We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Gran Castillo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Gran Castillo Resort to your Saves list
Dream Gran Castillo Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
5% de descuento
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lower Gornal, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel. No complaints, rooms and food excellent drinks even better. Very clean and comfortable. Adult entertainment is a little hit and miss but it didn't bother us as we were in very good company with other holidaymakers. The staff at this hotel are the best I have ever encountered. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to reception with a sea view, less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,885
    1,014
    376
    138
    51
See reviews for
1,553
1,366
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from a gorgeous 10 day break at the Dream Gran Castillo Resort. There were 5 of us in our group, my parents (late 40's), myself and my partner (mid 20's) and our 16 month old son. My parents came to the hotel last summer and couldn't recommend it enough, so we decided to have a family holiday there and i'm so glad we did.

Upon arrival at the hotel a porter was waiting and took all 5 of our suitcases straight up to our rooms and while we checked in we were given a class of Champagne each and my son a carton of juice.

You definitely get the wow factor as you walk into the hotel. You are given a map of where everything is which does take a while to get used to,

We were on the 3rd floor and were lucky enough to be given rooms next to each other. We had previously been upgraded to a superior room for booking so far in advance, however I had heard someone else say that they had paid 50euros each per night to be upgraded! Our room had a large dressing area, modern bathroom with separate bath shower and we were given bath robes and slippers we had a huge bed, my son had a travel cot, there was a sofa, arm chair and dressing table in the 'living area' and a huge enclosed balcony area with two chairs and a table. There was also a large flat screen TV which has a number of English channels including CH4 and ITV although this was only really on for background noise while we were getting ready. There is air conditioning in the rooms and a ceiling fan, a fridge and safety deposit box all free to use.

The pools are great, I couldn't even begin to count how many there are. We stayed by the main pool as in our opinion it was the nicest, however we went to the children's pools and the slide area a few times. These do tend to be noisier as the children's club is around there but would be ideal with families with children.

I've just read a comment about bad food and a tummy bug at the hotel?? This is news to me. We only returned from the hotel 3 days ago and I was never aware of anyone being ill. Perhaps they had heat stroke?

The food was the best I have ever had. At breakfast they have your usual cereals, toast, full English, fruit, croissants, cakes and the chief cooks pancakes, fried eggs and omlets by request. Lunch and tea are similar, there is always a roast meat being cared in front of you, salad, potatoes, vegetables, two different pastas with pasta sauces, chips, nuggets / fish fingers for the kids as well as fish being cooked and 2 types of meat while you wait. There was a wide variety of puddings and a chocolate fountain twice during our stay.

At breakfast time we filled up our sons bottle with milk and in the evening we just asked at the bar and they filled his bottle with milk for us.

We were allocated the early dinner slot where we could eat between 7pm and 8.30pm and this was great. You have the same table each evening and we always had a highchair waiting for our son.

The kids disco starts at 8.30pm which was normal as you would expect, there is pre-show entertainment at 9.15 where they have bingo, quizzes or parrot shows and then the evening entertainment starts at 10pm either the entertainment team performing mama mia or the lion king or outside acts. We cannot fault the entertainment team at all. During the day they do various activities which my partner and dad loved, and they all worked so hard. They all made a special fuss of our son which was lovely.

It's only a 25-30 minute walk to the marina straight along the costal path and a further 20 minutes into Playa Blanca where there is the big beach, bars, shops etc. We tended to walk there and get a taxi back for just 4 euros.

I really couldn't rate this hotel high enough and will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view superior room as they are gorgesou
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went here at xmas and new year 2012/13. We had an absolutely brilliant time. Didnt try the chinese as we heard the waiting time to be served was slow, the italian was very nice food just not much atmosphere in the restaurant.

Our room was huge and even asked for an extra bed as our kids never share and got what we asked for.

Entertainment was ok - mimed to musicals but was quite funny and the kids loved it. A special menton to Alex the kids entertainer - he was great - unfortunately the kids club did lack in staff and Alex was over run by kids (ours wandered off when meant to be practising for a show - we were not impressed).

There is no cider on all inclusive and not able to buy either. We did have a fridge in our room though and the supermarket up the road stocked cider. No dressing gowns. No tea and coffee making facilities - i took a travel kettle and tea anyway.

All in all a lovely hotel - the kids pool could be heated as there was never anyone in it as too cold!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home after a week at this hotel. To be honest this hotel is not far from being excellent as other reviews have mentioned. The rooms are lovely. The staff are so helpful and friendly and can't do enough for the guests. The animation team do a great job, special thanks to Hector for the 'funny' music quizzes, great fun!! The food in all the restaurants was excellent, especially the Italian. Now the reason I haven't given it a 5* rating is because we had an issue, and that is that we feel there is no consideration for the adults guests at the hotel without children. Don't understand why the 9pm dinner sitting couldn't be adults only as we found some of the young children so annoying, running around the restaurants with food instead of sitting at the table with the parents, and so much food on the floor after families left after eating (although the staff were not to blame and did clear it up as soon as they could, not that the parents should expect them to!!). We ate late in all the restaurants and witnessed this problem in all of them. The other thing was the 10pm evening show, the children have a kids club in the day and a programme in the evening before the 10pm show, so please....,give the adults without kids a break, and let us sit in peace to enjoy the show without the kids, they should be in bed!! (and I'm not anti-children, just think there should be a cut off time)
Some other guests did feel the same as us and one couple told us they had been to this hotel in the past with their grandchildren, but they were not allowed in the main restaurant with the children and considered it better than how it is now. Yes it's a family hotel, but there are also a lot of people without children too. I have just noticed another review that says ' Not really for couples' as part of their comment too. Also, as that same review says, we saw David (the manager) in the buffet restaurant one breakfast and lunch time having his meals and walking around one of the pool areas. Nice to see the presence of the manager. (Didn't get round to using the fitness centre so can't comment for a rating below)

I think this hotel has management who listen to the guests comments and try to keep the guests happy. Hopefully some of the above comments will be taken into consideration, as we like the hotel and area so would like to visit again.

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel and asked for a quiet room if possible. This was honoured and slept well every n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great hotel,excellent staff and quality of food superb. Will be back!!!!drinks are also excellent with branded and not local drinks. No mosquitos which was a bonus and no need to bring beach towel. Pool choice great. My only fault it can be extremely hard to find room roomas not all rooms are detailed well and found this really fustrating but minor drawback in a great holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are interested in booking for August/September but would really appreciate other guests comments as to a couple of considerations, i.e. do the hotel provide dressing gowns, do the rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, is there a self service coin operated laundry and does the hotel have any type of cider on the all inclusive or can we pay a supplement for cider. Many Thanks all help appreciated

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff at this Hotel are absolutely fantastic and cannot do enough to guarantee you having a great holiday. The Manager David can be seen from early morning inspecting all areas of the Hotel and often took his meals in the main restaurant. Our room could not have been better located due to my wife having a problem walking any distance (complex is large but they will run you about on golf type vehicles). The food for an All Inclusive was really good especially the theme restaurants Italian and Oriental which you can book days in advance if you wish. Unfortunately the evenings were rather cool and despite there being some good entertainment on the terrace outside the Sports Bar it became too cold to sit out. The options open to guests were to go into the Disco Bar were the entertainment team worked, sit in the sports bar watching football matches. They do have an adults only bar next to the Sports Bar but you have to pay for your drinks ANY WONDER it was always EMPTY !!!!!
We love kids however the behavior of many in the dining areas and the disco convinced us both that we should not have booked this Hotel and we are returning to Adult Only Hotels because this one does not cater for couples I know who simply went out for the evening to avoid the kids.
If you have kids this Hotel is for you if not consider it carefully.
By the way we landed at 1515 hours on Thursday 30.05.13 collected our luggage by 1550 hours and arrived at our Hotel at 1915 hours - The transfer by JUMBO TOURS was a DISASTER we dropped off at 13 Hotels only left the airport at 1730 hours we got a Taxi for the return journey.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties you need to be near main reception and main restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamplacehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Gran Castillo Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comment on Tripadvisor and your stay in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Lanzarote.
We are really glad about your comment with our absolutely fantastic staff and that they cannot do enough for our guests.
To offer our guests the best holiday, we do everything what we can do, like a room with a great location in the main area so that your wife do not have to walk so far.
Our manager does his best for a perfect hotel, so he goes every morning around in the area to see if everything is all right.
To offer our guests the best offer of meals we decided us for three restaurants in our Resort. We have our main buffet restaurant and an Italian and Oriental restaurant. We are always happy about a positive comment about our food, because we know how difficult it is to cook for so many people.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy our animation program, we are a family Resort and we always try to have a show for every age.
We have 5 Bars in our area with different opening hours, so that our guests can decide where they want to have drink in the evening, we are sorry that you did not find the special bar for you.
We are looking forward to welcome you again for a relax holiday with us. If you wish to book your next holiday with us you can book a transfer on our website.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Gran Castillo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Gran Castillo Resort

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Business Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dream Gran Castillo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Dream Gran Castillo Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Gran Castillo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.