We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a local after one visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Berrugo

Cafe Berrugo
Rubimar Shopping Centre, Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
928349234
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 164 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fast Food, Spanish, English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Felt like a local after one visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited here almost every night of a 7 day holiday. Full of locals and holiday makers all enjoying the tapas, beer, entertaining parrot, low key DJ, football, welcoming staff plus a complementary toffee flavoured vodka at the end of the night with the bottle left on the table. A drop of rain made it even more enjoyable as everyone got pushed under the roof, including the Parrot who sat on the shoulder of the DJ when his perch got shoved in the corner and kept singing louder than the songs on the decks. Very entertaining plus the beer was the cheapest in town (10euros for 4 large beers!). Much more fun than spending the evening in a poncy chill out bar with only 6-7 other folks. Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service & bustling atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My family and I made many trips to Cafe Berrugo. The food was always fantastic & great value, with Canarian potatoes & the many baguettes on offer being particular favourites!

free wifi & Tv's were supplied within a busy, comfortable atmosphere. The free popcorn and peanuts brought to every table by the friendly staff were an added bonus, & Everyone is also greeted with an animated "Good morning!" ( a welcome difference to the frosty, delayed reception previously received at Lani's snack bar).

Oscar the main waiter remembered our drink orders after our very first arrival, and offered us countless lolly pops over our visits, with vodka caramello on our last day in Playa Blanca. Whilst we Didn't try the larger meals, the pizzas, hotdogs & burgers looked very large and appealing.

Overall, Berrugo was a fantastic place to go for enjoyable lunches at a good price, and after dinner night caps with karaoke & sports TV.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went here nearly every night during our one week stay and were always greeted with a ''Good Morning!''. Bar staff are really friendly and the place always seemed popular with the locals which is a good sign.

We didn't eat here as we had meals included in our package but food always look nice and was served well into the evening. They do a lovely glass of sangria too and some interesting after drinks shots.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great little Cafe Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stopped here quite a lot during our holidays in Playa Blanca and have always had really good service. The food is very good and very reasonable the waiters are exceptionally friendly and don't mind offering a few words of Spanish to help during your holidays. The resident parrot always has a few tricks on offer who is equally as friendly and funny.

Really worth a visit morning or night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and drink , fantastic staff and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the marina , and have found ourselves coming back to this place every night . Oscar and the staff are so friendly . The food is fantastic , try the steak . Good atmosphere and great value for money . Well worth making it your local .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Berrugo also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Cafe Berrugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Berrugo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.