We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit...even better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Gran Castillo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Gran Castillo Resort to your Saves list
Dream Gran Castillo Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second Visit...even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My second visit to this hotel and it was better than the first, staff are friendly, rooms are big and have good facilities and the food is excellent.
Great location for Rubicon Marina and Playa Blanca although the beach is a bit rough.
I would definitely return and recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    1,091
    423
    146
    58
See reviews for
1,695
1,462
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We recently visited this hotel for a week's holiday. Our favourable first impressions from the warm welcome at reception were reinforced throughout the week by the friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. A special mention to the Restaurant manager and staff, Arturo and the entertainment team and the efficient and friendly bar staff. The hotel facilities are excellent, including the range and number of pools and surrounds; the terrace and seating areas; the various bars; the spa and our very spacious and well appointed bedroom with a fine sea view.

Stepping our from the hotel there is an excellent promenade along the coast for 15-20 mins walk to the Marina and a further 15-20 mins on to Playa Blanca town.

We were on an all inclusive package which we felt was extremely good value for money. The food is excellent both in terms of the wide choice of dishes available for breakfast,lunch and dinner and the quality is exceptional .We felt no need to venture out to eat. The drinks package includes branded drinks ( Gordons, Barcardi, JB whisky), the local beer is good and the local wines very acceptable. We were able to bring half of our hoilday money home as that provided in the all inclusive offer left little to spend our money on!

All in all we had a great week in a hotel with excellent facilities where the staff make you feel most welcome. We will return!

Tony and Joan Wildman

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view but ask anyway. Rooms in blocks e and f are the most central. with easy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Initualy I wasnt impressed with the island at all, it is all black volcanic rock, it isnt exactly beautiful, but, there are lovely little towns and all the shops barter prices you can get a good bargain, allot cheaper than the Hotel shop, nice little walks, very clean place, lovely little cafe's and restaurants everywhere,
The Hotel Dream Gran Torillo was fantastic, we were taken to our lovely room that had a lovely ensuite with shower and bath, double "his & Hers" sinks, lovely little vase with fresh flowers & there was a balcony facing the pool, we were celebrating our 8th anniversary and had a bottle of champagne compliments of the hotel. The hotel has a few pools only 2 are heated, I did mention this while I was there, as it was a shame we were laying next to a pool too cold to use, but the heated pools were ok. there is a gym with a bit of equipment that we both were able to use. rowing machine, Bikes, weights etc, we didnt use our spa tickets, but we were given a free spa day ticket as all guests are. THE FOOD was fantastic, the staff are lovely, I am vegetarian and I ALWAYS ate well at all meal times, the entertainment was great, the in house Animation team are really good, and up alongside the team at the Kadikale Resort and spa in Turkey, we loved this hotel, if you're planning a trip to Lanzarote I recommend this one, and if you have a celebration let them know ahead of your trip, I didn't like the island itself but glad I had the experience, lovely holiday, lovely little towns, shops and cafes! nice and peaceful hotel i give it a 5*

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear emmaxxxoooxxx,
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
The location of our hotel in the area of Playa Blanca, is perfect for those who want to spend a quiet holiday and still have some nice shops in the area nearby. Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. There are 11 pools in our hotel: 6 of them for adults (2 heated pools), 3 of them for children (1 heated pool with slides) and 2 Jacuzzis (they are heated too), so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. There are three different restaurants where our guests can enjoy the delicious meals each night. You are mentioning how great our staff is, it's wonderful for us, since they all do their absolute best each day. During the day our animation team offers many different activities and at night they put on a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces. We hope to welcome you back again soon. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our arrival was very hectic. We checked in and were taken to our room by a very professional porter called Ricardo who had only been working at the hotel for 5 days! We walked over the large complex till we reached our room. It was situated on the 5th floor and directly above the swimming pool. I will post photographs of the rooms faults. The size was not suitable for 3 adults and the balcony was only big enough for one. We complained and were transported by a golf buggy to view three rooms by the amazing Ricardo. When we found a satisfactory room, this room had an amazing sea view and was very spacious. You could have had a party on the balcony, it would have been nice to have got this room at the beginning as it was what we paid for and expected from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear JudgeLucy8,
We at Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that your first room was not spacious enough for you; you always will have the option to upgrade for a better room. We are glad to know that you were happy with the second room that our staff provided you. You also can send us an email about your wishes for a room, but unfortunately we are not able to guarantee them, because they depend on the availability in our hotel. We hope you will come to our hotel again, so we can have a second chance to assure you of our high standard. On bookings of our loyal guests, which are made with us directly, we apply a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am disabled, this hotel had a disabled friendly room on the ground floor, however, although the room was well adapted for the disabled, the choice of furniture should be reviewed, ie, the bedside tables were made from metal and glass, the lounge table is the same, in the hallway by the bathroom there is a huge mirror framed in wood, on a visit to the loo, my walking sticks slipped on the tiled floor and I fell against the mirror, which moved, I cut my ear and shoulder on the wooden frame. I reported this incident to reception the next morning voicing my concerns about the mirror etc, as this was on day 3 of our 14 day holiday I expected the items to be removed but when we checked out they were still there. All the staff were very polite and so helpful, in particular Christian the chef, this guy was extremely helpful and he is a fantastic chef too, the waiting staff, Kina, Anna and Mohammed were also very kind to us. The food was both plentiful and excellent quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Brian M,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry for the inconveniences with your room and we appreciate you mentioned it to our reception, so they could take care of your issues. The quality and the professionalism of our entire team are very important factors to Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts and we will make sure situations like this will not occur again. Thank you for mentioning our chef Christian and our waiters Kina, Anna and Mohammed, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants. We hope you will give us a second chance to welcome you back again soon. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived at the Dream Gran Castillo late in the evening to a friendly welcome and checked in smoothly. We were shown to our lovely rooms and went in to dinner to be amazed by the quality and choice of food available. The restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly and our meal was a welcome relaxing experience after our journey. The next day after breakfast (again great choice finest quality) we were able to take in the facilities available, the lovely grounds, the pools and the bars all immaculate and making it easy to access what we need when we needed it. We then had no trouble finding sun beds to relax and take in the sun.The resort fronts on to the beech and coast walk way which takes you to the beautiful Marina and on to Playa Blanca town with lovely views all the way. A fantastic week, great value, went by too quickly, will go again. ASAP.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good for appointment obviously with the great scenery the sea view rooms were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Nigel B,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests. You are telling how good our staff was, that is great for us, due to they always try to give the best service to our guests. We appreciate your comment about the cleanliness and calmness of our hotel. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca with the Papagayo beaches and the Rubicon Marina within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. We are very happy to hear that you would repeat your holidays with us. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just spent a week at Dream Gran Castillo with hubby. Lovely warm and welcoming reception staff. Lovely hotel. Brilliant staff. We had a suite with it's own balcony and this was marvellous. Shows every evening. Activities during the day. Several pool areas. Several bars. Huge foyer and comfy seating area. We tended to eat away from the main restaurant as it was full of kids, so opted to frequent the Oriental restaurant which was superb. Rather smaller and a more 'romantic' setting. There is also another restaurant that provides Italian food but this wasn't as nice. Not 'Italian' in any way really other than by serving pizza and pasta. No Italian music playing. No checked table cloths. No waiter/waitress coming round with the black pepper and parmesan cheese. In fact, it was actually more 'self service'. You had to get your own starter and pudding. The waitresses only served you the main course and the drinks. All rather strange! Anyway, apart from this, hubby and I had a wonderful week there. The weather was great. We were all inclusive and we had a nice room. What more could we ask for? Well, if I could improve on anything, I would look at having 'adult only' areas in the restaurant, in the bars and by the pools.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite and it was superb with it's own large private balcony with sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear welltravelled800,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for emphasizing how spacious and well equipped our rooms are. Our staff is working really hard so our guests are left without wishes during their stay and we appreciate you mentioning the fact. Our animation team works really hard so our guests can have a lot of fun during the aqua gym or other activities and at night they can watch the great shows. There are 11 pools in our hotel so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. We are sorry that you didn’t like the Italian restaurant so much. We hope you will stay with us again soon. For loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, we offer a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Gran Castillo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Gran Castillo Resort

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Dream Gran Castillo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Dream Gran Castillo Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Gran Castillo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.