We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it says.!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote to your Saves list
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not what it says.!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

Have just returned from a weeks stay and I have to say I was very disappointed.
The hotel is supposed to be five star? I would say a modest 4 star at best. The swimming pool had a large section of filter missing and was very dirty. The Sun loungers were always covered with a towel and half of them were broken. The restaurant food was bland, only the buffet restaurant was open even though we were told by our travel agent that there was four restaurants to choose from!!
The staff are a credit to themselves as they could not do enough for you but I think they a flogging a dead horse as the hotel is in need of some investment!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Adjunta a Dirección at THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Good afternoon,
First of all, we would like to thank you for having spent your valuable time on publishing your impressions about our Hotel.
Opinions like yours help us to improve our day to day efforts to offer better service.
Regarding your comments about our facilities, we would like to confirm you that we have analyzed all of your comments and we are taking the opportune measures.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you.
Receive our best regards.
Hotel Volcán Lanzarote Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    510
    170
    27
    13
See reviews for
359
1,086
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have just returned from the Volcan Hotel. Check-in was quick and painless with 3 staff working. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the club suites which made all the difference. The hotel has a gated area within its grounds for the Volcan Club guests (staff call it the VIP area) it is for adults only, has a lovely large decking area with a swim up bar, pool, 2 Jacuzzis, enough new sun loungers, 10 large sun beds (big enough for 2). inside is a business room with a PC, free underground car park, breakfast is served in good restaurant where they will cook to order or help yourself to the usual choices. There is free wifi throughout, however they still use CRT TVs in the rooms.
The rooms were cleaned well every day with the towels replaced at the same time. All the staff were helpful at all times. A light bulb went in the bathroom which I reported on my way out, it was replaced by the time we returned 2 hours later.
This is a great hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, Bucks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Just returned from a 7 night holiday here, to start with I have never known staff so courteous, polite and gave everyone the respect you would expect for a five star hotel, most spoke english some very good english. Our room was a suite which was bigger than a one bedroom flat complete with living room, a spa bath and a bed you could have slept seven in (no joke), the main pools were cold but once use to them no problem. The one thing that annoyed me but you get this everywhere was guests reserving sunbeds, this was not needed as this was the first hotel i've stayed in where the sunbeds well outnumbered the guests, all the sunbeds had mattresses, so you wern't laying on hard plastic, and were nicely spaced out so you wern't on top off the guests next to you. We stayed half board the food was wonderful and plentiful, we even saw guests asking to have food cooked for them that wasn't on display, e.g someone wanted a cheese and mushroom omelette, no problem. walking into the hotel to the reception you had to walk through a monastery type area first which at night was all lit up with candles, it was lovely. The only comments I would make, some of the parasols are starting to show there age, flat screen tv's in the rooms would give it a touch more class, and in the Jameos bar you had a huge big screen tv that was playing to no-one, how about a nice bit of relaxing music especially on the nights when there is no entertainment, to be honest there is nothing you can really fault this hotel on. Just be aware that even though there is a childrens mini area, I would say the hotel is more for couples or families where children have all grown up and left school. This hotel gave me one of the most relaxing holidays I have had for years in the idealistic setting of Playa Blanca marina, so many people have rated this hotel so highly I hope the hotel don't become complacent and let standards drop.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I would rate hotel as 4 star definately not 5.
Staff and service ok.
Rooms large and ok, only downside.....Beds....like billiard tables , extremely hard and uncomfortable.
Location, very quiet, 40 minute walk to Playa Blanca......not woth the walk!.....just the usual shops selling the usual tat!
Immediate location very quiet, adjacent to the marina rubicon, which is pleasant enough.
Would recommend for a quiet relaxing sun break, no more, which after all is what you get in the Canaries.
Thompson advertise this as a Platinum hotel, nothing Platinum about this whatsoever!
If you are looking to use the Adult only section of the complex, you will have to pay an upgrade of 30e each per night!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

The hotel looks like a nice little Lanzarote Village. You can even recognize some of the hotel buildings in some villages around the island. I will suggest to do a game in which you ask the customers to find the real building in Lanzarote and bring back to the hotel a photo. Maybe they could give a prize, like a Lanzarote bottle of wine.
In general the hotel has the best staff and one of the best location of the island. I love this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I also can't understand the negative comments of previous reviewers as overall this hotel is pretty impressive. I stayed at this hotel with my husband for 2 weeks earlier this month, in one of the basic rooms, on the 5th floor, with sea views. The room was large, clean,comfortable & had a lovely view. Bed was huge & comfy, bathroom was large & clean with plenty of hot water & powerful shower. Bathrobes & slippers were provided & there was even an umbrella in the wardrobe (we didn't need it).

There were no issues with smells of stale smoke or noise from the neighbouring rooms or even from the corridor outside.The air conditioning worked perfectly well & it was a bonus to have a fridge & kettle to make the occasional drink.

We stayed half board & were pleased with the variety of food on offer, which is unusual, as I don't normally like anything in hotels! You would have to be an extremely fussy eater not to find something to your liking. Over the 2 weeks the menu wasn't repeated at dinner. There were themed nights with seafood buffet, Tapas night etc. One of the great things was that the food was well laid out so there was no queuing or people pushing & shoving in, a la Egyptian style hotels. Every evening there were at least 2 types of both fish & fresh meats which would be cooked on a hot griddle as you waited as well as many other hot dishes. At breakfast you could also have eggs cooked to your liking as well as the vast array of fresh fruits,cerals, breads,pastries,cold meats, cheeses,hot "English" items & more on offer.

We were normally up & out by the main pool pretty early but a lot of people did plonk down their towels, maybe even sit for a few minutes, then disappear for hours but usually there were spare beds about & on days we arrived at the pool later we always found beds to be available.

The main lagoon type pool area was looking a bit shabby & we only saw this area's terrace being cleaned once in the whole of 2 weeks. A lot of work on the outside areas seemed to all take place on one day but later that day we saw "men in suits" so looks as though it was being done for some sort if inspection.

The hotel is in a good position with a gate leading on to the road a the rear of the marina. there are a few bars & shops around here. We walked into Playa Blanca itself, via the promenade, several times as its not a hard a stroll, although taxis are usually available at the Rubicon CC for around 3.30 euros to the centre.

I don't know what the bars were like in the hotel as we never used them,preferring to go out after dinner to walk off the food then local bars. Perhaps if there had been an outdoor bar open in the evening at the hotel we may have lingered, who knows.
Free WiFi was available but was a bit temperamental & kept disappearing but that's not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: A high floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Cant understand the negative comments we are staying here currently and faultless, like the majority of tripadvisor comments posted. Suprisingly or not the people that make negative comments are always the people who seem to stay in the basic rooms. Try Club Volcan within this hotel, privately gated, own private breakfast room, private pool and balinese beds. Large rooms no problems certainly no smells of stale smoke or otherwise. Complimentary tea and pastries everday 4-6pm. Open bar everyday between 6-9pm. Short walk to the marina, plenty of shops restaurants and bars. Has a frequent traveller try it you would love it.

Room Tip: Go Club Volcan without any hestitation, exclusive adult area worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo n 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury five star hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, has a prime location on the seafront and together with the "Marina Rubicon" yachting harbour it constitutes a tourist resort in the southern part of the island - an area that forms part of the UNESCO's "World Network of Biosphere Reserves". The hotel is located just 10 km from the Timanfaya National Park, 900 metres from the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca, where you will find shopping centres, bars and restaurants, and just 30 minutes from the International Airport of Arrecife. Andres Pineiro, the chief architect of the project, chose a design based on a complex of classical buildings that are a true reflection of the typical architectural style of the island. The design of the hotel is reminiscent of a typical village of Lanzarote, with romantic patios, traditional courtyards and secluded spots, together with the magnificent hotel entrance which is a replica of the Teguise church of "Ntra. Sra. de Guadalupe". With its unique architecture and the distinguished service of a luxury hotel, the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote is an icon within the high end segment of the tourism sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Hotel Volcan Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.