We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantica

Romantica
Avda De Papagayo 10, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
+34 928517166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 159 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Maghera, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been going to Playa Blanca for nearly 20 years and I feel this is by far the best restaurant in the resort.The site has been occupied by many types of restaurants,recently a Japanese Sushi Bar.The quality of the food,service and decor is superb.I was there with 4 male friends twice in a week, tried 7 different main courses and all were superb. Yes it takes a little longer than other establishments but the dishes are not sittin ready to serve but are made to order.The prices are no higher than elsewhere but here the quality competes with Michelin restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    93
    33
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The only thing that they are interested is to charge you !!!!! They do not inform you how long the frozen food is taking to be presented as "fresh". I had stroganoff which was not one of the best I ever had, my girlfriend had a "fresh" seabass with a touch of ice in it. Offering a bottle of wine to take it home !!!! Not my type of meals , not recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is a huge disappointment. The menu looks interesting but the food lets it down. Best described as a "starchy" restaurant, you can't feel comfortable as the staff are lurking everywhere and give the impression you are encroaching on their precious restaurant. The worst dining experience of our holiday. We will not return and we would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Special, though not Spanish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thank goodness for this beacon of quallity amid the repetetive dross of british holiday maker centred restaurants with their so same style of cooking. This has style, sophistication and finesse . The menu is imagnative, the wines refined. The service professional.
A treat to savour and, please, do not make the mistake we made...........whuich was to leave it for our last might!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
“We waited over an hour for our food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We reserved a table and therefore were expected.. Our over riding memory of the Romantica restaurant in Playa Blanca was once our order was taken we waited an hour and ten minutes for our main meal. We did not order a starter. There was a notice saying all food was freshly cooked so we anticipated some waited but not over an hour. We nearly died on starvation. All we were told by the staff was yo be patient. This restaurant obviously needs more staff in the kitchen. Everything else about our visit here was of little relevance as we objected to be kept waiting so long. Once we had ordered and started our drink we were locked in and could not leave..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romantica also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.