We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed somewhat!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed somewhat!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

All reviews are subjective and can only be based upon your own experience. Here is ours. We stayed for nine nights from 16th June 2013. 1st impression with the entrance hall was superb. Efficient check in. Long walk to room (565) and not suited to anyone with walking difficulities as you have to go down in lift from reception, walk outside for some distance then up two sets of steps.1st impression of room was excellent with superb views of marina and the ocean. Being a little picky on the room, the door casing could have been better reparied from where it had split from being forced open at some point, leaving a very sharp edge. Also the inside of the toilet brush holder was discusting and the repaired plastering in the bathroom could have been re-painted - air con okay but ceiling fan could not be turned on unless stood on chair as the pull cord was cut. We are talking 5* hotel here so please bear in mind.
We booked 1/2 board but like other reveiwers, we were easily bored with evening meal choices and quality. Would have liked to have the option of either lunchtime meal or evening meal availability. One evening they ran out of the carvery meat at 9pm, which on this night was chicken - the restaurant was open till 10.30pm. Some food was luke warm or shrivelled up like the Lasagne - not good! The microwave to re-heat food if you so wished was a bit of a clue. Breakfast was superb although diabetics using the milk from the self service machines, please be careful as it contains sugar! Coffee from these machines is better than that brought to table. No al a carte restaurant only buffet option for evening meal, although there is a very good Japanese restaurant on site (not run by the hotel) which was excellent. You get 20% discount but only if you are on half board. Only pool service at one pool, near lunchtime restaurant. Pools very cold and was told one was heated to 21 -24 C? The Atlantic Ocean at 19 C when I went diving was warmer - honestly!
Some sun beds tatty and scruffy looking.
On a positive - breakfast good, staff all cheerful and very friendly. But as mentioned earlier, we are talking 5* and when compared to a 4* hotel in Puerto Mogan Gran Canaria you would expect the 5* to at least equal or better than the 4* - sadly it didnt in our case. Car Hire outside on the marina was very good and cheaper than hotel.
All in all somewhat disappointed given previous Canary Island experiences but as I said earlier we all look for different pros and cons. Good luck with your holiday

Room Tip: Only book bed and breakfast, that way you can choose where to eat. There are many good restaurants c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Traveller,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel to spend your holiday and for sharing your experience from your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We see all guests’ feedback as a great opportunity to continue improving our services for our guests on a day-to-day basis.

We are taking good note about your impressions and we want to confirm you that we are taking the opportune measures to offer to all our guests a better service.

We are very sorry for not having been informed about your wife especial diet needing. We like to give a very personal assistance to all the guests with any food intolerance and normally we help them since their arrival day with any specific request.

It would be a pleasure for us to have the opportunity of welcoming your back.

Best regards from the Hotel Volcan Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    513
    171
    27
    13
See reviews for
361
1,089
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at The Volcan hotel and had to write a review to compliment the hotel staff and the whole hotel experience.
This was our first visit to Lanzarote and it was a wonderful experience. From the moment we set foot into the hotel our holiday started and our week was the most peaceful I can remember.
The staff are courteous and helpful. From the reception staff to the restaurant staff, we could not find fault.
I have to mention Caterina who was the restaurant manager, she was such a lovely girl. The rest of the restaurant staff were so helpful and kind, I just wish I could remember their names, they all deserve praise.
As for the food..... Yum... Breakfast was fantastic and we did have evening meals on three evenings which were superb. I would highly recommend having a meal in the hotel, great value for money. We dined out at several local restaurants on the marina and were very disappointed with the food and it was very expensive.
The rooms were fantastic, very spacious and clean. We had clean towels and bedding every day.
We will definitely return and recommend the Volcan to friends.
Many thanks to all the staff for their dedication and hard work and for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a favorable comment about the Hotel Volcan online and of course for having chosen our hotel for your recent holiday on Lanzarote in the first place.

It makes us incredibly proud to read all the lovely words you have used to paint a picture of your stay with us and to know that we could be part of your memorable holidays.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff, the food we offer and our rooms.

Be assured that we will pass them on to all our staff members.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our facilities in the near future.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Volcån has a WOW factor from the minute you walk into the entrance hall right through the reception atrium and when you see the room for the first time.

My partner and I stayed for a weekend and had a fantastic time, every interaction with the hotel staff was friendly polite and efficient, the room was very nice, well presented and clean and the hotel buildings and grounds are breath-taking.

We only booked bed and breakfast as we were only there for the weekend and had planned to et out, but the breakfast (with the exception of the coffee) was excellent, great choice and good quality food. The coffee which we were served at the table on the first morning was vile, but on the second morning we discovered a self service coffee machine in the buffet area which was much better.

There is a key card controlled gate giving direct access to the shops and restaurants of the nearby Marina Rubicon, which is a great place to sit and watch the World go by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Traveler,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for posting such a lovely review about our facilities on TripAdvisor.

We feel really happy that we were able to satisfy all your wishes, especially for such an important event like your holidays.

In the Hotel Volcan we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest.

It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you once again in our Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us for reservations in the future. Until then we wish you all the best and remain at your full disposal.

Sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel normally very quiet in may and June. Peaceful, right next to harbour which has plenty good restaurants, shops, car hire and a launderette. Breakfast is amazing but we were half board and got a little bored of food at night so went elsewhere sometimes. Standard Rooms good size and well equipped with kettle, fridge, hair dryer but no iron. We had no issues getting sunbeds there were dozens empty but hotel was quiet. Pool icy cold initially. Recommend take a cardi or jumper with you as really windy at night and also they do like men in long pants in hotel restaurant at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review us online and of course for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote in the first place.

It makes us very proud to hear that we were able to fully satisfy your expectations with the services we offer.

Thank you for your kind words concerning for example our rooms, breakfast and hotel location.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our facilities for a third stay with us.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my first visit to the volcan ,and what a lovely surprize it was to ,the staff were nice ,freindly,done all that you could of asked for . lovely scenery from almost every part of the hotel,the food was good ,no complaints although it could have been a bit more varied in the evenings dinner time.They had 3 nights of entertainment.but this was because the hotel at this time of year was quiet,the surrounding areas were exceptionally nice ,you could either relax in the marina area or go for a leisurely stroll along the beach front .plenty of shops and restruarants close by.all in all top marks.

Room Tip: 264,265 266 upwards are close to pools you see the marina from thereand the sea beyound,it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Griffin,

Firstly we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent vacations on Lanzarote.

Thank you also for posting such a lovely comment about our facilities and your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to hear that we were able to fully satisfy you with the services we offer and we highly appreciate your kind comments about our staff, the location of the hotel and the food in our main restaurant.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on our grounds in the near future.

Please inform us about any future reservations you are planning on making with us.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Lovely room, nice extras (including slippers!), beautiful pool area, great selection at breakfast. We had a really lovely, relaxing time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Close proximity to the Marina with great restaurants, bars, few shops, a supermarket and car rentals. 15-20 min walk to Playa blanca beach and town. Would highly recommend and hope to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: Higher floors had better views of the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay with us at THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote and thanks for recommending us.

We already sent all your comments to our staff and we can just confirm that our staff is such a great team.

Our mail goal is the satisfaction of our clients and it is satisfactory for us to read your comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.

Best regards from THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A wonderful holiday in an excellent hotel.
Staff were most helpful and obliging.
Breakfast and dinner buffets were the best we have ever experienced in a holiday hotel.
Plenty of sun loungers and no need to put towels out.
Handy for the marina and plenty of nice walks around the resort

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, NOT with a tree in front of balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Traveler,

In the name of the Management and the whole staff of the “THE” Hotel Volcan Lanzarote we would like to thank you first of all for your nice on TripAdvisor and for staying with us.

We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the food and the hotel location.

It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you once again in our Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us for reservations in the future.

Send you all our best wishes and sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the "Marina Rubicon" yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO's "World Network of Biosphere Reserves". The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andres Pineiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of "Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe". With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.