We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina de Colacho

La Cocina de Colacho
Calle La Destiladera | Castillo de Aguila, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
928519691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 164 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

In a town with a good number of excellent restaurants La Cocina de Colacho still manages to really stand out. There is of course a premium for food of this quality but we thought it well worth it. The strikingly modern architecture and decoration of the restaurant is tasteful and creates an atmosphere that is both sophisticated and charmingly intimate. The owners are great hosts who made us feel truly welcome. Our only disappointment was that we were not able to have the tasting menu as that needs to be ordered in advance. We hope to be able to go back and sample that sometime!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    35
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We thought the cost of a meal here was vastly overpriced. The food was nice but nothing exceptional and certainly not worth the price. The service was pleasant enough. If money is not issue then you may enjoy it here but certainly not if you are on any type of budget

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Small place bu great food, very well decorated and owners are a really good company, we had the best meat in a long time. Worth a dinner, but need to ask reception when they open, as not allways on.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Expensive average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The tasting menu is overpriced and nothing to be impressed. Went here following the TA reviews, but I could say that the place is very overrated. I had better tasting menu in Aromas Yaiza , dinning atmosphere is poor. Food is well presented but tasteless . Not on my recommendations list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Top class dining experience for two foodies. Highly recommend this place. Great service also and very accommodating when we brought baby along.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Colacho also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Cocina de Colacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina de Colacho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.