We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Club Coral Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added VIK Club Coral Beach to your Saves list
VIK Club Coral Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Spent first 2 weeks of August in the Vik coral beach club. Had read plenty of reviews so was not expecting much of the place. Can't understand what most people were giving out about. This place is in a lovely quiet corner of Playa Blanca, away from the noise and madness of your typical holiday resort. We arrived at 9pm and the receptionist kept our bags whilst we went in to get dinner which was available until 9.30. Even at this late stage the food was hot and plentiful. After a good feed we were told where our bungalow was. The lighting going towards the bungalows was poor and the numbers were strangely on the side of the house where it could not be seen and not at the front door as you would expect. This is me only being picky but when you arrive late and it's dark this can be off putting. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and cannot fault the food throughout our stay. There was always something for everybody to eat and no shortage if you had the appetite. There was vegetables with every lunch and dinner, generally a rarity when you go abroad and a broad range of fruit available throughout the day. The bungalows were very spacious although not sound proofed very well, we had the pleasure of the randy french next door to us for a week that would wake the dead!! Cleaners attended most days and gave a basic clean, but not much more was needed as you ate out all the time. The animation boys kept you entertained well if you wanted but also left you alone when you wanted. None of their activities were ever so intrusive as to disturb others that just wanted to lie around the pool. We hired a car for a week from Autospluscar (€170 for a Skoda citigo) and had no trouble with them. No nasty excess surprises or wanting to take a guarantee deposit from your credit card. Could not really see the point of the Chillout bar other than the spectacular sunset. Seems a bit daft that it's not part of the all inclusive option. There was an issue with no water for a few hours over three days which guests should have had better information about, however when the drinks machine was not working the bar provided cans instead. The staff were always polite throughout the hotel and treated you as a guest, none of this hateful false "I'm going to be your best friend" rubbish.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsMng, RRPP at VIK Club Coral Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for the time you took to write your comment; it’s a pleasure for us to have your feedback.

Your comment is really positive, thank you very much. We take it into account.
We are happy that you enjoyed your journey in our hotel, and that you liked Playa Blanca and the island.

We are sorry about the incident we had with the water, but know that it is now fixed.

It would be a pleasure to see you if you want to come back !

Best regards,
Manon Tournant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    303
    152
    53
    39
See reviews for
266
334
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit worried but as soon as we walked in to the reception we was greeted by the receptionist who was really friendly and welcoming. The 2 bedroom bungalow we was allocated was great and really spacious although we were not lucky enough to have a sea view. The food was excellent :-) This is the first holiday we have every had where we have not had a mad rush and silly hour in the morning to get a sunbed or queue at meal times. If i summed the holiday up in one word it would be 'relaxing' Playa Blanca town was about an hour walk or only 5 euros in a taxi or there was a free shuttle bus 3 days a week. The entertainment team (Luke and Jhoan) did an excellent job with what resources they had keeping everyone occupied with activities. We did hear a few moans whilst on holiday but all said and done abroad do not have standards we have at home (our bedroom door handle came off first night - we laughed and left it as this was not a necessity and didn't need to lock the door). If you need a local shop then there are a row of shops 5 mins walk across a gravel/dirt track which also has pubs/restaurants as well. We had a fab relaxing time :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsMng, RRPP at VIK Club Coral Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this wonderfull review. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your journey in the Vik Club Coral Beach.

Thanks again for the time you took to write this positive comment, it is a pleasure to read it and it makes all the Staff really happy.

We all hope to see you again, don't hesitate to contact us if you want to come back.

Best regards,
Manon Tournant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed end of May beginning of July for 7 days arriving by coach transfer just in time to catch dinner, the friendly receptionist quickly checking us in and getting us to the restaurant before it shut for the night, good start.
After finding our bearings and realising we were basically at the end of the resort we decided we would do plenty of walking and enjoy the coastal walks to the town, Playa Blanca, a good 40min walk away. There was a hospitality coach which went a few times a week back and forth to the town and taxis were only about 5 Euros.
The Hotel complex layout was well set out with the swimming pool, which had been out of service the previous week due to a leakage problem, now back in business with organised pool games / sports by the animation person.
The accommodation was of a decent size,clean and the two bedrooms ideal with a nice little patio area, which doubled up as a wind break because at times it was very windy around the pool. The restaurant food was generally very tasty, especially the Paella dishes and the waitresses / waiters were certainly the most friendliest we've encountered over the years.
In fact, a big thank you to all the staff who worked at this local family run hotel from the cleaners right up to the Manager who made our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsMng, RRPP at VIK Club Coral Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Jeff,

we are happy hearing from you and thank you for your comment, especially about the staff ! It's an honor for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, what was our priority.

Indeed as you mentioned it, the swimming pool was renovated and is now in service, and Adrian, our lifeguard is organizing pool game with the entertainment team. We are also improving the quality and diversity of the food, doing special days. (Paella, barbecue..)

It would be a pleasure to see you in a future so please don't hesitate to contact us directly if you want to come back !

Best regards,
Manon Tournant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We booked here because I couldn't find anywhere else that had two bedrooms within or price range. We took our 2 year old. She had fun but it was off season and the pool was freezing. We asked management about this as it was supposed to be heated but they just huffed and made excuses. It never did get heated during our stay.
Food average. No worse than you'd expect from a small all inclusive hotel. There is a little 2 ring hob suitable for heating things up if you want. The fridge was handy for us as our daughter needed breakfast before the restaurant opened so we bought milk and cereal from town. No cooking utensils or pans provided though so don't expect to be able to cook a meal.
I'd advise hiring a car. The drive from the airport is easy and the hotel is in a very quiet area with nothing much apart from private villas and a bar and a few small shops. We drove into town every day to go to the shops and beach.

Great value if you

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsMng, RRPP at VIK Club Coral Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Zoe,

First of all, thank you for giving us your feedback.

we are happy that you liked your stay with us and Playa Blanca !

We are improving step by step our all inclusive offer so we hope to see in the future and you will enjoy it too! Indeed the hotel is situated in a quiet zone, what can be a positive point for families.

Don't hesitate to contact us and thank you for your comment.

Best regards,
Manon Tournant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I agree with Irene M comments, Hard working, smiling staff, Villas were nice, food was good, as expected for the star rating. Rock pooling after a short climb was amazing and the island as a whole is great. Would recommend Rancho Texas, especially if you have children. the Southern Tour visiting he volcanoes was incredibly interesting.
BUT... WE ARRIVED FROM THE AIRPORT TO NO VILLA, WE WERE SHIPPED OF TO ANOTHER HOTEL FOR THE NIGHT, THEN TAXIED BACK THE NEXT DAY....WE LOST A DAY OF OUR HOLIDAY. WE KNOW OF SEVEN OTHER FAMILIES IN THE TEN DAYS WE WERE THER THAT HAD THE SAME EXPERIENCE OF CORAL BEACH.
DURING THE LAST 3 DAYS AT CORAL BEACH.......THERE WAS NO WATER FOR SEVERAL HOURS EACH DAY....WITH NO WARNING...DIFFICULT TO BE CLEAN AFTER THE TOILET ETC....
A real real shame about the negative because in all we had a great time, had it not been for the water issue and the OVERBOOKING, they would have got 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsMng, RRPP at VIK Club Coral Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about a discomfort during your stay in our hotel. Note that we really appreciate your feedback and take into account your comments.

Thank you for your comments about the staff, they work a lot and are motivated to improve the service of the hotel. We are also pleased to know that you appreciated our facilities and the villa.

Please, know that we are really sorry about the problem you had with the villa. We had a water problem, the reason why you had to go to another hotel for the first night. This problem had repercussions on others days, the reason why there was no water. We can confirm you that the problem is now fixed and that everything is perfectly working.

We hope to see you in the future as a guest!

Best regards,
Manon Tournant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed for 10 days here in July and there are many positives about this complex a few little niggles but first the positives.

Accommodation
spotless and large the idea of your own villa is good you are actually attached to another and the smaller twin bedroom has no sound insulation so you can here everything next door not a show stopper. the private villas with pools looked good but across the road from the complex makes them too far away IMHO
Entertainment
Joan the guy who does the animation team is a gem of a guy not too pushy but a real enthusiastic and fun guy an absolute asset to the complex and made the holiday so much more enjoyable.
Food
its not the Ritz but the food is good and honest with a small selection to eat i never went hungry it is similar to all hotels but its clean and edible.
Size
This is a real plus this is a small complex perhaps only 250-300 guests staying and that is good as you get to see the same faces and it creates a nice atmosphere in the place i would say that is a strong point for me.

Bad
evening entertainment is not great Joan tries hard but the bar is too small has no air-con and is not fit for purpose invest in a larger area with better entertainment and you are onto a winner.

Select Staff
The staff that work in the restaurant and Bars are incredibly obliging and helpful with a smile on their face and always willing to help the reception staff in my experience less so. I asked for additional pillows only to be told the hotel had no spare (really????). On checkout I asked for a shower room to be told its full so no shower room was provided but i could extend my room for 50 euros for the 2 hours i needed. I didn't have to thankfully as some friends we met let us use their room and i accept that its not mandatory but its the little things.

so in summary this complex has a lot going for it yes its a 5 euro taxi ride out of playa blanca but my view is you can always find noise its much more difficult to find peace and quiet and that makes it a winner. The staff are in part excellent but the reception staff are unaccommodating and not prepared to deviate from script. The beds are like a rock but my wife thought they were great so again not a show stopper but my advice to the management team if you read this is look after the little things that make a difference to a holiday and ultimately a guest returning so:

Buy more pillows
always make sure there is a shower room
improve the entertainment venue and quality

if you work on the above the rest is there and this will move to a "we might go back" to a "would go back"

Room Tip: all the rooms are great if a sea view rocks your boat go for it i am not sure its worth the addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsMng, RRPP at VIK Club Coral Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear guest,

first of all thank you for the time you took to write your comment. That's thanks to opinions that we can improve our hotel.

Indeed, the private villas are not into the complex, there are situated just in front of it, at 5 minutes walking.

Concerning entertainment Joan is full of energy and is going to do more and more new activities, this year we had new facilities as pétanque, a new mini club, water-polo.

Thank you for your comments about the food and the complex, as you said as it is a small hotel we have the chance to have a direct contact with our guest

We are sorry that we couldn't offer you a shower room as the hotel was full, we can't always guaranty it, the reason why there is an extra if guests want to stay more time.

Again, thank you for your comments and your suggestions, we will do the best to improve it !

Best regards,
Manon Tournant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent a fantastic week here. Staff work hard especially 'animacion' guys Luke and Johan. No pressure to get involved in activities but something to do if you want to. Food a little repetitive but we never went hungry. Used courtesy bus to go to Playa Blanca beach which was lovely but a bit too busy for us. Our kids 12, 10 and 7 much preferred the pool (special mention to the male pool lifeguard with the long hair who was there, don't know his name but he worked solid whether cleaning tables, picking up cups, swimming lessons with kids etc). Only downside for me was no sandy beach at hotel but all in all a brilliant place. Met some lovely people and had a super week.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsMng, RRPP at VIK Club Coral Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Irene,

First of all thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

We are proud to know that you enjoyed your journey with us and that you liked the food. Thank you for your comment about Johan, Luke and Adrian (the lifeguard), we are going to communicate it.

It's a pleasure to know that your family and you keep a good memory about the Vik Club Coral Beach !

Best regards,
Manon Tournant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VIK Club Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Club Coral Beach

Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Club Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your VIK Club Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Club Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Club Coral Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.