We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We would highly recommended this hotel to both couples and families. Absolutely superb friendly, efficient service. Immaculate throughout, rooms beautifully presented. The food was fantastic and again the service was impeccable. We were treat like royalty, and the hotel made our honeymoon very memorable indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to write a positive review about your stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    512
    171
    27
    13
See reviews for
360
1,088
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel beginning of this year they upgraded us to club because they could not give us a balcony room. The room needed decorated as it was nothing special .Breakfast was lovely not a buffet whatever you asked for you had beautifully presented ,evening meals were buffet but lots of choice. No one swam in the pools because they were too cold.Other than that we enjoyed our stay and decided to book another week thiis month , what a let down. Rooms were just as dull all soft furnishings chairs and cushions smelled as before.Pools were empty because again too cold something wrong with pump. This time we were not club , breakfast was in the main restaurant ,buffet same thing every day .Bacon was cooked in bulk and put on a plate nothing to keep it warm nothing was probed for temperature . Dinner was nothing special can understand why restaurant was not busy .No imagination same salads no theme nights.Entertainment was boring.We have never complained in all the years we have traveled but we felt so let down by this hotel it does not deserve five stars and we will not be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are the same only difference is you get a different balcony if you go club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

We are sorry for the comments stated in your Hotel review. Three of our swimming pools are heated, and according to our records they are always maintained between 22 and 24 degrees celcius.Nevetheless, our Maintenance Department is in the process of checking each one of the three pools.

We apologize for the comments made about your Club Volcán room and breakfast service. All members of our Club Volcán staff is informed of your opinion, and we are committed to use your comments to improve our quality of service.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

we had a lovely time at hotel volcan except for unheated pool on roof in club volcan such a disappointment.Nipped out quick to hot tub to warm up guess what stone cold too.!
I think their blurb should reflect something like pool good to use april to september only.
This was one of the main reasons we chose to book as I love swimming.
Room facilities good except for hairdryer, I have short hair and took me 20 min to dry.Air extremely hot and I had to hold at a distance so as not to get burnt.If they changed this few things would be 5 star for me
Hard bed but spacious

Room Tip: we had loom overlooking marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for your comments regarding our pool temperature. There are three heated pools in the Hotel, which should always maintain a water temperature between 22 and 24 degrees celcius.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a weekend break from Portugal to Lanzarote. To watch the start of the Christmas Caribbean sailing rally.
From the moment we arrived, we loved every moment of our stay.
The staff at the reception were outstanding.
The room was like a mini suite, with a sitting area, great big double bed ( although a little hard), and a lovely bathroom, with lovely products.
Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations. As seasoned travellers we have eaten hotel breakfasts all over the world, but the Volcan has to be the VERY BEST, with the most amazing selection, beautifully prepared and displayed in the spacious restaurant.
Has to be experienced to be believed !
NOTHING was too much trouble for the friendly staff in all departments.
A pure delight.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a positive review about your stay in the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Warning! Don't stay at the Volcan Hotel if you want to lose weight!! The buffet breakfast and evening meal options are aplenty; there's something for everyone whether you want freshly cooked meat, fish, veggie... the list of options is endless and so is the supply of delicious food.
The service provided by the chefs, waiting team and front of house within the restaurant is excellent, they are all polite - even during the busy periods and are a credit to this hotel.
Upon arrival at Arrecife airport, we were informed by a Thomas Cook rep that we had a private taxi transfer waiting for us, which was a pleasant surprise and apparently a courtesy service provided by the hotel. It's a great start to the holiday as there's no waiting around for other planes to land and fill up coaches etc.
The reception team were welcoming and efficient every time we spoke with them and not just upon our arrival.
Our room (588) was in a great part of the hotel, as it overlooked the fort and out over to Fuerteventura; it was also very quiet of an evening as very few people used the public foot path (about 20 meters from the hotel boundary) after 9pm. Trying to justify those extra consumed calories, we counted 420 walking steps between our room and the restaurant (just enough for another scoop of ice cream!).
The double bed in our room was enormous and very comfortable. There's a mini fridge for your water and drinks and if you buy extra milk then I'd suggest you get UHT from the local supermarket as the fresh milk started to smell after 3 days in our fridge (despite the fridge working fine).
The location of this hotel was perfect for us as it's just a 2 minute walk down to the marina, 10 minutes to Playa Dorada beach then another 10 minutes into the 2nd half of Playa Blanca town. 20 minutes in the other direction from the hotel entrance takes you to Papagayo, which we didn't like very much, but the walk there was lovely.
There are several swimming pools at Hotel Volcan and plenty of sun beds so none of them feel crowded at any time.
Overall, this hotel represents the best in customer service and offers you the opportunity of a great holiday at a reasonable price. We're really looking forward to returning to Hotel Volcan and next time we'll book 14 nights and not just 10.

Room Tip: 588 is quiet in the evening and the patio gets plenty of afternoon sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed in the Volcan for a second year from 8th to 15th December 2013... Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff and the night entertainment was superb.......There is plenty to do and the staff will more than help organise what you want.The pools are very clean and the athmosphere is relaxed and unwinding... Will be back next year......

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for writing a positive review about your vacation in our Hotel, hoping to see you again next year.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1st time end of November 2013. Thought we would try this hotel as we love and visit Playa Blanca regularly. First impressions on arriving late afternoon was to try and find other accommodation. Unfortunately to no avail. Room we were allocated had a view of a brick wall 6 feet away from the patio doors with the heads of people walking the promenade bobbing above it, and patio furniture covered in dirty cat paw prints. After complaining we were moved next day, However nothing prepared us for the site to greet us around the pool. The sunbeds can only be described as the most foul disgusting beds we have ever witnessed in over 40 years of travel, see photos. Previous management reply that they are being replaced is laughable, these beds should have gone ages ago. Next day some new beds did arrive to 1 section with the remaining old ones left. Hotel gym has over half the equipment not working, ie 2 treadmills 1 broken, 6 types of cycles 4 broken and so on. Food in buffet was ok only dined 1 evening, and was not enticed back by this experience. Breakfast ok although it never ceases to amaze me why hotels continue to have up to 3 staff to show guests to a vacant table, I know what an empty table looks like, and at same time have one person trying to cook 100s of eggs in various ways, suffice to say on two mornings I was given omelettes raw in the middle. When I pointed this out to restaurant manager I was shown to a microwave or told if not happy ask for things to be cooked more. There was me thinking a chef should know how long to cook ingredients for. TV in the room is like an antique prob 30 years old with 2 English news channels only. Plus side, sort these issues and you have what could be nice hotel in a great location. In anticipation of the managers usual reply. It is not the job or responsibility of guests to point out a hotels shortcomings, but the management and staffs responsibility to see the don't occur in the first place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for the comments stated in your Hotel review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the "Marina Rubicon" yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO's "World Network of Biosphere Reserves". The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andres Pineiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of "Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe". With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.