We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Playa Dorada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Hesperia Playa Dorada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Costa del Papagayo, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Uddingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for a week from the 23/4 to 30/4 and weather was great. We went away for my partners 30th birthday and the staff were very helpful as they left us a fruit basket and champagne on arrival, a small cake dessert in room with birthday card from hotel on his birthday and also decorated a table slightly in buffet restaurant that evening.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view you dont need to be deluxe to get one and thr back pool if fab i think deluxe is a...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    190
    95
    22
    6
See reviews for
92
299
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I have just returned from this hotel, our fourth visit there as Deluxe guests. As usual, the hotel was luxurious and the staff excellent. Our maid Grace was eager to help with everything and the reception folk very obliging and friendly. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet and we had a good sea view. I am almost a vegetarian, but my husband is not and the Chefs catered for our every need. We only went to two of the shows because of tiredness but they were good. The Guest Relations Manager went out of his way to be helpful. You can be as active or inactive as you like at the hotel - there is always something going on, but equally always a quiet spot. Very relaxing, clean and friendly. There is always something to do outside the hotel, with walks to Papagayos and into Playa Blanca (10mins. at most) and local bus trips which cost 2 euros 80 for 2 of us. If you want a sea voyage you can book the ferry and visit Fuerteventura for the day. We look forward to travelling back to this hotel later in the year. We are never disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe Room at very little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having worked endless night shifts I was looking forward to our holiday at the Hesperia Playa Dorada. We had a week booked arriving Easter Sunday 2015.
The warm welcome and cold glass of champagne we received on arrival set our week off on the right note! The reception team under the guidance of manager Carlos Cardona. Made us smile. having flown out with BA and sat in the lounge at Gatwick prior to our departure Only on arrival at the Hesperia did we receive our 1st Chocolate Easter egg . This I thought was such a nice touch and acute attention to detail.
Our room was lovely and notably clean. As was the entire hotel. The hotel has a light and airy feel to it. There is plenty of space to sit and enjoy a drink or chat with new found friends.
I particularly enjoyed the bar waiter service. I never had to go up to the bar which wouldn't have been difficult but it was lovely having our drinks bought to us.This service was also provided by the pool in the Deluxe section.
Having access to the V.I.P lounge was a delight in the mornings. lovely breakfast trays of smoked salmon, cheeses, croissants, fresh juice and coffee. I was able to catch up with news emails etc in this lounge. There was ipads/ wi fi. All provided for use. A nice touch I thought.
The pools were lovely. Again the outdoor area is spacious. Un crowded. The hotel leads out to the beach which is lovely and also a nice walk is either side of the hotel a few minutes away to local shops and bars.
The food was varied. And plentiful. We ate at both restaurants and always enjoyed the choice. Food was cooked to order and served with wine.
The laundry service. For 10Euros was a great amenity. I went home from holiday with NO WASHNG! The day before departure I sent everything in the bag provided and it was returned to me beautifully washed & folded. RESULT!
Our holiday was everything and more I wanted it to be. A hotel is only as good as its staff and the Hesperia playa Dorada have excellent staff who clearly enjoy their jobs. My review is 100% positive to the extent that we will like so many other families be returning again.
I look forward to my next vacation at the Hesperia Playa Dorada

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe sea view room which was spotlessly cleaned every day. Plenty of closet space. A clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, Glos
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I visited this hotel back in February with my parents (sorry for the late review). We booked it last minute with Thomas Cook and found ourselves with two deluxe rooms. The separate check-in area with the offer of snacks and drink was very welcoming after an early start. The staff were very pleasant and polite checking us in.
The rooms we had were at the side, you could just make out the marina from the balcony. The rooms were kept clean, both had a huge king size bed. As mentioned in other reviews, be prepared to flood the floor during a shower (but then again, most hotels seem to have this feature!)
Being a deluxe customer, we had access to the deluxe lounge. You could make a coffee and watch tv or make use of the ipads. Unfortunately, we didn't think it was kept very clean, dirty cups, no milk etc and didn't cater for the British who fancy a nice cuppa tea in the afternoon, we therefore only used it once.
Again, we used the deluxe restaurant. The service varied from full food options and tidy tables to having hardly any salad or in the mornings, cereals to chose from and plates stacking up on the table as they weren't cleared away. I don't really wish to see my dirty dinner plate whilst eating my dessert. The food overall was good, most nights there was always something we liked. It would have been nice if the restaurant had windows as you felt you were eating in the basement (which we probably were!) Top tip - grab a table furthest from the door unless you want to smell the frying smell from the chef cooking meat and fish to order!
One morning we had booked a trip with an early start so had to have breakfast before the restaurants opened. We asked Reception if we could arrange something - in my experience, early breakfast consists of helping yourself to the cold buffet - cereals, breads etc ie no hot food but in this hotel we given a pre-done plate of various spicy meats, a roll, a doughnut, a yogurt and an apple. Tea and coffee from a machine. The food areas were all being covered by the staff with clingfilm. We were disappointed as it was food we wouldn't have normally had for breakfast and under no circumstances could we grab something else as it was covered up. Not a good start to a day long trip.
The week we stayed there was sunny but the wind was very strong. We were unable to sit outside on the loungers as it was too cold. The main pool was empty of water and fenced off when we arrived but it was open by the end of the week. Only the hardy were in the water. We decided to use the indoor pool was is free to deluxe guests. Its split into lanes but there was a slow lane for paddling up and down. Again, this was keep clean.
The hotel is in a good location about 10 mins walk either to the marina (try and visit the market) and 10 mins to the main area of Playa Blanca.
We also went on two trips which we booked before leaving the UK - not sure if saved any money - we went on the South trip to Timanfaya, Jamos del Aqua plus other nature sites, We then went on a trip to all of Cesar's Manriques work/houses - this was an excellent day.
We had gone for the warmth but unfortunately the week in Feb was cold due to the wind but sunny -take an extra jumper! It was also cold at night in the room as there is no heating so use the blanket or ask for a heater as some guests did!
Overall a relaxing week, nicely situated hotel for the town and bus stop. Friendly staff. Just wish it had been warmer!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 7 nights from 1st April. Went deluxe. Very happy with everything . Men need trousers for evening dinner. Take a walk outside hotel by the beach, turn left you will come across some lovely restaurants and expensive shops plus the harbour. Market day Wednesday. Turn right cheaper shops and small bar & restaurants .This is also where you see the big boats dock. The entertainment is on every night inside. Still a bit chilly to sit out all evening but patio heaters provided.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHPlayaDorada, Guest Service at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Sandra B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hesperia Playa Dorada ****.

The opinions of our customers are the best way to keep improving our services.

We are glad that you enjoyed our privileged localization and that you spent a nice holiday.

We will be glad to welcome you back in Lanzarote.

Best regards,
Amedeo Zaffino
Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for a week and during that time there were no complaints. The hotel is clean and comfortable with nice bars and restaurants. The staff were helpful and mostly efficient although they didn't respond to my request for a pick up from the airport which meant we had to use a taxi at twice the price. They had just installed a new computer system and the staff were clearly struggling to get to grips with it which may well have caused the mistake. The breakfast choice was amazing with virtually anything you could want being available. There were chefs available to cook eggs/omelettes on demand and another making fresh fruit drinks (one suggestion to the management - provide small jugs for milk to be taken back to the table for your tea, a minor irritation but noticed by others as well as us). We did book the de luxe package which meant we were in the better restaurant and this plus the fact that there was a reserved area for us by the pool me which is why I would recommend the more expensive package. The pool bar was not intrusive during the day and what was more important it closed around 7 o'clock which meant nice quiet evenings. Evening entertainment in the bars and lounges was good and the location couldn't be better (only 7-8 minutes walk to the marina and 10-12 minutes to Playa Blanca). All in all a great holiday and we would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHPlayaDorada, Guest Service at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and for choosing us to spend you holidays.

We apologies we couldn’t arrange a transfer before your arrival. Indeed we changed our informatics system a few weeks ago.
Sincere thanks for your suggestions, that we will take into considerations.
We are happy that you liked our location and our Deluxe service.
Our staff is grateful for your positive mentions , it give us the right energy and motivation to provide you an excellent service.
We are glad to hear that you had a great time in our hotel.

We hope to see you again in our complex,

Kind regards,

Amedeo Zaffino
Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelled with Jenny B and totally agree with her review and would like to add how friendly and helpful the staff were. Our room was kept nice and clean and our twin beds were generous and comfortable. I don't think you can asked much more from a hotel.

Lynda M
Horsham
UK

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHPlayaDorada, Guest Service at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Linda M,

Sincere thanks for your positive review!! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in Hesperia Playa Dorada.

Thank you for the mention you did about our staff. We always do our best to leave to our guests beautiful memories. We are very happy to know that we made it well.

Looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Best regards,
Amedeo Zaffino
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Playa Dorada

Address: Urb. Costa del Papagayo, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Playa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off the sparkling Costa del Papagayo on the charming island of Lanzarote, the Hesperia Playa Dorada is an idyllic destination for relaxation and renewal. Gaze out on endless azure water and sky, interrupted only by pristine white sands and the lush greenery of our gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hesperia Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada Blanca
Hesperia Playa Dorada Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.