We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Perfect family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I asked my 9-year old daughter for her input and she said the highlights were the breakfast, the kids's club, the pools and the general quality of the hotel! I would say the location as well, being on the doorstep of the marina for lunches and dinner. I was glad to have gone bed and breakfast on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews - it's good to share your business around anyway. We particularly enjoyed the Afrodite pizza place, and the steak grill restaurant just outside the hotel gate. Having never been to Lanzarote before, I was very happy with Playa Blanca in general and the Volcan in particular. We had a beautiful and massive sea view room and all of the staff, from the cleaning to restaurant and reception staff were friendly and helpful and spoke a lot of languages. For kids, there was the disco every night and my daughter made a lot of lovely little friends. I couldn't fault this hotel with only minor niggles. The coffee at breakfast wasn't to my liking, but there was Buck's Fizz available instead so who's complaining! In my opinion, anyone who has any big issue with this hotel has problems! I would recommend the half day South tour excursion to the Timanfaya volcanoes, with an extra cost of 6 euro to ride the camels - definitely worth it for the laugh! Also, take the ferry from the port to Fuerteventura for a great family day out. We wish we could do our holiday all over again! Thank you Volcan!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room at the slightly higher cost and go B&B, not half-board
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments and of course for spending your vacations in our Hotel with your family, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are really pleased that you had such a great holiday with us.

We will send all the nice words to our staff and the involved departments.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the THE Hotel Volcan Lanzarote in the near future.

We wish you all the best and please let us know about further reservations.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the THE Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    598
    193
    38
    13
See reviews for
419
1,261
33
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is quite stunning with a chapel as the main entrance & a "volcano" to accommodate most of the communal facilities ! The location is ideal - quiet but still close to the marina, shops, bars & restaurants, also one can access the long promenade (ideal for strolling) directly from the hotel grounds.The staff were all very friendly & helpful & spoke an amazing assortment of languages between them. Our room was lovely & very spacious although only a "standard". The breakfast buffet was excellent but we were slightly disappointed with the main courses & sometimes the deserts at the buffet dinner; perhaps a case of trying to do too much & provide too great a choice rather than concentrating on a smaller number of interesting dishes & presenting them well. I travelled with my sister & we agreed that we would certainly go again but perhaps on a B&B basis rather than half board.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking some minutes of your time to write a review about us and your experience in our Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays. Especially your kind words about our staff, the room and the location of our hotel.

It´s really sad for us to know that we couldn´t satisfy your expectations at the buffet dinner. We would like to apologize for that and we will do our best to improve it in the future.

We hope to see you back once again in Lanzarote and in our Hotel.

Please let us know about further reservations in the future.

Best regards from the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just back from an excellent first trip to Lanzarote. Playa Blanca is probably one of the best resorts on the island. The hotel was very well located overlooking the new marina and only a short distance from shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and supermarkets as well as the marina market on Wednesdays and Saturdays. The hotel reception is spectacular with a lava rock cliff and waterfall all under a mock volcano. The hotel grounds and pools are really well laid out and maintained and the place was quiet. However at least one pool should be adequately heated in February! All staff in reception, restaurant and around the hotel were friendly, helpful and professional. We had booked independently through a booking agent and were a bit concerned about what room we would be allocated having read other reviews. An email to the hotel beforehand sorted that and we were really happy with our room which was spacious, well decorated and presented, very comfortable and had a good balcony and garden overlooking the marina. Thank you Hotel Volcan for meeting our requests - it really helped to make our stay perfect. Rooms are well equipped with kettle and some tea/coffee/sugar but you are expected to pay if you want these renewed on a daily basis. This seems a bit penny-pinching for a 5 star but you could take your own supply and at least the hotel provided decaffeinated coffee in the room and restaurant. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a huge variety of everything you could possibly want. Evening buffet was plentiful with lots of choice but was good 4 star rather than 5 star mainly due to the presentation and it was sometimes rather bland. Always a big choice of meats and fish which were freshly cooked to order. We were disappointed with the desserts which lacked daily variety but at least there was a choice of four ice cream flavours each day. The restaurant setting was lovely. They raised the game on Valentines Day and the food choice was excellent with huge prawns, green-lipped mussels, sirloin steak and roast duck. Our only other disappointment was the evening entertainment. This was only on 4 nights of the week and only the Spanish night (Friday) was really entertaining. There is a good room for the shows but they tended to use the garden area under reception which was small with no real dancing space. It would cost nothing to put on music for dancing in the entertainment room on the three other nights and the name 'Fun Pub' needs changing - it was anything but! We hired a car and visited some really interesting island tourist sites but we would recommend you hire from the airport rather than pay for transfers and then car hire locally as this cost us much more than was necessary.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and our moans about the hotel are only minor and only mentioned to help the management put the little things right. We would definitely recommend this hotel for the price you pay.

Room Tip: For a good standard room the 300's were very good. We were in 307.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for your great review and for choosing the “THE” Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here on the island and in our Hotel. Especially your words about our staff, we guarantee that we will send all your comments to the involved departments.
We appreciate all the mentioned points where we can get better and like you already said for us the feedback of our guest’s it´s important and our base tools in order to improve day by day the services we offer.

Please we hope you come back soon and let us know in advance for further reservations!!!
All our best wishes from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Volcan for one week. Our first impressions were impressive. Overall the holiday was very good. Staff, breakfasts, decor, Lobby, pool area, service, cleanliness, excellent.
Our only disappointment was our room. It was cool, dark and didn't get sun at any time of the day.
I did mention this to the Receptionist, who informed us that we hadn't book a sea view room, had there been one available, we would have been upgraded.
We did eat in the Hotel Buffet on one evening, but preferred the excellent Restaurants at the Marina.
This was a good holiday, and would recommend it, and do hope to visit it again, but will make sure that our room position is better next time.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view and gets some rays from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Charloise,

Thank you very much for your reviews!

We are glad you enjoyed the property, the breakfasts and the installations during your stay...
It´s our main objective and it makes us proud to know that we could complete your expectations.

We apologize about the cold and dark room, but unfortunately even on the Canary Island we don´t escape from the winter and we didn´t expect such a cold winter like this year.

We really hope to welcome you once again in our Hotel and please let us know before so together we can find a nice sunny room for you.

Send you all our best wishes and some sunny regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in Club Volcan on a Bed and Breakfast basis and were impressed with everything about the Club area which, with the exception of the lunch menu by the pool was 5 star. I would agree with previous reviews that some of the other areas of the Hotel are shabby and definitely not 5 star. We ate in the Marina most nights and had some excellent meals so can not comment about the Buffet.

The staff in the Club lounge bent over backwards to provide me with GF food and it was the first holiday in a Hotel for years where I was not made to feel different or difficult.

We booked a bedroom on a high floor and had a fantastic view of the harbour, the room was spotless and the staff friendly and efficient.

We wanted and got total peace and quiet when we lay by the pool and left after one week feeling relaxed and refreshed, which is all one wants from a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments and of course for spending your vacations in our Hotel.

It was a pleasure for us to have you here with us and it makes us proud that we could be a part of your holiday memories, especially the information that we could satisfy your wishes with the gluten free products and that you feel comfortable and not different.

We will send all the nice words to our staff and the involved departments.

Comments like yours are important for us to keep with our work and satisfy our clients.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

We are on your full disposal.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team, The Hotel Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing honeymoon here. Lovely room and surroundings. Pools are great and a really relaxed atmosphere.

We didn't eat here. Went to local restaurants instead. All very good. A beautiful hotel and perfectly located. Real luxary.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for having spent your valuable time in writing this very kind comment on Trip advisor, all our staff thank you for choosing us to celebrate such special event like your honeymoon.

We sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about the hotel especially about the location and the surroundings.

We will be looking forward to welcome you again with us; do not hesitate in contacting us for anything you may need for your next visit.

All the best wishes from Lanzarote!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked hotel for honeymoon given its 5 star rating and weren't to disappointed. Like other reviews don't think that the star rating is the same as home but never the less it is impressive. Given an upgrade when checking in and were welcomed with a bottle of cave and a 'happy birthday' cake! Sadly we had to move at 2 in the morning due to the constant noise from a refrigerator in a restaurant below - not the best start to a honeymoon. Offered a couple of different rooms after being informed by the reception that 'after all we had been upgraded!' Not the best customer service. Fairly decent standard with food although it does get a little monotonous and if you left it towards the latter part of the evening the choice was limited. If I had known how many local restaurants were close by would not have went half-board. The bars seem to open and close a strange times - the hotel gin bar was regularly closed very early and the same with the main pub bar. One big complaint - if you want to use the spa be prepared to put your hand in your pocket big time - extortionate price for the 'normal' hotel guests. The area itself is peaceful, very clean and offers a relaxing place to chill. Overall a good tourist hotel in a nice area of Lanzarote.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for post your comments about your recent stay with us and have been choosing the Hotel Volcan for your vacation, especially your honeymoon week.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed some of the services we offer as the Club Volcan, the relaxing place and On the other hand, we welcome your entire feedback and feel really sorry that we couldn´t satisfy the standard of the room type you normally get used to.

Like in any other establishment we have our timetables and the Hotel dispose of two bars during the evening.

Our Lobby Bar which is opens every day from 4 -9 pm and our Discotheque Fun Pub from 9 -12 pm where we have 4 times a week live music and entertainment.

We really hope to see you once again in our Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any kind of information or further reservations you might need.

Send you our best regards from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the "Marina Rubicon" yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO's "World Network of Biosphere Reserves". The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andres Pineiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of "Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe". With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.