We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as every” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantica

Romantica
Avda De Papagayo 10, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
+34 928517166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 159 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent as every”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

went here a couple of times during our stay in Lanzarote the food in our opinion is excellent. Hubby is a Steak tar tar fan and it is the best he has every had. We also had the scollops, king prawns and steak which were all cooked beautifully and presented just as well. I would advise booking and get a table near the window as view is good. There is a good wine list and desserts looked lovely although did not get that far as too full. I would definately recommend this as not been since 2011 and the standard not changed at all in both the service and friendless of staff and the excellent food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    93
    33
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good food and service with a good menu and great wine list, the staff are friendly and the restaurant is located centrally in the town so is east to find

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fairly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Enjoyed the meal here. Prawn cocktail starter A1, steaks are tender and sweets we had also A1. Most tables overlook the sea and service is prompt and attentive. Watching head waiter pour out the cheap bottle of wine as if it was the Ritz was a bonus. Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Been before here is an update !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Been here 3 times before and have always rated this in 5 star catagory but I have only given it 4 stars this time (3.5 really!). You may ask why so here goes.

Romantica is still a lovely restaurant, good service, good views and spotlessly clean.
The menu is pretty extensive but here is the problem, it hasn't changed for 3 years ! The staff appear to be going through the motions churning out the same old stuff time after time. There is no vibrancy to the experience, just absolute efficiency. This is no bad thing for first time visitors but it becomes a bit bland for returners.

Another reason for reducing my score is that scoring on Trip Advisor is getting out of hand. Is Romantica really a five star experience, on reflection No ! The number 1 rated restaurant in Playa Blanca is a Chip Shop ! It has loads of 5 star ratings so what would a reviewers thought process be to rate it that highly :- ' Had fish and chips, it's sunny, nearly as good as back home, i'll give it 5 !'

So to sum up, Romantica is a good solid restaurant, good food, mid priced but a bit boring! I'll give it 3.5 !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Heavenly Holiday Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Visited: April 2013
Party: 6 adults & 1 child

We visited here on the first night of our holiday on the recommendation of a colleague from work who had raved about it since June 2012.

We were shown to a window table overlooking the promenade and beach so we had excellent views. We only had main courses and drinks and I can't recall everyone's mains but the fillet steak and beef stroganoff mains had been recommended and four of the party had these. My fillet steak was prepared in a local sauce with brandy, onions, and other ingredients. The steak was beautifully prepared medium to my taste, "poco de sangre", and the sauce was exquisite, light but flavoursome. I also tried some of the filet stroganoff, accompanied by basmati rice, and the lamb leg that were ordered the other party members and both were just as satisfying.

The only possible problem may be that they do not have a chidlren's menu so if your kids like the usual Spanish kiddies fayre of chicken nuggets and chips, hot dogs, mini pizza etc then look elsewhere as this place only serves good quality food.

Drinks were, as always in Spain, overflowing and I would have ate their most nights if we hadn't had such a large party to keep happy. A must vist place when you are here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romantica also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.