We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tipico Canario Restaurant

Tipico Canario Restaurant
Avenida Maritima, 36, Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
(+34) 928 519 137
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 159 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We are very fussy about the taste of our steak - this restaurant delivered! We went 4 times in our one week stay - atlhough we had said we would try others we kept returning. The waiting staff were very friendly and our meat was cooked as we had requested. Location is great and good to walk back to Marina Rubicon. We have tried restaurants in the marina over the years and they are a little overpriced compared to this one for quality, although I would not criticise them as they are still good. Baked potatoes are good too in this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    85
    35
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We ate here twive on our week long holiday, at first we went there due to the waiter who remembered us from last year (even though he worked at another restaurant), which was such a lovely touch. The setting is lovely and the restaurant is always busy. All food and wine was very reasonably priced, especially when you consider you get "all" your meal and dont have to order extras/sides as you so often have to at home.
The mussels in marinara sauce as a starter were just amazing, very succulent and the sause was exactly as I like it, to be honest I could have just eaten them all night, I had these as a starter both nights, and on our last night got an extra large portion (thank you). I like to try different things so asked for a recommend. I had the rabbit stew and it was just delicious, the sauce was lush and although small pieces(obviously) the rabbit meat was lovely and plenty of it. It came with canarian potatoes and veg, I would definitely have this meal again. My husband had the liver to start and this was also very tasty indeed.
The second time we ate there we both had a steak medium rare and again this was delicious (my husband got the wrong steak to start with but this was soon rectified) and cooked very well indeed, again canarian potatoes, veg etc.
You get a lovely honey rum to finnish your meal. The wine was reasonably priced also for a decent red.
Happy days, we will be eating there again next year (fingers crossed).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An excellent barbecue grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A very busy restaurant on the front with views across to Fuerteventura.
The barbecue grill is excellent with the chef on view and all the meat in a cold cabinet .
We started with grilled prawns in garlic with chillies and prawns/mushrooms in garlic with chillies between 3 people.
Followed by rabbit on the barbecue grill for 2 and a very large , juicy rare fillet steak - all very good and even some reasonably nice vegetables.
We had a bottle of red Bermejos which was excellent with the meat.
Friendly helpful service and very reasonably priced.
We have eaten here before and would say the barbecue grill is excellent but with a large menu some of the other items are not as good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great portions and great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is better value for money than any we have tried.. Especially on the front. The staff were great with the kids. The portions are very generous and very tasty. So far best was the young bull chop which was scarcely big and cooked to perfection. Eaten there 4 times this holiday as others disappointed. Will be back before we leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices and lovely view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have walked passed this restaurant many times over the last few years, I don't know why we have not ventured in before but on a whim we decided to go for lunch. What a wee gem of a place. The salads were plentiful and the Canadian potatoes were delicious and the three mojo sauces very tasty. The French omelette was the best according to my daughter who polished it of quickly and the hamburger and chips were also very good. For the meal and drinks we were €30 which is fantastic value and somewhere we will undoubtedly be returning to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipico Canario Restaurant also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Tipico Canario Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipico Canario Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.