We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“winter sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Recent visit to see the sun during dark days. Excellent hotel with good facilities, excellent breakfasts and very helpful staff. The hotel itself is very well laid out and really looks the part of a. 5 star hotel. Rooms very comfortable and spacious. Free wifi icing on the cake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Les H,

On behalf of our team members and the management of the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, thank you for taking the time to write to us and comment on your recent stay in our Hotel, advisor It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks.

We are delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests. We will share your comments with our team members!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote in the future and sending you our best wishes and sunny regards!!!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    598
    194
    38
    13
See reviews for
420
1,263
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After having flu over the Christmas my husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday staying in this hotel . Lovely hotel with fantastic staff and relaxing ambience . Stayed on bed & breakfast basis. Breakfast had very good choices and was really good . Bedroom was very clean and large we were in room 565 . View from our room was amazing overlooking the lovely marina. the bed was large but too hard for me. we made our own fun and entertainment in the evening as the hotel's was not up to much . The surrounding bars and restaurants close around 12 so you have to go into the main centre if you want a livelier time. Chanced a dip in the large pool for a laugh as had heard it was baltic .... no joke. .sun beds were plentiful with fresh towels daily. Could not fault this hotel . Just what doctor ordered. ..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear travelers,

Thank you for having spent your valuable time in writing this very kind comment on Tripadvisor, all our staff thank you for choosing us to spend your vacation in our hotel.

Guest satisfaction is our main objective and we sincerely appreciate your opinions and all the nice words about the hotel especially about our breakfast and our staff.

We take a good note about your mentioned points and will do our best to be better in the future.

It will be our pleasure to attend you again in a near future, here at the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.We are on your full disposal.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We're just back from a wonderful week in the Hotel Volcan. It certainly lives up to its excellent reviews. The hotel is beautifully designed, very relaxed, spotlessly clean, efficient and friendly. We enjoyed great food, with lots of options to choose from at the breakfast and dinner buffets. The grounds are really well landscaped, with lots of sunbathing areas to choose from, including little walled areas where you can have a bit of privacy. The pools are on three levels - we stayed around the childrens' pool area which was just outside our room. If you're there with children (or even if you're not), rooms 268-278 are really well-located. You can walk straight out from your room onto the sun terrace. The location of the hotel is super - right behind the very smart Rubicon marina with its upmarket shops and restaurants and delightful twice-weekly craft markets. The hotel is right on the brilliant seven mile promenade and there are great views across the marina and over to Fuerteventura. We've stayed in a quite a few four and five star hotels in the Canaries and the Volcan Lanzarote was definitely the best. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms between 268-278 are the best for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for such wonderful comments about our hotel especially about the design, the cleaning, our buffet and for our staff.

We will send all your comments to our involved departments. Your comments and your positive experience makes us proud in our work day by day.

It will be our pleasure to attend you again in a near future, here at the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very pleased with this hotel. We paid for a sea view and our room (415) was perfect. Great view over the marina and some spectacular sunsets from the balcony. The variety of food choices for breafast & dinner exceeded anything we have experienced before. Always Bucks Fizz available at breakfast and if you preferred Vodka that was there also. Different varieties of fresh fish cooked to order at dinner. Unusually for a hotel of this standard the wines were reasonably priced. The wine list is extensive and we found the house wine at 13e good. Plenty of choice under 20e and some good Riojas. We found the staff pleasant and helpful. Two speciality restaurants on site, Kazan Japanese & Rubicon Italian. We had a problem with very slow service in Kazan and left after 95 mins and no main course. We found both restaurants lacking in atmosphere due to lack of diners. This may have been due to the season. This is the only hotel we have used in Playa Blanca but doubt we could have found a better one.

Room Tip: We were pleased we chose the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your nice comments, we are glad to read that you found our Hotel the right choice to spend your holidays.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the installations, especially the food and service. We try to make each guest’s stay at our hotel unique and memorable and we are glad that we were able to achieve this with you.

Also we would like to apologize the bad experience with the restaurant “Kazan” and we would like to confirm that in the future this will not happened again.

It would be a great pleasure for us to host you once again in our Hotel. Please let us know about reservations in the future.

Best Regards from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have just returned from a two week break b&b at this '5 Star Hotel' I'm afraid that is where I have to disagree. We had to leave our usual Christmas getaway booking late this year and so I appreciated that we wouldn't get much choice in the way of room standards,however, my continual bug bear is...if a hotel has been rated 5 star then EVERY room should be to that standard. If the customer then requests sea view, corner room,suite, 'club rooms' then they will of course have the option to pay more. We arrived on Sunday 23rd December. We had requested 'if possible' a high floor and we should have realised something was wrong when we were shown to our room 279-sounds like it should be at least on the second floor...no its the furthest room from reception on the ground floor accessible by endless corridors which get darker and darker as you approach. The first thing we noticed-a damp mustiness to the room.On opening the patio doors I saw that we looked out onto scrub-land with the hotel perimeter wall right next to our room.To the right of the room were two kiddies' swimming pool close by to a playground. As a middle aged couple travelling alone we at least expected to find we had been put in a 'quieter' part of the hotel.The room didn't look as though it had been cleaned in readiness for guests-never mind there being 'two complimentary bottles of water in the fridge' it wasn't even on! There were no bathrobes-stated as standard in all rooms-The pillows on the bed looked and smelt dirty!!! I rang reception to tell them we were unhappy only to be told that the hotel was full, there was no manager working that day and all she could do was write down my complaint and it would be read in the morning. This wasn't good enough as we have had this type of treatment once before when we were foolish enough to stay at The Minos Beach Hotel on Crete. I immediately rang the rep ,whom we had left only two hours previously at the airport. She told me Sunday was a bad day to arrive as they only had 'skeleton staff on' We were amazed!! Although to be fair to Katie,our Sovereign rep, she did endeavour to placate our fears and assured us things would be sorted.We stayed in that room for our first night-very noisy.The next day It took us endless phone calls to the rep, reception and eventually a meeting with the rep then more phone calls from reception. It was farcical because the reception were telling the rep one thing and then us another.Having been assured the hotel was full miraculously at 2.30pm we had another call to say there had been a cancellation and we could go to see a new room!!!! We were shown an alternative room 216 which was on the second floor and overlooked the side of the marina. We agreed to move and did so within half an hour as we hadn't unpacked. We eventually started our Christmas holiday at about 4pm on Christmas Eve. We were able then to relax and enjoy our stay. Cleaning staff are fab and work so hard-they really looked after us as doo all the waiters and waitresses. The lay out of the hotel is lovely-unique in that it feels like a little village. Te reception area etc is lovely, all alcoves and lovely seating areas. There is a very quiet bar on this level and a 'pub' down below near the waterfall. Breakfast was great, lots of choice to suit everyone. Lots of choice round the pools each day-not much reserving of beds etc. We ate out at the Marina-The Taverna was our favourite-best tapas ever!! and really lovely staff. Casa Roja and Casa Brigida both owned by the hotel are worth a visit too.Aphrodite, El Mirador and Lani's are great too and a great addtion to Lani's is the cocktail bar with the comfy outdoor seating. The Blue Note Jazz Club is a must for total chill and relaxation-fabulous sunsets next to the marina. The hotel was a disappointment because we have previously stayed on two separate occasions at The Princess Yaiza-now that is five star plus! The rooms in The Volcan need up dating, some of the public areas too look shabby and would benefit from a makeover. I felt the pool areas and the furniture there were outdated and in need of attention, more cleaning and sprucing up. I had read endless reviews before we went and have done since our return home-I am amazed by people who say every room in the hotel would be great because our experience tells a very different story. Another couple who were put in 279 on arrival also demanded a change and guess what?? they were given room 215 right next door to our second room!!! We paid a lot of money for our two weeks and feel really let down by our experience. We are considering, if we return to Playa Blanca, renting a villa or apartment near the marina as this is the perfect spot to spend your holiday.Or of course return to The Princess Yaiza.

Room Tip: You should email the hotel and speak to someone about room choice because the layout is so weird. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for post your comments about your recent stay with us and have been choose the Hotel Volcan for your vacation.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed some of the services we offer as the layout of the Hotel, the breakfast buffet and the kindness and the hard work from our cleaning staff.

On the other hand, we welcome your entire feedback and feel really sorry that we couldn´t satisfy the standard of the room type you normally get used to. During your stay the Hotel was completely full and in general we never confirm room request but we always try to find another solution as it´s possible.

Further on we would like to mention that we have a lot of guests which are coming back again because of the spacious, tranquility and well situated rooms.

We certainly will take an objective approach to ascertain how best we can rectify and not to have a reoccurrence of the improvable situations mentioned.

We wish you all the best and kindest regards from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A lovely hotel with a relaxing feel. The reception area was jaw dropping and our room was first class. Good selection of food for breakfast. Although the hotel is large it is well laid out and you get a sense of privacy and space from the rooms. The bedroom was large with a lovely balcony overlooking the marina. Three swimming pools all great but very cold! Lovely staff who genuinely seemed to try and please. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear travelers,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very pleased that our staff and our buffet selection could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.

The main objective of our Hotel is to make our guest feel like at home.

We also take a note about the temperature of our swimming pool.

Once again we would like to thank you and it will be a pleasure to welcome you soon.

Sunny regards and best wishes from Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at this hotel over Christmas. A well kept low rise development that does not feel crowded even when it seemed to be full. Good selection at the buffet for breakfast and Dinner. Although the restaurant was good we would probably go back on a bed and breakfast basis to take the opportunity to visit the good selection of other restaurants on the doorstep. We particularly liked the Blue Note bar a few steps from the rear entrance. Easy walking in both directions along the seafront and also accessible for those in wheelchairs.

Room Tip: We stayed in 506 which does suffer fan noise from the adjacent restuarant. A good view though and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments and of course for spending your vacations in our Hotel.

It was a pleasure for us to have you here with us and it makes us proud that we could be a part of your holiday memories.

We will send all the nice words to our staff and the involved departments.

Comments like yours are important for us to keep with our work and satisfy our clients.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

We are on your full disposal.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote and all the Volcan Lanzarote Hotel Team,

The Hotel Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the "Marina Rubicon" yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO's "World Network of Biosphere Reserves". The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andres Pineiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of "Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe". With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.