We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Save Saved
You added Hotel Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 hotels in Playa Blanca
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just got back from an 11 night break at the Hotel Volcan. A fantastic location, rooms and the rest of the hotel were kept spotless, and the walk through to reception, especially if arriving after dark is pretty special. We also had lunch down by the pool a couple of times during our stay and that was excellent as well as being more favourably priced than some of the restaurants outside of the hotel. We took a walk up Montana Roja (an inactive volcano) on one of the cloudy days, went snorkeling, hired a pedalo and I went on an excursion with magma bikes canarias which are just situated around the corner. That was fantastic exploring Papagayo on a mountain bike with a very informed guide although my backside the day after thought differently. Definitely recommended for anyone interested in seeing the area- they also do walking tours too and have a stall on the twice weekly market.

There were just one or two tiny things that stopped the holiday from being even better. The quality of the parasols and sun longer mattresses are shocking. They are pretty much all dirty and could do with replacing. This was the case a year ago when we last stayed, and thought that this would have been a simple and quick thing to remedy, but it was apparent that these hadn't been changed.

The food was exceptional, especially as my better half is vegetarian and can often struggle to find suitable choice. This isn't the case here as there was everything you could wish for both at breakfast and evening meal. From cold meats and yogurt to the full English at breakfast to five or six salad choices and freshly cooked fish and meat at night time- the choice was exceptional. The difference compared to last year was that there appeared to be fewer waiters and waitresses employed which meant in quite lengthy delays in getting coffee in a morning and, to a lesser extent, drinks in the evening. It also meant that your plates, bowls and cutlery started to stack up on your table which is something I wouldn't have expected from a hotel where everything is spot on.

Definitely recommended if you're after a relaxing, quite week or two away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely thank you for writing a positive review about your stay in THe Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    742
    407
    140
    23
    10
See reviews for
256
864
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have returned to the Volcan at Marina Rubicon for 4 consecutive years because the service is always fantastic, and while it is clearly a large hotel, the communal areas, particularly around the main pool are spacious enough to accommodate all and ensure that time spent here is restful and relaxing. Sun loungers are plentiful.

The rooms are generously proportioned and clean, with a fridge for your own use which is great for keeping the water, beers and wine chilled. We've been lucky enough to have pool views on three occasions.

Breakfast is great, in particular we are fans of the cava accompaniment (orange juice is optional). There are plenty of on-site a la carte restaurants too but being only metres from the marina with easily a further 10 restaurants on hand there is lots to choose from - traditional Canarian, Italian, French, seafood, Mexican etc etc. Just mooching around the waterfront amongst the yachts is a delight. Playa Blanca village is 30minutes on foot and offers more food, drinking and entertainment if desired.

One point - the sun lounger cushions haven't been replaced for some time and would be my only suggestion. Otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a positive review about your your stay in the Hotel. It means a lot for us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This review may be the wrong way around but we are coming back for our second stay, next January. We last stayed 2 years ago and had a fantastic time. We are looking forward to our return and hope our experience is as good as last time.
Roll on Januaey 2014!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write positive comments about the Hotel. We sincerely appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

just back from 10 days holiday at this stunning hotel ,very village like with rooms dotted all over the place.We had a standard sea view room ,which was fantastic in every way with fantastic view of marina & ocean .we had good buffet breakfast,but ate out at night along the marina which is very close by.will definetly be back

Room Tip: we had room 311 excellant sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thenk you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your holidays in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel Volcan has a wow factor!! The church like entrance is certainly very impressive..the reception is in a Volcan dome which is amazing over looking a tropical garden with waterfalls. On arrival we were greeted with a very welcome free cocktail.
Bags & cases immediately taken to our room.
We upgraded to a sea view room which was absolutely great well worth the money. The room was huge immaculately clean,toiletries,robes & slippers( provided free)..the balcony we sat here most evenings before dinner taking in the amazing views.
We booked half board and in my opinion, that is the best choice for the Volcan
The food is absolutely wondeful.. breakfast is great also offers a gluten free corner!! the waiting staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you.
As we booked with TC we had the option to eat out at two other restaurants around the Marina Rubicon in the evening,the reception even book it for you (choice of four).NICE touch!!

In my opinion the sun loungers and parasols need replacing with a definate upgrade to be a bit more luxurious in mind when they eventually do so!!
The wifi around the hotel connects but doesn't work.. visit the lobby it works great there! NOT an issue.
The private taxi tranfers both ways were a very welcome bonus!
Overall a fab holiday..would definately go back!
Deserves all 5 stars.

Room Tip: 604 top floor..sunny and not over looked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a positive review abour your stay at THe Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm writing this review in the stunning lobby of the hotel while waiting for our taxi back to the airport and the good old Scottish weather. So wifi isn't the problem some reviewers claim. It's pretty non existent in your room, but perfect in the lobby.

The rooms are immaculate and spacious too. Although some have a limited view. A repeat of the advice from other reviewers - go for the highest floor possible.

Food in La Florida restaurant was plentiful, varied and mainly delicious.

There are a number of pools, each in a lovely location and all with lifeguards who tirelessly patrol even in this heat.

The staff are the hotel's greatest asset and without exception to be recommended. These guys and girls work hard and are unfailingly helpful and pleasant.

Access is brilliant for people with limited mobility and the proximity to the lovely marina and it's shops and restaurants is the icing on the cake.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay in the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It was quite an interesting hotel in that the rooms are all over the place in small buildings (max 2 floors) which gives it the feel of a village - much nicer than a big block hotel. The main pool was pretty good as it was big and quite organic in design.

We were in the club bit which was adults only (the hotel in general is definitely more a couples place than a family one) and were given a really nice, large room overlooking the ocean. Plus side of the club section is the breakfast which was much nicer than the main buffet one (ie fresh orange juice and decent coffee) and also the free drinks from 6-9pm where you just help yourself to a fully stocked bar!

However, the pool area was really disappointing as the pool was a tiny rectangle and don't expect to be able to get a lounger/Bali bed as there were actually people putting cushions and books on the beds by 7pm the night before!! We tended to head out in the day and then come back late afternoon so we could find one by then, but not sure how people who wanted to sunbathe all day managed.

I'm afraid what was really poor was the food in the evening buffet, mainly because some of it wasn't that fresh (tinned, grated carrott) and the choice wasn't great (despite the fact that the buffet area was huge). Even the people serving seemed rather depressed about the whole experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review abour your stay in the Hotel. We find very useful that you have detailed the pros and cons about the Hotel facilities and services. Firstly I thank you for the positive comments about our Club Volcán breakfast and evening open bar services. We also appreciate that you have been satisfied with your room.

We apologize for allowing guests to reserve the Club Volcán's balinese beds as from 7 pm the day before. We are sorry for not reaching your expectations with regrads to our dinner buffet. Both concerns have been informed to our management team in order for us to take corrective measures where necessary.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcán Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the “Marina Rubicón” yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO’s “World Network of Biosphere Reserves”. The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andrés Piñeiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of “Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe”. With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcán Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.