We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic weeks holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Gran Castillo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Gran Castillo Resort to your Saves list
Dream Gran Castillo Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
5% de descuento
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic weeks holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Six of us have just returned from this hotel,and found it to be an excellent place to stay,the food was great,the staff could not do enough for us,the entertainment for an all inclusive was the best I have seen,we spent our pool time in a adult only area,the drinks are all branded names,
The rooms had separate shower and toilet,bathrobes and slippers were supplied beds were huge as was the room itself,
It did get breezy at night so I would recommend a jumper/cardigan if you want to sit out at night,
I will always moan about the men having to wear long trousers for dinner,as the ladies can wear shorts etc,but that is just me,
But overall this is a place I would not hesitate to return to

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Z5168RAdavid,
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We truly appreciate your words about the good quality and variety of food, our friendly staff and our fantastic entertainment. It is great to know that you enjoyed the different drinks that we offer in our pool area bar. Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. We always try that our guests will comply the dress code for dinner, trying to avoid inappropriate clothing, but we are sorry that you thought it was not the right thing. It is wonderful to hear that you would repeat your holidays with us. For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,885
    1,014
    376
    138
    51
See reviews for
1,553
1,366
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I have literally just come back fro this place. It's amazing I've been to many all inclusive hotels and found them very stingy and reserved. This one if amazing the staff are so unbelievably fantastic. Always friendly and always have a smile on there face always trying to get u to join in just to Brighton your day that little but more and u can have a laugh with them they are employed to just muck about with you it's fantastic. This is the first time I've been there and will most defiantly recommend and go again my self. Also the entertainment at night from the staff is great. I feel abit sorry for them as we all depend on them and they do very long shifts but wveryone I spoke to say it's more of a home, family, hobby than a job so it shows that not only does this Hoyle treat u to luxury but for once a brand, company that looks after there staff and my god does it show. I love this place. I made friends with a staff member and she has nothing bad to say about the hotel witch talking to them on a personally level shows that it's a great place if even the staff can't find faults. Please please please go people I can assure you will not regret it. Maybe I'll see you there as I think I will become a regular especially as maybe a 3 week break before I deal with the stresses of travelling :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Alfonso0192,
We from Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your comment about our staff, they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. Our guests must be able to spend a wonderful holiday in our hotel, that’s why nothing is too much trouble for the staff and we appreciate you mentioning it. If you want to have some fun during your holiday, just join in one of the activities offered by our animation team or relax during the wonderful evening entertainment they put on at night. They are working really hard so our guests are entertained and can enjoy their stay. Thank you very much for recommending us. We are very happy to hear that you thought our hotel was fantastic and we certainly hope you will come back to our hotel again soon. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went from 28/6 to 5/6 and loved it. Most people were here with families and we were a group of friends, but this didn't bother us as we wanted to relax. The staff were completely amazing- the bar staff were happy to learn how to make our favorite cocktails and by the end of the holiday they prepared them for us without us having to ask. The chef Christian was cheerful, chatty and his food excellent and Angel (manager) upgraded us to a junior suite when repair work was carried out on the pool adjacent to our room. We would all happily return here and other reviews about too many children are not accurate as there is an adults only pool. I thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Choose sea view as pool view can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sophie D,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
You are mentioning how good our staff is, it's wonderful for us, since they all do their absolute best each day. Our bar service always try to satisfy our guests needs, so we are glad to know that you enjoy the cocktails. Thank you for mentioning our chef Christian and our reception manager Angel, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. We hope you will return to our fantastic hotel soon and thank you very much for recommending our hotel too. For your next stay with us, we offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great five star all inclusive hotel, which we got for a really good price too. The staff are the nicest I've ever come across and can't do enough for you. Unlike many all inclusives most of the spirits on offer are premium brands. Only downside for us was it is a bit of a families place, but if the kids get a bit much there's an adults only pool which is quiet. Nice spa, which you get to use once during your stay for free. Plentiful car parking round the side if you've got a hire car, as we did. Great food in both the buffet restaurant and Italian and Chinese restaurants. Best bit was our room, which was palatial and came complete with walk in wardrobe, lounge area, fridge, massive bathroom and balcony with sea view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear dan_fleet_UK,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
Your words about our staff make us really happy as they all do their absolute best each day for our guests to be left without wishes. There are 11 pools in our hotel so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. We appreciate your comments about our relaxing Spa and the parking facilities around the hotel. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants. Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. We hope to welcome you back again soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed from 5th- 12th June. Both in our 20’s
We booked our stay at Dream Gran Castillo through sunshine.co.uk which was recommended to us by friends and I have to say they are by far the cheapest website I have found. Easy, clear and quick website to use and also sorted out transfers through them.
Check in was quick and professional. We were greeted by very friendly staff who gave us as much info as possible of the resort and we also got upgraded to a Sea view room at no extra cost.
We had room 5261 which was in the main castle.
The room was lovely, very spacious with amazing views. The bathroom was very large with a walk in shower and nice deep bath. The room was cleaned daily by the friendly maids who always had a smile on their faces. The beds were extremely comfy and there was also a safe to use (free of charge) in the walk in wardrobe. The rooms also have fridges and hair-dryers.
The resort was a lot larger than we thought it would be which was great for getting sunbeds at different locations throughout the week which made you feel like you was at a different place every day. There is numerous pools to select from, some heated - great for families or couples. The adult pool is nice if you want a quiet day sunbathing; only downfall is the bar was not operating during our stay.
The food was great. The main restaurant had many different varieties to select from daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Italian restaurant was also lovely!
Our favourite restaurant was the oriental, quick service, plenty of drink and the food was fantastic.
The main pool bar is great for getting a light snack in-between meals if needed and again lovely views over the pool to enjoy whilst having your snacks & drinks.
All the staff at Dream Gran Castillo was brilliant, they could not help you enough and served you as quickly as they could. The animation team was great, always made time to stop and talk to you to tell you what was going on that night.
The location of the resort is perfect; It is situated directly by the sea which you just walk out the gates to. The marina is about 10-15mins walk around the bay which is nice to take a stroll to, it also has a Market on selected days.
We hardly left the resort as it was so lovely, so we cannot comment much about things to do locally, but the day we did go out to the town was nice, we had a look around the shops and had some drinks at the main harbour. The taxi to and from the town was about 8euros so very cheap.
We made some lovely friends at the resort and it was nice to all meet in the evenings at the main bar for drinks before dinner.
We went all inclusive which I would recommend as it is great value for money for the amount of food and (branded) drinks you can have.
Weather was great, windy but that helps with tanning lol
This resort is definitely 5*

Room Tip: Request a sea view room on the higher floors of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sky H,
We truly appreciate your wonderful comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. As you mentioned our rooms are very spacious and provide everything our guests need during their stay and we are glad that you found them immaculate and very clean. Our guests can discover our 11 pools and since there is also a children's pool every client can choose their favorite one. We are proud to read that you found our food excellent, because only the best quality is accepted in our buffets and restaurants, where the guests can sample the best of the local and international cuisine. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the different drinks and snacks that we offer in our pool area bar. Our clients should be able to spend a perfect holiday and therefore nothing is too much trouble for us. During the day our animation team offers many different activities and at night they put on a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca with the Papagayo beaches and the Rubicon Marina within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel and some nice shops in the area nearby. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

After reading all the reviews we decided that this hotel looked perfect for us. Unfortunately it wasn't. It was not all negative the food was great the staff were great and so were the rooms. The problem we had with the hotel was that - A we didn't think it was worth a 5 star rating B . It was more a 4 star FAMILY HOTEL! C. There was nowhere where couples without children could have a quiet drink. Admittedly the pool bar was quieter but there were too many bugs flying about. This wasn't just our opinion we met quite a few other couples who felt the same way. We are not anti children as we have our own plus 5 wonderful grandchildren but when we go on holiday we want to be able to have a conversation without other peoples children running loose without any control!
The Chinese restaurant was excellent although they could do with turning the lighting down a bit. The Italian restaurant was not as good my husbands first meal was overcooked which was sent back while all my vegetables were cold! Did not like it that the starters and desserts were buffet style. The dessert stand looked like a war zone!!
Would I recommend the hotel ? Yes if you are a family who wants everything on site. No if you are a couple who wants a quiet holiday with like minded people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sunlover493,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to read that you didn’t have a relaxing time during your week. There are 11 pools in our hotel, so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. We always try to offer different activities or facilities to do for both adults and children. For example, you can visit our Spa Vitanova and have a relaxing thermal circuit or a massage. We are sorry that you didn’t like the Italian restaurant so much, but it is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our restaurants. You are mentioning how great our staff and our rooms are, it's wonderful for us, since all our team do their absolute best each day to give the best service. We would like to encourage you to come back again to our hotel, so we could give you a second experience. For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for a week in April 2014. Rooms clean and spacious. Good choice of food with some high end ingredients, just a little let down due to the meals only ever being warm. Sun beds around the main pool crammed together so we tended to stay at the adults pool with no bar or entertainment. Location poor as there is no beach directly in front of the hotel and the nearest bars and restaurants are at Rubicon marina approx. 20 minutes walk away.

Nearest beach - 15 minute walk.

OK hotel but not for us. Will not return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear kilbyt007,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that you didn’t like the location of our hotel so much, but the beach is only 800m behind our hotel and therefore easy to reach. In addition, you can reach the Papagayo beaches within a few minutes walking distance and there are 11 pools in our hotel for our guests to discover. As you mentioned our rooms are very spacious and provide everything our guests need during their stay and we are glad that you found them very clean. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests. We hope you will give us one more chance so we can assure you of our great staff and treatment for loyal guests. On bookings of our loyal guests, which are made with us directly, we apply a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Gran Castillo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Gran Castillo Resort

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Business Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dream Gran Castillo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Dream Gran Castillo Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Gran Castillo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.