We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jasmine Chinese

Jasmine Chinese
35 Avda,Papagayo, Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 159 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Great food, friendly service and very reasonably priced if you fancy a Chinese in Playa Blanca. The waiter is so friendly and remembers you year on year. Portions are on the larger side, you have been warned ;o)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I ate here twice this visit and twice a year and a half ago.
Very good value especially on the drinks side. Very friendly young man that seems to be in charge. Good service.
I haven't tried any of the other Chinese restaurants in Playa Blanca mainly because I'm happy this one is pretty good!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

On the night we went to the Jasmine it was raining! Fancy that.. but the food in the Jasmine was lovely & the service was great. I was also given a little rose to take away with me.. one for the ladies, would recommend

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“An Eastern Jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Like most eating establishments on the main streets of this resort the Jasmine does not immediately stand out any more than its neighbours. On a street of Chinese 'souvenir tat' shops and other restaurants and bars it is mainly conspicuous by virtue of its two - almost obligatory for a Chinese restaurant - gold stylised lions standing guard either side of the menu board. There were tables in front in the open air where you could smoke, and more in the air-conditioned interior.
Having been in Playa Blanca for almost two weeks and utterly sick of the average fare served up in our distinctly average 3* (yeah, right) hotel we had taken to eating out.
The staff were friendly and not as pushy as many other Canarians, who - let's face it - are battling for a share of a dwindling market.
We ordered two portions of prawn crackers, a mixed Jasmine platter, a vegetarian chow mein and (on the recommendation of the waiter) the crispy shredded beef with three delicacies fried rice.
I have eaten in Chinese restaurants all over the world, from Australia to Thailand and western Europe and have had some occasional poor experiences. I have previously been in a group of four who all wanted fried rice with their main dish and we were served a small bowl of rice between four of us, so I now tend to never order the same as anyone else in my company, and I am always wary that portion size can vary hugely.
Anyway, I needn't have worried. Each of the two plates of crackers would have been sufficient for the two of us and they were served with a bowl of warmed sweet honey/chilli/something sauce that we loved. The waiter kept an unobtrusive eye on us and made sure we wanted for nothing, drinks or food. Each course was served very timely and the entree of mixed starters was also a big portion for two people. Prawn toast, spring rolls, battered king prawns, crispy battered ribs, wantons etc. More of the lovely sauce, lemon infused finger bowl, cloth napkins.
My wife's main course was not off the menu, (nothing new there then!) she had wanted the vegetable chow mein but cooked Singapore style. The restaurant was happy to oblige and the resulting dish was very much to her satisfaction. My crispy shredded beef was a huge portion that I could not finish, the hree delicacies rice being the only thing that I was - ever so slightly - disappointed in, it being fried rice with some chopped ham and vegetable in it.
At the end of our meal we were given complimentary liqueur (in novelty glasses!) and my wife was given a little gift of an ornamental flower.
The whole bill was about €36 including two mixed drinks and two Tsing Tao beers and we left feeling that we'd had a good meal in a basic but nice place, with lovely staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A change from spanish cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went there as it was close to the hotel and we longed for some home cooking. Service was quick, and though the menu was squarely aimed at local/british tastes, they did make an effort on our behalf, being chinese as well. Best dish was the chinese bbq pork, sweet and savoury, great with plain rice or noodles.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasmine Chinese also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Jasmine Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasmine Chinese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.