We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First the positive side:
The location is superb as you practically have direct access to the Marina.
The buidling style of the hotel is different and great
We got an upgrade to a Junior Suite with fantastic views

What disappointed us:
The curtains in the rooms were torn and rooms not clean. Picture frames were broken and hanging skew. Both TV's did not work properly with extremely bad picture quality. Although we had beautiful large terraces these could not be used as there is absolutely no shade.

Upon booking, the hotel boasted about all its restaurants. And what a disspapointment. For dinner only the buffet restaurant and Japanese restaurant were open. The others were completely closed and are only used for private functions. The food in the Japanese restaurant was great but too pricey and a pity that they do not have a terrace even though there is enough space.

The sundowner Terrace is too small for the amount of hotel guests. So get there at least about 20 minutes before the sun sets to get a seat. The sunsets are superb from here!

I recommend not to book half board as there are so many restaurants close by to choose from. We did not eat from the buffet so I cannot evaluate the food.

Breakfasts are good, except that the tables and placemats were sticky.

A big dissapointment was that when you order drinks at the pool you get everything in a plastic cup! This is not 5 star! Whether you order coffee, wine or sangria ... everything is plastic.

The towel service at the pool is organised more like an "all inclusive" resort. You only get one towel per person per day!

The entire hotel appears a bit tired and desperately needs renovations. The staff is friendly but not helpful.

Room Tip: Book seaview rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we'd like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Volcan for your holiday in Lanzarote.
We are pleased that you like the location and local area here.
Thank you also for the feedback you have provided on this site.
We do appreciate that occasionally there is accidential damage to the fixtures and fittings in our rooms and inspection for damage is an ongoing process, and we are grateful when guests highlight these to us so they can be rectified.
We also have a rolling programme of improvements so guest feedback is important to us.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    596
    193
    38
    13
See reviews for
418
1,258
33
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are currently staying in this hotel. First impressions through the 'monastery' like entrance and to the reception definitely had the 'wow' factor. However it has been a bit downhill since then. We walked through the gardens and our 'wow' quickly changed to 'theres something letting this place down'. The pool areas are a little grubby and I have never seen worse dirty mattresses on sun loungers at any hotel. However we are given towels which can be changed between 10:00 & 18:00 each day, or so I was told! When I went to change the towels yesterday just shortly after 17:00 I was told they had run out of towels. I called back today to change them at 11:45 to be told they only had small towels. This is not what I expect from a 5 star hotel. The mattresses on the beds desperately need changing and there needs to be sufficient towels for guests.

Our room is very spacious and very well equipped. There are definitely nice touches with a candle, toothbrush kit, shampoo, shower gel etc. The outside corridors could do with a lick of paint as could parts of our room however. Having already spent a week in costa and not receiving any bites, my husband and I had awoken after our first nights sleep to at least 10 bites each. I don't know whether we got these from our room or from the pool area which is plagued by flies. I had to go and buy an insect repellant plug and some incense sticks to try to deter the insects so be warned and bring them with you.

Day 3 now of our holiday here and my husband woke at 5:00am this morning unable to breathe. He has serious weazing and a tightness around his chest. He has an allergy to dust and I dont know if the air conditioning is causing his distress or if there is something else in the room causing him discomfort. We have tried the air conditioning off but it hasn't helped. Some of the rooms have 'balconies' in a cave like setting & I'm not sure these are helping things as there is no air circulation around the room. It is also impossible to dry clothes in these rooms as the line in the bath tub is far too low down and with no air in the bathroom the clothes don't dry.

On a positive note, the food in the restaurant is probably one of the best I have seen in a hotel. There is a good variety of breads, salads etc. the staff are also very friendly and attentive. but the restaurant is extremely hot to the point of being uncomfortable to sit in. If you sit 'outside' in a sunroom area the tables are far too close together. If you sit inside there is more room but it is hot.

Wifi is available at the pool areas which is great for googling during the day. I read another review which said there were bells at the pool if you wanted a drink. I haven't found them yet just as i haven't found any waiter service during the day. The entertainment in the hotel is only available 4 times per week and so far we have only seen the Saturday night signing duo which wasn't great. There is little else to do apart from taking a walk. The shops near by are sparse so you have to go into playa blanca if you want a bit of entertainment or something to do.

The spa is closed at the minute for refurbishment. So we can't use those facilities. The only English channels on the TV in the rooms are the discovery channel and Sky News. This is not what I was expecting from a 5 star hotel.

On the whole I wouldn't return to this hotel. It needs a facelift and there is definitely something in the rooms causing my husband breathing problems. It is a haven for flies and Mosquitos and I am already counting the days till I go home! Very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Ms.

Firstly, if you and your husband are still staying with us please come and talk to us to see if we can be of assistance regarding your husband's health issue.

Thankyou for your review on trip advisor and the comments you made, and your kind comments about the food in our hotel. Feedback is very important to us and we will investigate the pool towel issue as towels are available to our guests.The entertainment we provide is based on what most of our clients say they are looking for, and we do appreciate that this is not to everyone's taste.
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are sorry that all of your expectations have not been met on this visit, and again please contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOheem
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to the large extras offered by the club Volcan. Our son (25) joined us and we booked a three person room. First disappointment was the arrival, no personal reception as the club reception is always closed. So as well no personalized service for booking! The room was small, needed renovation. The hotel info is given on a cheap black and white copy as well as the info on the club. You are offered anti- allergy bed linen, but if you finally walk to the reception to ask for this ( no info on how to request it) you are told that it is too late to do it that day. Removing dust is as well not the strenght of the housekeeping. The club offers turn-down service. After five days, we claimed why this did not happen, we got an excuse from the customer service and a bottle of cheap sparkling wine (comments from the personnel: we don't like it either) but no turn-down service. Claimed it again, got a bottle of sparkling wine but we had turn down service for two days and then it vanished again. The club pool area has a wet bar but the bar is most of the time not manned as the person in charge of the bar takes as well care of other tasks like setting up the afternoon tea. The sunbeds are old and the dect ones are stored near the stairs to the room. After complain, the were stored behind the whirlpool (not heated)thus spoiling the great view from there. The breakfast buffet is big but you have as companions on the table ants! Cleaning of the tables is not the strong point of the not really motivated personnel. The evening buffet is always the same. I can confirm the overcharge of the guy preparing the food on the grill as being once not standing in the right place, the order was: MOVE!!
They try to give a five star impression by spending a minimum. Maintenance is held to a bare minimum (in the club lounge 16 out of 40 lamps are dead and the air conditionner was keaking. Complains end with some fruit or drinks in the room but management does not seem to be worried about this. Joanna from the customer service did her best but this hotel suffers from bad mangement (they should go and see at the Gran Bahia Real!).
We spent a fortune for this stay and if this would not have been paid in total we would have left after three days!
We send in a complain to be reimbursed as services praised in the club brochure were not given. This was our most disappointing holiday ever!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We are very sorry that you felt disappointed with the hotel.

We do take all feedback seriously and we will investigate the departments and areas you have highlighted. Both positive and negative comments are shared with staff to ensure that all are working as hard as possible to ensure every guest enjoys their stay with us. I aplogise that we could not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We wish you all the best for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We've just returned from spending a week at the Hotel Volcan with my family & parents and are already planning to return here again next year as it was perfect.

The hotel really is stunning, our junior suite, family room was very spacious and the finishing touches and small details really impressed us. Walking into the hotel's main entrance and reception is an experience all in itself...

The breakfasts are fantastic and its location at the Marina ensured a wide selection of restaurants to choose from, all within a 2 minute walk of the hotels grounds.

I would have no hesitation for recommending this hotel for anyone looking for a great, family friendly hotel on Lanzarote. We're already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thankyou for choosing The Hotel Volcan for your recent holiday to Lanzarote with your family and parents, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

We'd also like to thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our main purpose and we are really pleased that you had such a great holiday with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance in planning your next visit to Lanzarote and we look forward to welcoming you and your family to The Hotel Volcan next year.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We upgraded to a Club Room which was definitely not 5 star. The curtains were torn, there were cigarette burns on some of the furniture and a quite obvious repair had been made to a chip in the bath. During our stay there were a few heavy rain showers and we were unable to use our balcony as the water didn't drain away. Did not appreciate the very old fashioned TV either.
I also expect my room to be made up before 2 p.m. !!
On the plus side the club area was child free and relaxing and the breakfasts excellent. The coffee (from a machine) was not so enjoyable tough.
The location of the hotel is excellent and the main reason I would consider staying here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thankyou for choosing to stay with us in September and for your positive comments about our club area, breakfasts and our location.

Your feedback is very important to us to us and the satisfaction of our guests is our main objective. We are sorry that we couldn't meet all of your expectations on this occasion.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance should you choose to visit our lovely island again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a repeat two week stay at THe Hotel Volcan and already looking forward to our return next year!The hotel is slowly renewing itself after a change of ownership two years ago from the Gran Melia Group who had starved the hotel of investment.This is a beautiful designed hotel that makes you feel you are staying in a little village and has a charming quality about it.The rooms are spread over several landscaped levels and many overlook the stylish Rubicon Marina which can be accessed by a card controlled garden gate.
Some welcome improvements have been made since our last stay in April.The lagoon size swimming pool has been refurbished and contrary to previous reviewers the pool is not freezing cold.This is a superb huge fresh water lagoon shaped pool that is kept immaculately clean by the pool staff.The temperature of the water is perfect for swimming and getting some exercise out of the hot sunshine!.If you want heated water then go to the Spa (this was being refurbished during our stay) The previously closed pool bar has been revamped and now has a waiter call service.Remote numbered bell buttons are placed on the tables next to the sun loungers and the waiter comes to the table to take your order.Excellent service.Another new addition is THe Chill Out Terrace Bar.Open in the evenings we enjoyed some lovely cocktails sat looking out across the stunning evening skyline over the Playa Blanca bay.

The food at breakfast is amazing,Everything you could wish for and high quality.Our particular favourite was the fresh cooked poached eggs!The evening buffet had plenty of choice, catering for many different tastes and fresh food cooked to order.My wife is Coeliac and the chefs couldn't have been more helpful with her special diet needs.Thank you.

On a negative note,there is now a childrens play area in the central area of the Florida Restaurant giving the atmosphere of a school club house.It is bearable,just, at breakfast but not what you expect in a 5 star hotel restaurant when dining in the evening.Children should be sat with their parents at the table in the dining room not treating it as playtime.

The Club Volcan area of the hotel is adults only and has a separate pool area and breakfast dining room.This area also has Wi Fi but in the rest of the hotel Wi Fi is only available in the hotel lobby.

The staff, as ever, are fantastic,always a smile and willing to help.The rooms are kept spotlessly clean as is the rest of the hotel.

There is a Maxcoop Supermarket close to the hotel and several restaurants on the Marina.For those who like to stretch their legs turn left when leaving the hotel and follow the coast path to the stunningly beautiful beaches of Papagaya or turn right and follow the coast promenade path to the lighthouse at the tip of the island.A more gentle walk is to the harbour where the ferries operate from.

Looking forward to our return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Lesley & Keith,

First of all we would like to say thank you so much for being our guests since years, it´s a pleasure for us to have you here in our Hotel every year. You and your wife always give a positive energy and esprit during your stay.

We are proud to have clients like you and the management and all our staff would like to say thank you and the best wishes for you and Lesley.

We also would like to say thank you for your important commentaries on this page. We are sure that other travelers will find your information useful. We already give all the commentaries to the involved departments, especially about our staff, about the hotel and our buffet.

We take a good note also about the children’s play area in our restaurant and we are sorry if we could satisfy your expectations in this case.

Like always we are on your full disposal and please let us know if you plan the next stay and for anything you might need.

We wish you a good winter start and early Christmas wishes from all the Volcan Team.
Sunny regards,

The Management of the Hotel Volcán Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A beautiful hotel. The staff are charming. Bedrooms spacious clean and comfortable.
Location next to Marina Rubicon with bars and restaurants and a good market on Wednesday and Saturday.
Food not 5 star more 3/4 Buffet dinner but with variety. Restaurant is a little chaotic queing for food sometimes 10 minutes, but the staff are so nice I really couldnt complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and your opinion about our hotel, it was a pleasure for us to have you here with us and be part of your holiday memories.

We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel, the rooms and our staff.

We also take a good note about the quality of our dinner buffet and would like to say sorry if you had to wait during your dinner. Unfortunately when the hotel is fully booked sometimes it´s unpreventable the waiting time in the restaurant.

We hope to see you soon in our Hotel and wish you all the best for you and your family.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Volcán Lanzarote Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the "Marina Rubicon" yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO's "World Network of Biosphere Reserves". The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andres Pineiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of "Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe". With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.