We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutly Dreadfull” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Jose

Casa Jose
Plaza de Nuestra Senora del Carmen 12, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
928517322
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 164 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutly Dreadfull”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We unfortunately decided to eat at Casa Jose on our first night in Playa Blanca.
Everything we tried to order was sold out or unavailable, so we eventually both settled on Pork with Canarian potatoes, I also ordered a bottle of red wine.
Eventually the meal arrived and not only did it look unappertising it was so salty and dry that it was inedible.
I can honestly say it was the worst meal I have ever been served.
It was so bad I even refused to pay for it, I paid for the wine, left and went to Cervantes Restaurant across the road, where we had a lovely meal.
Please avoid you have been warned

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    16
    9
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feckenham
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Long established and overlooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Casa José has changed over the years but not very much! There's a new conservatory type extension at the front and the waiter is now under 70. The food is as good as ever - local dishes cooked to perfection. For goodness sake don't order chicken and chips! Try the potaje canario. Enjoy the goat stew. Relish the fresh fish. Locals have relished this place for years and it's a shame that tourists seem to be put off - don't be - it's great!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“truely awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and i decided to have a "meal" at Casa Jose as it descibes itself as traditional canarian food..We ordered garlic bread to start my wife ordered the mixed meat grill and i the garlic chicken..We had a bottle of red wine which would have been better put on your chips.My wife asked for a glass of tap water and it was obvious the waiter didn`t understand what we were asking for so she took him to the bar and showed him..Our "food" came out and my wife was presented with a selection of grilled fish !! mine was basically fried chicken skin with very little meat..it was truely vile and i had to have my wifes swordfish to fill me up a little..We asked for the bill which took ages to arrive even though we were the only people in there..After much dithering we got the bill which totalled 55 euros after checking it..it came to 45 euros !! i think from looking at the waiter he expected us just to put the money down and leave..we called him over and challenged him on the total..he quickly changed it to the correct amount.. strange how he could suddenly understand english !!..A truely awful meal ..please avoid

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Canarian Fish Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Authentic dishes, friendly & efficient service, great atmosphere = wonderful experience. Great seafront location, great buzz around area

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Make friends with the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was a bit haphazard since the waiter had little English and we had no Spanish. Confusion reigned when dishes were brought out and we witnessed another couple questioning the bill. Food was pretty good and fresh. Kid is a bit tough and mostly bone so wouldn't recommend. We chaffed the waiters and ended up having good (confusing) banter. The vodka caramello brought out at the end was excellent and flowed freely.
We enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Jose also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Casa Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.