We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time & Will Go Back Next Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“2nd Time & Will Go Back Next Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

w/c 18th March - We also had room 416, excellent, will request it again next year. This year with Thomas Cook Style had the added option to eat out two evenings at restaurants in the Marina area which was a nice change although the food on the buffet half board option is very good. I don't know how full the hotel was but never seemed busy to us, no problem getting our favourite spot for sunbeds (grassed area up the slope opposite the covered entrance to the path to the gym). Talking of the gym, we used it every day and never had anyone else there with us which probably explains why a couple of the pieces of equipment could do with maintenance as they didn't work. The Marina area is in our opinion the nicest part of the resort, we walked easily to Papagayo beach in one direction (taking the route through/behind last hotel in that direction) to avoid scrambling up the cliff - we did do this once though and managed it easily. We walked to the lighthouse in the other direction so you get to see all the other beachfront hotels and Volcan definately the best.

Room Tip: 416, not 417 as looks like will be in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for taking some minutes to share your experience with us online and for choosing THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote as your holiday’s destination.

We are very happy to read about your positive impressions regarding the rooms, the facilities and the services of our staff. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue improving our services.

We are looking forward to host you once again at the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

Best regards from THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    508
    170
    27
    13
See reviews for
359
1,080
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I choose the volcan hotel to celebrate my 60th birthday and boy did they not let us down,from the moment we walked in to the wonderfull reception we had,suitcasess taken to our room {416}which was very large with a separate siting area,nice balcony with views of the swining pool,ferrys coming and going to fuertentura,playa blanca.We had all oue meals in the main restaurant and to be honest we could not find to much to cry about.ON my birthday we came back to our room to find a birthday cake and a bottle of bubbly for us,THANK YOU ,SO TO CUT IT SHORT we have booked for another weeks stay there on the 12-19 september 2013,this time to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary.so we are looking forward very much in returning so soon,also the holiday was booked via thomas cook again very surprise how well they preform,on a count down from now WELL DONE TO ALL AT THE VOLCAN HOTEL

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments and of course for spending your vacations in our Hotel with your wife, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are really pleased that you had such a great holiday with us.

We sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about the hotel especially about the room and our staff.

We hope to see you back once again in Lanzarote and in our Hotel.

Best regards from THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

just spent a lovely week at hotel volcan,special thanks 2 raff on reception,who went out of his way 2 help ,wen we lost our jackets.had a lovely relaxing holiday and it is in a great location.excellent choice at breakfast,and very relaxed enviroment.we had a ground floor room,not best view ,but very peacefull ,no noise around us.only negative point sunbeds need upgrading ,bit tired looking.we wiil return wen we next vist lanzerote.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Liz,

Thank you for taking some minutes of your time to write a review about us and your experience in our Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays. Comments like yours are important for us to keep with our work and satisfy our clients.

It´s sad for us to know that we couldn´t satisfy you in the point you comment about the sunbeds. We are already working to improve our standards.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have just visited Hotel Volcan, Lanzarote , booked via Thomas Cook.
On arrival at the hotel, we were met by some very helpful reception staff, who explained all we needed to know about the hotel and its facilities. on being taken to our rooms, we were pleasantly surprised at the size and facilities. the room has a large bathroom with twin basins, bath/shower and separate toilet. the bed is super king size, TV, and in addition there is an area with 2 chairs, sofa, coffee table and coffee making facility., through the patio doors on to the balcony are another couple of chairs.

We were on half board and ate in the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner, I do not think you will be disappointed with the selections available to you. As part of our package we could swap 2 evening meals for the Italian restaurant on site, or a local restaurant outside at the marina called Casa Brigida, both very good.
I thought the restaurants lacked a bit of atmosphere , and suggested on the hotel feedback form that they had a little more background music , that might help. They were extremely efficient in replying that this would be actioned

The staff throughout the hotel were extremely helpful, friendly and always willing to help.
There are 3 pools at the hotel , a large pool which the buffet restaurant overlooks, is very well kept, but on this occasion in March,was a little cold for my liking ! The other 2 pools on another level of the hotel were both smaller, 1 for children and also a bit warmer.

Outside the hotel which is situated by the Marina Rubicon there are a number of restaurants and bars, the ones we visited were nice both for a drink and lunchtime snack.
I would recommend the Hotel Volcan for your stay in Lanzarote

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in the main building convenient for all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Robin,

On behalf of the management and all our staff, we would like to thank you for choosing THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote for your recent holiday.

We highly appreciate that you took the time to post this lovely and informative review of our facilities on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you were highly content with our premises and the performance of our staff. We will let them know about your kind words.

Be sure that we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Should you have any further queries or comments please feel free to contact us.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

First of all i would like to thank Alexis Arteta, General Manager for making this stay special. We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and when we got there we had been upgraded and a bottle of bubbly on ice waiting in our room. What a lovely thought for you to do, once again thank you Alexis. We stayed at the Hotel Volcan for 7 nights in March, it was absolutely fabulous. From arriving to leaving the staff were excellent. The hotel was immaculately clean, food was excellent, everything about this hotel was great, could not fault it in any way. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Club privileges are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Claire,

It is a delight to read your comments about your recent stay with us.

We are incredibly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in our facilities to the fullest and perceived your holiday and anniversary on Lanzarote to be something special. Since customer satisfaction is our main ambition we are proud to hear that we have achieved our goal.

Can`t wait to welcome you back to our facilities.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our second trip to this hotel and once again it didn't disappoint. We booked through Thomas Cook only a couple of weeks before we flew out and had " Hobson's choice" for the room as only one was left, a junior suite room 302. It was very spacious with a big private terrace with our own sunbeds and umbrella, it felt like our own private Club Volcan. We cannot fault any of the staff and their welcome was sunny like the weather! The hotel is quiet and restful and not for those that require endless entertainment but here if you want it. The food was of the highest quality and there was always something to tempt the appetite. The location in the marina complex is close enough to town to be convenient but far enough away for a decent walk. I would really recommend this hotel and our thanks go to Alexis, the manager, for arranging a bottle of bubbly on our wedding anniversary. Can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the kind words you used to review our hotel.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time staying in our facilities and it makes us proud that you perceived the junior suite you were allocated to as your own little Club Volcan.

Our staff and Mr. Arteta appreciate your lovely comments, which we have already passed on.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you again to our resort in the nearest future!

Until then sunny regards from the whole THE Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel volcan for 10 nights in February and absolutely loved it. It was our first holiday with our baby girl who was 4 months and before I went I had inundated the hotel with questions and requests! They patiently replied & all our requests were upheld! We had a gorgeous room that overlooked the pool & Marina, very spacious which was needed with everything we had taken with us for our little girl! The hotel is ideally positioned on the seafront promenade and we were able to go for lovely long walks with the pram. We went b&b which suited us, the breakfasts were amazing & filled us up all day & then being right on the Marina meant we had quick access to lovely restaurants so we could eat early & get quickly back to put our baby to bed. We could then sit on the balcony & chill.

One word of warning though if you are thinking of booking this hotel do NOT use a company called We are holidays LTD. They have a website which is almost identical to the hotels being hotelvolcanlanzarote.co.uk instead of .com which is the official hotel website. This company claim that they book directly with the hotel itself but we checked with Hotel Volcan and they have never heard of them. Please book through the hotel itself or use a well known company like Thomas Cook.

We absolutely loved our first family holiday at Hotel Volcan and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Helen,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We feel really happy that we were able to satisfy all your wishes.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue improving our services. Opinions like yours are really important for our work day by day.

Be sure that we are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future, and please feel free to contact us for any comments or requests.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the "Marina Rubicon" yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO's "World Network of Biosphere Reserves". The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andres Pineiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of "Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe". With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.