We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pool.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing pool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Have just come back from Hotel Volcan Lanzerote. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. Unusually, for an overseas hotel there were tea and coffee facilities and water bottles in the fridge.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We were a bit early and our room was'nt ready, so we went for a walk, when we can came back there was a bottle of bubbly waiting for us, nice touch!
The breakfast was very good, but were not over impressed with the main course for the evening meal, although there was choice of ready cooked food, there was also quite a bit of cooking meat and fish by the chef and this took an age sometimes. I didnt bother, just made do with the pre cooked. A small quibble but worth mentioning.
The sunbathing area is fantastic, with one large pool and three or four smaller pools which was great for young children. The main pool is huge, the biggest I have ever seen.
Location is great, right by the harbour with restaurants and cafes, a bit quieter than further along towards the town, but it suited us.
Another small point, the sunbeds need updating, they look a bit shabby. Also the a/c isnt very good.

Room Tip: Upper room, more likely to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this comment about our hotel on TripAdvisor and of course for having chosen our Hotel for your recent holiday on Lanzarote in the first place.

It is a pleasure for us to read the kind words you used to describe our facilities and to hear how impressed you are especially with our pool area.

Also we take a good note about your suggestions for improvement concerning for example the dinner in the main Restaurant and the sun beds.

Rest assured that we will communicate your thoughts to all the involved departments.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our facilities in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    508
    170
    27
    13
See reviews for
359
1,080
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is our 3rd year to Playa Blanca and our first stay in Hotel Volcan. The hotel feels relaxed, cool and calm. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The pool area was clean and well spaced out, there is a snack and drinks bar with a waiter service. Lots of space and sunbeds so no need to fight over either!!! Staff were really friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome. Breakfast was very good, a good variety of foods from English to continental.The hotel is situated on the marina so is perfect for restaraunts and shopping, just 2 minutes walk. Try Lani's snack bar.... Staff are so friendly and food is good quality and not over priced. If you want to walk into town it takes about 25 minutes but in our case 4 hours as we tend to stop regularly for refreshments :) There is also a lovely beach on the way into town.If you dont want to walk a taxi ride is 5 minutes and costs around 4 euros. We found a good restaraunt in town called Restaurante Volcan de Timanfeya. Great food, decent price. All in all a nice place to stay, we were sorry to leave but will be going back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Hazel,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Lanzarote and for taking the time to review it on TripAdvisor.

We highly appreciate your kind words about the rooms, the pool area and our hotel in general.

Be assured that we will communicate your lovely compliments to all our staff members.

It is a pleasure to hear that we will be able to welcome you again in or facilities and we are very much looking forward to do so.

Please inform us about any reservations you are planning on making with our hotel.

Until then we wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went to Hotel Volcan solo and I was impressed with the Hotel and how tastefully it was architecturally in keeping with a spanish village complete with volcano, church and quaint buildings. I loved the main entrance (replicating a church complete with chanting monks which sounded so calming + incense and at night all the candles were lit throughout - beautiful and unique). Grounds and pools were clean and continuously maintained and very spacious - never crowded. I had a lovely room looking over the largest of the pools + marina + sea + Fuerteventura and looking over the rest of Playa Blanca - and was able to see the ferry going to and fro from Fuerteventura, At night on my balcony I could see the lights on Fuerteventura of the town Corralejo + the weather for the 2 weeks 11-25 April was sunshine every day and by the second week even hotter than the first week. There was a free towel service for you to use for sunbathing round the pool etc which was very good with plenty of magazines, books and games to play/amuse. There were lots of classes per day yoga, pilates, aqua aerobics, demonstration of diving, spanish cooking + spanish lessons. I booked trips at reception which were excellent you pay deposit and when the coach comes to collect you the tour guide collects the remainder for the trip. Every effort was made in presentation of the food to look appetising/good and there was a wide variety, precooked meats and a selection of chilled uncooked meats (sirloin steak, chicken) and fish (sea bass, sole) which you would pick out and the chefs would cook for you while you wait. The hotel was in an ideal location and there was a hyperrmarket + upmarket shops 5 mins walk away and there was a spanish market at the marina on wednesdays + saturdays - excellent, I for one will go back and request the same room. I am unable to add photos but be assured the view was fabulous and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I had a high room overlooking the large pool - looking out over the marina+sea + the whole of playa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Janet,

Thank you so much for posting this charming review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It makes us incredibly proud to read those lovely words you used to describe for example our facilities in general and the food in the main Restaurant “La Florida”.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you had a relaxing holiday on our grounds and that we were able to fully satisfy you with our services.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future. Until then we remain at your full disposal.

Please inform us about any future reservations you are planning on making with our Hotel.

We wish you all the best and send sunny regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is a nice property with large rooms and beautiful gardens in the best location in Playa Blanca, a very short walk to Marina Rubicon with all its restaurants and bars. Breakfast buffet is good.
The gym is terrible. Machines dated 2001 that are so old they cannot be used comfortably. Machines out of service. A rusty spin bike that is not safe. No towels, no hygiene sprays, no air conditioning. The water font is locked away when the Spa is closed.

Room Tip: Floor 3 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our main objective and we sincerely appreciate your opinions.

We are glad you enjoyed the property, the breakfast and the room during your stay in our hotel.

It is really sad for us to know that we could not satisfy your expectations about the gym. We would like to apologize for that.

Comments like you are important for us and we are working hard to improve day by day.

Please we hope you come back soon and let us know in advance for further reservations!!!

Best regards from all THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Glos , England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Amazing entrance lobby on arrival (old church complete with chanting monks music, candle light and smell of incense) Quick service at Reception with cold juice cocktail and a jolly Porter .
Grounds and pools very spacious, never full up.
We had a Garden room which in fact had a partial sea view over the Marina. Bedroom spacious with lounge area, fridge and tea making facilities. UK TV restricted to BBC World Service and Sky News. Mattresses not the the most comfortable but you can ask for additional pillows of varying kinds. Room cleaned daily to a high standard. Very, very quiet at night, no traffic noise, no guest noise, no loud music noise, brilliant!
We only pre-booked Breakfast which was very good, in airy rooms, no queues.
Lots of restaurants nearby for other meals from Posh Marina ones to local Spanish cafe style.
Hotel is on the Promenade which runs for miles all along the southern coast all the way to the Lighthouse on Western tip. Great for walking, running and cycling.
Only let downs were :
1. The very shabby poolside sun beds which had plastic covers very stained and uncomfortable
2. Poorly maintained gym. Both running machines had yellowing notices on them saying 'Not Working' during all of our 11 day stay. Le Mond exercise bike unuseable (had loose cranks) Electrical displays not working on several other pieces of equipment, no water provided, no towels, TV broken. Did not stop me using the gym but it was not 5 star!
Overall though, I would use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for the time to publish your vacation experience with other travelers and with us and for choosing THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote as your holiday’s destination.

Opinion like yours helps us to improve in our work day by day.

Thank you for all the nice comments, especially about our rooms, the hotel location and the breakfast.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience we have may caused you during your stay with us.

We are very sorry we could not exceed your expectations especially about the gym. We take a good note about all your comments and we will do our best to improve it in the future.

However, we hope to have the opportunity to re-establish our image with you in a not too distant future.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel in April.
First the positives: Very spacious room with tea/coffee making facilities. Nice location, straight out the back gate and your onto the Marina with great selection of restaurants and good market twice weekly. Pools with plenty of sunbeds, just lay there and press the bell supplied by the chair and a waiter will bring your drinks.
Now the negatives: Room very outdated (but clean!). Small box t.v. tucked away in cupboard. Curtains falling loose from hooks so would not close properly.
One of the pools in dire need of new cushions for sunbeds.
Luckily we had only booked bed and breakfast, as we arrived quiet late on the first night and paid
20 euros each for dinner in buffet restaurant, very poor selection for a 5 star hotel.
Breakfast not great, we were ignored by staff and I had to fetch my own pot of coffee which was lukewarm and had to go and ask for hot one.
In summary, a lovely building in a good location, and if you get a good rate I would say go for it.
I would go again under these conditions but only on bed and breakfast. There are so many good places to eat out on the Marina.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking some minutes to share your experience with us online and for choosing THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote as your holiday’s destination.

We would like to thank you for the notable asset about our spacious room, the location and the pool area.

We are so disappointed regarding that we couldn´t fill your expectation about our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service to give you our best.

We take a good note about your mentioned points and will do our best to be better in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in our Hotel and please let us know about further reservations.

Kind regards from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times and enjoyed our recent stay very much.
Great location near to the Marina and local beaches.
Hotel service was very good, staff very attentive and polite.
Rooms are modern and a good size.
We definitely recommend a stay here.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Hotel wasn't full when we stayed, so the very friendly reception staff let us choose from 3 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have invested in sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel Volcán Lanzarote, and as a repetitive guest we double thank you for the loyalty and for choosing us.

We hope that you had a pleasant return back to our hotel.

We appreciate all of our guests’ comments and suggestions regarding our services and facilities, because that helps us impulse and increase our ambition to achieve top quality service levels. It is our constant goal to keep impressing you on every visit and make it even better than last time.

We hope that when planning your next vacation get-away, you will have no hesitation in giving us the honor to serve you again.

Until then we wish you all the best and send kind regards from the whole THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the "Marina Rubicon" yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO's "World Network of Biosphere Reserves". The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andres Pineiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of "Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe". With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.