We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex mex at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina Mejicana

La Cantina Mejicana
C/Limones 53 | Sweet Corner Bay, Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 164 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is in the main pedestrian and shopping area of Playa Blanca, the Zona Peatonal Los Limones which runs parallel to the seaside promendade and harbour
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tex mex at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We walked up and down the shopping area, and were really glad we decided to stop at la cantina mejicana, it was a fantastic evening, food was excellent, service was second to none, even have the customary photo with sombrero on... The evening finished with a round of complimentary tequila shots and desert wine, we walked off (wobbled) to find a taxi home..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I can't see why people have given this place a bad review. Me and my wife ate in here and thought it was really good food!! I had pizza which was very tasty and my wife had steak which was very tender and had no fat or gristle in it and she said it has been years since she had a steak that good!!! Service is fast and efficient!! Staff very friendly. Only eaten here once but will be going back in a few day!!! A++++++++

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great views across the harbour, excellent food and fantastic service. Ate here twice during a 7 day stay, can not say more than that other than dont come here unless you are hungry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“View is beautiful but the food is no comparison!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If this place wants to advertise itself as a "mexican" restaurant, they might want to add some spices to the food. The service was great, location is good and the view is nice. I was hoping to smoke on the terrace but it was forbidden. My spouse had a " steak" and i went for spaghetti. Both were just okay but they lacked taste. I would not go again. Still I have to say that if they put an effort in it they just might have a decent restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“not up to standards for Mexican food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The views and service at this restaurant are OK but the food is a disappointment. The fajitas for example, don't come on the sizzling plate you might expect and consisted of a mediocre assortment of chicken, carrot and onion with 3 small basic shop bought wraps. The vegetable burrito was edible but included Brussel sprouts, carrots and onion as well as (and I could not decide which it was) turnip, pumpkin or pineapple?! but whichever, it did not 'go' with the dish and was clearly left over veg from xmas dinner type meals or overfill of stock as opposed to the expected peppers, mushrooms etc normally expected in these dishes. If you want good Mexican food, head into Matagorda CC (there is a small Mexican but make sure its open) or Emmas' Cantina in Puerto del Carmen where home made Mexican dishes are served.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina Mejicana also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Cantina Mejicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina Mejicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.