, they do it big job for the hotel.
I know that you can't pay much attention to the room but the cabinets were generally appears torn hinges and cabinets looked like lived there for the past month puppys were all scuffed, rooms were cleaned every day: do not use a vacuum cleaner so what you bring sand from the beach on your feet is the room for your entire stay, every day in the room stank of bleach. one time in the canteen I said to waiter that the cockroach walks across the floor, no reaction. I found i my room big 4cm - cockroach - poor reaction again smell of bleach!!! anyway, I was in the hotel for two weeks, ten days they don't cleaning the hotel at all (maybe because I came across while leaving a Spanish familys and come German tourists and for German tourists clean up every day). in the canteen just like only Spanish tourists do not respect others, it was not nice. No more all-inclusive! one night I drank three glasses of white wine then I spent all night in the toilet-vomit. I know what alcohol is served in all inclusive - so never ever!!!!. The last sentence if you want to go out after 8 pm from the hotel it will be a problem because all around is dark. I stayed 02.09.12 - 15.09.12. maybe if the hotel was cheaper it would be ok but I paid too much and the hotel does not deserve for 4 stars!!!!! and sunbeds it was awful dirty and how clean pools? I don't know you feel everywhere bleach!!!

Room Tip: There is no good choose, every rooms are very old , not old fashion but old I don't know how thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited this lovely hotel this yr....and we are planning to return early 2012.....we love the relaxed atmosphere..no scrambling to reserve sunbeds, as there are always lots available..no set meal times or schedules...free use of gym and spa 6 days a week without the need to book. We also love the variation in restaurants, Buffet, Chinese, Mexican and French...the advantage of 24 hr AI is great if arriving late...we were able to get a lovely meal in the all night snack bar even though due to delayed flights we did not arrive at hotel until after midnight.... We do not understand the issues a few other guests have with quality or variation of food, with choices including Sea Bass and Steak on the lunch menu....along with numerous other options all cooked to a high standard, what do they expect? The hotel fulfilled our request for a sea view, which was spectacular, the rooms our clean and spacious. The staff are generally fantastic and work hard to make your holiday special...Rayco on the pool bar is a 'star' so freindly and happy to help my husband improve his Spanish! We paid for a late check out and had some issues accessing our room after this..however on speaking to the mgr he quickly refunded our late check out payment..although the reception staff become less than friendly towards us after this...which was a shame, as up until this point the service from reception had been friendly and efficient...A great holiday...yes it is a big complex..and yes meal times can be busy in main restaurant...but there is lots of choice and always somewhere to find peace and relaxation...looking forward to our return in Jan 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear culshaws,
We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed in us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, best wishes.
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort offers an All Inclusive plan 24 hours a day. It also boasts an oceanfront location on Playa Blanca beach, and it's the closest hotel to the beaches of the Papagayo Nature Reserve. All of the spacious and bright guestrooms at Sandos Papagayo are outfitted with amenities like a furnished balcony, a spacious private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels, safes (for rent) and lovely panoramic views. Sandos Papagayo has three outdoor pools, a gym, free miniature golf, and a multipurpose sports court. At the spa, you'll find hydromassage tubs, saunas and a steam bath. The hotel also has five bars, a nightclub and a nighttime snack bar. The hotel's restaurants include an international buffet, a pizzeria, an Asian restaurant and a French brasserie. The hotel staff organizes sports and recreational activities, in addition to nighttime entertainment. Meanwhile, kids will have a blast with a play area, pools and a kids' club. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the tourist information desk offers car rental and tour bookings. The hotel also has free WiFi in common areas. The hotel is just a quick walk from Papagayo Beach and less than three miles from the fishing village of Playa Blanca. Timanfaya National Park is about 12 miles away. ****All Inclusive Plan**** The All Inclusive plan includes all meals, snacks, ice cream and cocktails at the hotel's bars and restaurants. It also includes all national drinks at the bars and restaurants from 10am to 11pm. From midnight to 8am, guests can enjoy drinks and snacks at the pool bar. Premium, Black Label and a la carte drinks more than 3 years old are not included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.