We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Marmite

La Petite Marmite
Rubicon Marina, Lanzarote Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
34 928519236
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 164 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Last restaurant in the marina before the sea wall.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a smashing little place. Family run with top quality food in the most wonderful quite location on the marina.
You will need to hunt it out as its right on the end of the marina by the sea wall but it will be worth it.
The most fantastic fish dishes and even for a quick lunch the owner was giving us tuna tapas to try . This is a place you must visit if you are in the Rubicon marina area.
Great food, great location and the family running it were superb. Will definately be spending some more evenings in this restaurant when we return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    84
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice coffee but slow miserable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went here for breakfast on market day, within five minutes of sitting down the place was full and with only two staff serving I was expecting to have to wait a long time. Since it was full we were overlooked a number of times and people who had just arrived were served before us which was a little annoying after it happened on a number of occasions. I eventually had to grab the waiter and ask to be served, I have to say he was the most miserable waiter I have encountered during my time here. I was however impressed by the waitress who seemed to take over and was pleasant and friendly. The coffee was good and the pancakes made a refreshing change.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chateaubriand steak on a hot stone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Best meal of the week whilst on holiday in Lanzarote, this little gem is right at the end of the marina and you may just miss it, the service was fantastic, we were made to feel very welcome and had a bit of banter with the Waiter, I had the Chateaubriand cooked on a hot stone at your table, accompanied with Canarian potatoes, cauliflower cheese, veg and pepper sauce, then followed by a creme brulee and a complimentary honey rum. Great atmosphere, views across the marina, the next morning we noticed a brisk trade in their breakfast menu.
Don't miss this one if your in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovelly little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went here for a couple of drinks and our first impesions were good. The head of house gave us some small tapas which we did not ask for and they were lovelly, so we booked a table and were not dissapointed. The starters were very good and there is always a fish of the day which we had this was grilled sole. My wife was a bit perlexed when it came to eating the fish off the bone so the manager de-boned the fish expertly and then re-arranged the fish to look like the sole again brilliant. we had another meal in here and were made to feel so welcome. The restaurant is family run which makes this place special and the service was brilliant. You need to look hard for this as it is tucked at the end of the marina.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Easy to miss this restaurant in the dark! it's right at the end of Rubicon Marina but worth looking out for.

Everything is quite low-key with a friendly buzz. Most of the customers seem to be locals sprinkled with a few people from the boats. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. We sat outside (as did everyone) on the rather basic furniture and watched an incredible sunset.

We were given some little amuse bouches.... and then given them again. Gratefully received. My wife ordered (something like) Basque Chicken. I ordered grilled sole and asked if it could be served with spinach and papas arrugadas (wrinkled potatoes) instead of the rice specified on the menu, which they were pleased to do. We also ordered a good bottle of Rioja.

The food proved to be very good. My wife's chicken was slightly dry but otherwise delicious. My sole was well-cooked and the mojo verde that came with the potatoes was fantastic. The Rioja was one of the best I've had (and I've had a lot!).

The prices were not unreasonable but, if you're on a budget, they have an excellent selection of crepes too.

Definitely recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Marmite also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Petite Marmite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Marmite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.