We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised then disappointed but still a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Playa Dorada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Hesperia Playa Dorada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Costa del Papagayo, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprised then disappointed but still a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have holidayed in Playa Blanca twice a year for the past 8 years. We normally self cater but when looking for accommodation my husband noticed a special offer on at the Hesperian Playa Dorada for the dates we wanted. He duly booked us a Junior Suite with sea view. On arrival at 11am the young gentleman on Reception said you are Deluxe, we said thank you. He duly showed us to the Deluxe Reception and asked if we would like a glass of Cava and a snack, both of which we gratefully received having left home at 1.00am to travel to the airport. One of the young ladies on the Deluxe Reception completed our registration, handed over our room keys and said if we were quick we could get a bite to each in the Deluxe lounge. She also said our cases would be taken to our room. Whilst eating our lunch we said is this something the Hotel does, upgrade some guests? We went to our room and my husband says this looks very much like the room I booked. After unpacking and a short nap we decided to explore. Going back to the room only 1 of the 2 card keys worked. We went back to Reception and my husband went back to the room with one of the young ladies on Reception. She told my husband this is not Deluxe room and changed our card keys to normal ones. Despite this disappointment we cannot fault the rest of our stay. The room was very spacious, the beds very comfortable. I would have a couple of suggestions for the hotel. Could the towels be the same size every day please? One day it would be bath towels another day bath sheets!! On only one day of our stay were the towels very worn as I have seen on some reviews. My other suggestion is for a variety of glasses in the room. The fridge supplied was a good size so we bought a couple of bottles of wine, a bottle of Bacardi and some Cola. Whilst I appreciate the hotel would like us to spend money in their bar the fridge enabled us to buy some drinks from the local supermarket. We will certainly hope to stay at he hotel again in the future. The position of the hotel is ideal. Marina Rubicon and the seafront Restaurants are easily a pleasant walk in the evening. Thank you Hesperia Playa Dorada.

Room Tip: We chose a Junior Suite with sea view. The room was large with comfortable seating. We also asked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    186
    95
    22
    6
See reviews for
89
295
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I (59 & 57) returned after one week on Apr 30th. We booked via Expedia for a junior suite but decided to upgrade to deluxe on arrival as I read a few reports saying that was much better. This is definitely a mistake as we were charged 25 euro/day, if we had booked deluxe at the outset we could have been charged as little as 10 euro/day. The only obvious gain is that you get a proper sea view whereas the junior suites are to the rear so you have to look over the car park down a path to a little view.
The reserved sunbathing areas were always full so we used the rear pool which is much quieter and more room. Unless you are a fitness fanatic the you will not likely use the wellness centre unless the weather is poor. breakfast in the deluxe restaurant does include cava and possibly a larger choice, but the other restaurant has an outside area so you can sit in the sun.
So if you are not bothered about a good view of the sea or a gym then don't waste your money - book a standard room or whatever deal you can get on a no view junior suite.
Be aware that most of the showers cause flooding - you have to stop this by using the bathmat to act as a water deflector or to jam the shower panel.
Hope I haven't put you off as this is still a good hotel, with very polite and helpful staff in all areas. The rooms are larger than normal with very comfortable beds and pillows. Only ate breakfast which is excellent - though could do with teas and coffees being served rather than self service.
The position is top notch, with a great little snack bar in the centre of the beach prom, with others at either end.
This hotel is next to the Yaiza suites hotel which will cost about twice as much.
If you don't know the area then this a really good hotel to stay as you can get to the marina by going left in 10-15 mins, or get to the main drag by going right for about 15-20 mins. All of this via a lovely promenade. There is a little mall just a couple of mins walk away with a few bars and restaurants that also have entertainment, though it is looking a bit tired now.

All in all we would return to this hotel and save some money by getting a cheaper room even though the price is still competitive when compared.

Room Tip: Sea view does not mean OCEAN view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had an excellent week. Reception staff efficient and polite. Food excellent and waiting staff quick, efficient and friendly. We were all inclusive and could not fault the food and drink aspect. Bar staff quick, friendly and polite. Special thanks to Dominic, Raisa, and Mahmoud. Entertainment was either fantastic or mediocre. Very well situated for long walks. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHPlayaDorada, Guest Service Department at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mary K,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for the trust deposited in our hotel.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you had a great holiday in our complex and that we contributed to it. We really appreciate the mention you made about our staff. We will inform them.
Please, in case you decide to return to our complex, let me know so that I may welcome you personally.
Best regards,
Keren Ruiz
Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

14-21 April 2015 A welcome glass of champagne on arrival was a great start to our stay at the Hesperia Playa Dorada Hotel. We had upgraded to de-luxe accommodation which included use of a special restaurant specific sunbathing area with really lovely cabanas etc and free use of Wellness centre with full size olympic pool and just generally feeling pampered! although the other restaurant was just as good although a little more crowded. Our room was great and inclued a fridge stocked 3 times in the week with water fruit juice beer and fanta etc and little snacks (all free of charge) We had a room with sea view which was great. Evening entertainment good and the food was really excellent with great variety and amazing meat fish and seafood cooked fresh to your liking. And finally the location excellent 5 mins to lovely Marina and 15 mins walk into main part of Playa Blanca and finally right by lovely Playa Dorada Beach. Jenny B

Room Tip: Sea view room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHPlayaDorada, Guest Service Department at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Jennifer B,
First of all, thank you for sharing your experience with us and for the confidence you have deposited in Hesperia Playa Dorada.
Sincere thanks for your positive review about our services. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. We will continue doing our best to satisfy our clients.
I hope to see you soon,
Kind regards,
Keren Ruiz
Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights from 19-26th April 2015. We payed the extra as ‘Deluxe’ guests as previously (at other hotels) if you don’t you feel like a 2nd class guest.
The rooms were clean and tidy offering two double beds. the WC and bidet was in a separate room to the washbasin and shower/bath. Hot water was never a problem. We thought the AC wasn’t working initially but after an enquiry found there was an additional switch near the headboard we hadn’t seen. The AC was free although there was a daily charge for ensuite digital safe which was quite big and would have easily taken a 17” laptop (approx 2 euros per day).
There was wifi over the entire hotel which was free. The speed in our room was quite slow, good enough to send ‘Viber’ texts but slow with any pictures. In reception and around the pool however the speed was good. The deluxe rooms have a fridge with drinks (beer and soft drinks and water) and these were topped up every other day together with M&M’s, nuts and a bag of crisps.
The ‘All inclusive’ drinks included many common cocktails and Sangria as well as quite a few ‘shorts’. Can’t comment in detail though as we aren’t big drinkers so didn’t do an exhaustive check but they were adequate for our needs. Ice cream is also available throughout day near the pool which are in small tubs either strawberry or chocolate. there didn’t appear to be any limit as to how much or how often you took some.
The location of the hotel is excellent. It is close to a sandy beach (2 minute walk) where there are sunbeds and sunshades for hire (cost unknown as we didn’t use the beach). There is a fantastic harbour to the East about 1000 metres away and Playa Blanca to the west about 2000 metres away, both directions on a really nice wide promenade which was free of dog muck!!
As far as the dining is concerned we were quite disappointed. There were only two restaurants, one for the basic customers and a deluxe for the deluxe customers. Of course, the deluxe customers could also use the ‘basic’ restaurant. The deluxe restaurant was on the ground floor but had no windows whatsoever. The basic restaurant did have windows and doors overlooking the pool with an outside area where you could eat with many umbrella’s. Coffee is served in a jug in the deluxe restaurant but not in the basic - you have to go and get your own. You can make your own tea in a 2 cup metal jug with very hot water and you can select your own tea bags from a good choice. On occasion however the hot water would run out and they were slow to refill.
On one occasion we went for dinner in the deluxe and there seemed to be a poor choice. The restaurant opens from 1900-2200 and we arrived at around 1945hrs. Where there should have been racks of ribs; there was one bone and they didn’t replace for at least 15 minutes. Some of the other counters also appeared to be very short of food so we left the deluxe restaurant telling the staff (man in suit) at the entrance we were leaving as there was little food to choose from. We tried the ‘basic’ restaurant which didn’t fare too much better. After waiting for some ribs to be delivered to the counter, the chef started cutting them up and putting them on guests plates and after he had served 4 or 5 it was noticed that the ribs hadn’t been cooked properly. The chef took them away not returning for another 20 minutes. I did make a complaint to the management about the lack of food and I have to say they were very apologetic and appeared to be sincerely sorry for the experience. They apparently tried to ring me in the room a couple of times and ended up writing me a letter of apology.
I have to say that in the past when we have paid the extra in a two tier system to be in the higher tier we have been treated to ‘A La Carte’ restaurants. There were none at this hotel, only the two previously mentioned which were certainly not ‘A La Carte’’. In our minds ‘A La Carte’ is a higher specification restaurante who specialise (Mexican, Italian, Steak, etc) where you are served at the table. We have stayed in better hotels with ‘A La Carte’ for less money and so I would have to say that although generally happy with the hotel, I thought it quite expensive for what it was and I would certainly not consider another visit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is very good for a short good value trip to Lanzarote. The swimming pools are varied and suitable for all ages and in the wellness spa there is an indoor pool for people who may want to train uninterrupted. We took the vip package which for a few pounds more guarantees you a better room , better breakfast and a less crowded sunbathing area .The entertainment was varied . The staff are excellent very pleasant and helpful .We enjoyed this hotel

Room Tip: get the vip package for a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHPlayaDorada, Guest Service Department at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Pam o,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holidays.
We really appreciate your positive comments about our installations and Deluxe service and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break.
We will continue doing our best to satisfy our clients.
If you decide return to our complex,please let me know so that I may salute you in person.
Kind regards,
Keren Ruiz
Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked 2 Deluxe rooms. This affords certain upgrades, such as a specific sunbathing area, a different check in desk a different breakfast area and sea views. I would certainly book Deluxe again.

The staff were all very friendly and helpfull.
The rooms with their terrace and sea views a pleasure.
I would say that I feel that the bathrooms are a little dated, but thats hardly a deal breaker.

The other thing is that the deluxe breakfast area despite having a greater range of food and complimentary Cava doesn't have an outside terrace which would have been nice. But we trundled along to the other breakfast area which does have one for a coffee.

The pools are large and warm so that was a pleasure as the sea is quite cold.
The hotels position is of top quality with literally a 3 minute walk to the beach.

I would most definetley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHPlayaDorada, Guest Service Department at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Wiburette,
First of all, we would like to thank you for the confidence you have deposited in our hotel for choosing us for where to enjoy your holidays.
Sincere thanks for your positive comments about our Deluxe service, installations and about our staff. We always do our best to satisfy our clients.
Also, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our complex.
About our bathrooms, let me tell you that they have been partially renovated few years ago. Anyway we will take your comment into consideration.
Referring to the Deluxe restaurant, we apologize if you felt the lack of a terrace. We take this opportunity for inform you that we dispose to another restaurant with a terrace at the hotel. We are very grateful for that suggestion, and we will take in a consideration with the intention to improve our facilities.
I hope you see you soon in our complex,
Best regards,
Keren Ruiz
Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Playa Dorada

Address: Urb. Costa del Papagayo, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Playa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off the sparkling Costa del Papagayo on the charming island of Lanzarote, the Hesperia Playa Dorada is an idyllic destination for relaxation and renewal. Gaze out on endless azure water and sky, interrupted only by pristine white sands and the lush greenery of our gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hesperia Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada Blanca
Hesperia Playa Dorada Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.