We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and lots of it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great World Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Great World Chinese Restaurant
Av Martima | (Seafront Promenade), Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 159 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
“Lovely food and lots of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We had the banquet for four priced at €11.50 per person. The food was excellent and it was plentiful. Started with prawn crackers and a sweet chilli dip them continued onto brilliant chicken sweetcorn soup then onto crispy duck pancakes then a variety of five starters all brilliant. The mains were equally as good but don't expect to finish it all.

The only thing that lets this restaurant down is the complimentary drink with the bill. Although this sounds brilliant if you look in the bottom of the glass there are naked women or men in rude poses. This raises a laugh but soon you have forgotten the wonderful food and the lasting impression is of these glasses.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Food and service great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went as a family party of 4 plus infant and were made extremely welcome. We had banquet for 4 and couldn't believe the amount of food we had for the price of 11 euros 50 per person. Very good quality, delicious and hot. The restaurant was very busy with a lot of returners as well always a good sign but the staff were very efficient and the food was flowing well from the kitchen. We weren't rushed at all. Would highly recommend and definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This chinese restaurant is in a great location but is really nothing special.Service is fast--probably too fast,and the food is average with no outstanding dishes.
Best feature is the view across the harbour

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Oriental Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent very reasonably priced Chinese and Cantonese food. Sizzling platters very good value, particuklarly sizzling chicken and prawns at 6 Euros 75. Nice view of sea and harbour area. Very friendly owners and staff. If tyhey are not too busy, one of the hosts will treat you to a private performance of professional standard magic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice enough! More good than average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had the banquet and it was very enjoyable with lots of food. The sangria was dreadful but I guess the chinese are not known for their sangria! Service was good if a little standoffish. The strangest thing was at the end of the meal when the poured us some shots into glasses that had naked pictures at the bottom. I found this really wierd and kind of creepy in a food place but hubbie says thats just me being odd! It did however really put me off and I would not go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great World Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Great World Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great World Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.