We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hipotels Natura Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hipotels Natura Palace to your Saves list
Hipotels Natura Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“first time stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, the size of the place particularly the reception area is very impressive. Food excellent quality and varied, 'Theme' nights also included during the week.
The price and set up is really for the well off retired, you won't see many kids there which to some is a plus, even like me who has a 8 year old. If you can afford it go for a room upgrade for a true sea view. some rooms on the side that advertise in the brochure 'sea view', yes if you lean out with a mirror on a stick. I went with Thompsons and had the same problem with a hotel in Menorca, Sol Gavilanes, you'd think the Tour Operators would find out the detail of your accommodation instead of just putting Restricted view in the info.

Safe deposit box's are not standard in the room as you'd expect for a 4 star, I have an issue with my wife's wedding and engagements ring missing as it was either put in a draw or she's 'mislaid' it but all the same if you have to take you valuables to the Reception Area safety deposit box every time you take them off it becomes a bit ridiculous.

Location, about 45 minutes at a stroll, there's a very good beach about 15 minutes stroll. Pool area good, separate fresh and salt water but bloody freezing. at least you wont bump into anyone.

I think I'd echo other reviewers comments regarding the rooms, they were clean but a little tired.

Plenty of car hire in the area again a short walk along the prom. If you have kids and transport save your money, don't go to the water park about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, 20 Euros an adult !!. go to the Texas Ranch zoo, really good bird, sea lion and parrot displays, excellent conditions for the wide variety of animals (for a zoo) and a very good swimming area for kids and adult, all for 13 Euros. highly recommend.

Room Tip: make sure you have a true sea view, our room 2204 had a spectacular view. I went for room upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    421
    75
    28
    9
See reviews for
290
848
34
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for a fortnight in July 2012 with the girlfriend both in early 20's, First impressions were excellent, we had a good room (fairly aged) with good balcony view looking over the pool on the 2nd floor. Which was all clean, we did find a couple of cockroaches however near the entertainment room and told staff who cleaned them straight away, we didnt see any after that. however air conditioning was fairly noisy but didnt particularly bother us. we were looking for a holiday that offered a relaxing time.check. but also plenty to do outside and inside the hotel which left us fairly dissapointed. Rooms could do with a lick of paint. House cat's are friendly and offered great entertainment by the pool when chasing lizards.

First impressions of the food were good and staff were all freindly, However as time went on we found the themed nights i.e italian, chinese in the restaurant were pretty tame and not exactly themed at all. With one pizza one offer for italian and and some noodles for chinese, other then that food was average and was the same thing pretty much every morning/night, same bread was put out ni the mornings and evenings and could get pretty stale. We had to venture to nearby restaurants and further in order to explore and for something different, the italian restaurant nearby was very good. Whenever we ventured into playa blanca in the evening it was buzzing with people however offered very little in the way of entertainment. Taxis were cheap and very easy to get hold of.

Entertainment at the the hotel was pretty poor and very cringe, with older couples forced to sing awkwardly by the acts i.e michael jackson tribute/motown, funny for us mind.
We did venture on a couple of excursions these were the timanfaya trip which was okay but didnt offer value for money, the other was the catlanza trip that did however offer value for money and was a real highlight of the holiday, although i would advertise this trip to the older couples as it can be a bumpy and slippery ride, the staff on that trip were spot on and earned every bit of money they were being paid.
We also ventured to papagayo beaches which was a bit of a taxi ride but well worth it, seemed to offer higher temperatures and less wind then when sunbathing by the pool.

The weather was hot however got pretty chilly in the evenings, which made sleeping comfortable. There was always a wind in the day but this isnt the hotels fault and was expected upon researching lanzarote.

The staff as i say at the restaurant and reception were excellent and never rude, cleaners were also freindly. Nearing the end of our holiday we filled in a survey on the hotel, we explained the entertainment and themed nights/bread situation on the survey, Too our suprise management called our room the next day and when we went down to dinner and breakfast the bread was always fresh! however we only had 2 days left, they also said they would look into improving the entertainment.

The hotel offers a relaxing time and i definitely recommend this hotel to the older couple, 2 weeks seemed a long time here for us mind as it got pretty tedious near the end, 10 days would have probably been more suitable. Hotel was good but wasnt really a mix of age, it was just older people hoever if u want to get away from kids running about shouting then this hotel is perfect as they are pretty much non-existant. We had a good time overall however the hotel was just good.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking pool! 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A sea of... grey heads, mostly speaking German, seemed to be the norm in this hotel. It was obvious that many make return visits year on year - and who would blame them? Such a peaceful location that, should you wake in the night, you may worry that you are the only one left!
There were families too, English, well behaved, who were enthusiastically greeted by the children's staff. But it really is a grown-ups sort of hotel by comparison to others in the resort.
The entertainment is adequate for an after dinner activity, but no one dances beyond eleven o'clock. That said the rest of the resort is only half an hour's walk away.
If you want noise and bustle stay nearer the centre, but peace, lovely surroundings, bracing walks along the coast, excellent service & food are all here, if that's for you.
Many have commented on their irritation with people saving sun beds with their towel - save your blood pressure and pity them, why, when there are so many beds all in equally good locations would anyone think it a good idea in the first place?! And if you are someone who thinks it is a good plan, think again, take a chance & sit somewhere different if 1st choice has gone - you won't
regret it & you won't irritate your fellow guests by appearing selfish.
Apart from management getting on with small repair jobs like missing tiles in jacuzzi, widening reach of wifi beyond Reception, putting safes in rooms & not treating beach towels as some amazing luxury needing a hefty deposit and changeable only twice or three times a week(!), this hotel could easily achieve 5* status. The staff are certainly up to it and the food, which is incredibly varied (self serve) too.

Room Tip: All very attractive, with flowing geraniums above the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Natura Palace is beautifully decorated but tired and rather dark hotel with a rather mean approach to its guests. No welcome fruit drink here, no map of the hotel, information about the facilities and "whats on" is hard to come by. No hotel information in the rooms, just a very superficial A4 page with a few bits of information. Nothing about safety deposit boxes not being in the room or that the hotel charges you for the privileged of using them. Towels need to be collected from reception and a deposit paid. Clean towels are available every three days as long as they are returned dry to reception and your deposit refunded when they are returned. No coffee and tea facilities in the rooms. This hotel has not discovered the joys of surprise and
delight. Although Reception rang and asked why I had given them such a low score on my feedback form they were not interested n changing any policy.

The Gym facilities were very poor, with one running machine, one very poor quality cross trainer and a couple of weight machines. Weights were all too heavy to use and no mats or balls or any instruction available, on inquiry I was told it was half a gym, I don't know who has the other half and I don't remember reading that on the website. In fact I think half is an over estimation, more like a third. This facility was inadequate at best,as were the exercise classes. The Pilates were held on the wet grass in the morning on a slope and when I inquired about water aerobics I was told that this is only in the Summer months.

That said all the credit does go to the restaurant, the variety and consistently good quality of the food was excellent. From canapes to excellent home made soups, selections of meat and fish, chips for the less adventurous, I was impressed and had no need to eat else where all week. They provide a different theme each evening and have enough variety to suit I believe the fussiest eaters include puddings. The waiters are great and very keen to accommodate.

I enjoyed the entertainment, I think if you have children the staff are great and we enjoyed watching the children get up in the evening and do dances and chanting rhymes before the adults entertainment each evening. Tribute acts for the platters and the Beatles were great and I enjoyed the bingo and quiz night.

Pool facilities are attractive and lots of loungers for everybody so no early morning towel trip needed. Its a shame that waiters are not on hand to entice you to more driks. I personally think that the towel boys would pay for themselves in drinks purchased if they offered this service around the pool. The hotel manager was absent during the week and I think this hotel needs a rethink from management.

Its a lovely quiet hotel with guests from all over the world and access to a lovely walk and cycle path along the coast. Disabled guests seem to have many facilities which is great to see including a hoist for the pool if you can brave the cold water.

I am still undecided as to whether I would recommend this hotel or return myself, the rooms are basic and air conditioning inadequate in hot weather and I do love the gym while I am on holiday but maybe the restaurant and location might just pull me back, unsure.

Room Tip: We had a great east facing balcony view over the pool but I think some of the sea facing rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Hipotels Natura Palace in early April. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff especially the Head Waiter and his team of Waiters were friendly, efficient and helpful - although on the first evening we just arrived in time for dinner and our waiter was not very welcoming which was a bit off putting. The food was excellent with a good selection of delicious choices. I would have enjoyed an outdoor restaurant area for breakfast/dinner which is always enjoyable in warmer climates. The outdoor bar/lunch and snack area was excellent with a good choice of menu.
The sunbathing/pool area, overlooking the sea, was very clean and tidy, lovely flowers, lots of palm trees and plenty of sun beds but the pools could have been a little warmer. The bar area in the beautiful reception could have been improved with access to the outside balcony for sitting under the stars on warm evenings.
The rooms were very good, spacious with lots of storage and very quiet.
The ladies who cleaned the rooms were very hard working and efficient, rooms were spotless. This was our first visit but we will definitely return - a lovely hotel in a good position. It was a very good holiday.

Room Tip: We emailed ahead and asked for a high room with a sea view and although we were on the side of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Absolutely ideal for a family week away for sunshine, good food, good facilities, nice location - walking distance to beachside restaurants. A spacious, clean, modern and well maintained hotel.
We had the bonus of using all the facilities and half board meals ( breakfast and dinners for all 7 days) but saved on the holiday by staying in the apartments in the grounds rather than a hotel room.
Apartments definitely meet the 3 star advertised rating and are well used self catering apartments - so not as glamorous as the hotel but they are very clean and spacious with a living room with TV, kitchen ( crockery, cutlery, oven and hob), large patio with garden table and chairs for four, bathroom and bedroom. Our children aged 8 and 12 slept on the 2 large, convertible individual sofa beds in the living room and loved it! The saving was substantial for our family of four and enabled us to use it on a hiring a car, excursions and lunches.

Room Tip: Consider an apartment in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth Mid Wales
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for a week in March to get some Winter Sun but the weather wasn't great which may in some respects affect the rating for the hotel slightly but I'll be as subjective as I can.

This was our first visit to Playa Blanca and Lanzarote and I don't think we'll be coming back in a hurry although we did hire a car for two days which was a Godsend and we were able to visit the best parts of the island namely, Teguise ( not to be mistaken with Costa Teguise which was a ghost-town ) Haria and El Golfo.

Firstly we found the hotel to be aimed at older couples which we knew anyway but were still surprised at the percentage of older guests - maybe 90% over 55 and a mixture of British, Germanic and Scandinavian. The hotel room was unmodernised and quite rough around the edges but the bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage. The bathroom was large and the bedroom as well. I think that nearly all rooms have some sort of sea view but we made no use of our balcony due to the hit and miss weather and wind - Lanzarote was a very windy island !!

The pool area was spacious with plenty of beds and shade although very frustratingly the parasols were fixed to the ground meaning that you had to be careful when choosing your bed for the day! The pool area faces south meaning sun all day but being on the sea front there was a cool breeze all day which would be great in hot weather but no good in the winter months. Both pools were very cold ? I'd question he thermostat setting if indeed the pool was heated at all.

I found the half board option to be mixed. The food was reasonable but repetitive. Breakfasts were good and the staff attentive.

This hotel was reasonable although some of the reviews paint a paradise image which it's not. I cannot give it 4/5 as this would suggest that the hotel was very good which I feel is not merited.

Hope you have a great holiday !

Room Tip: Email the hotel and ask for a specific room number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hipotels Natura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Natura Palace

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Natura Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Hipotels Natura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Natura Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
Hipotels Natura Palace Playa Blanca
Hipotels Natura Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hipotels Natura Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.