We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca to your Saves list
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Torre Soli | Playa de Son Bou, 07730 Alaior, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Alaior
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks half board at this hotel. Agree with all the positive comments about the hotel. The staff were amazing especially Hugo at the bar. The pool area was amazing creating a really relaxed atmosphere. A mixture of nationalities and really good spacious rooms. The buffet food was really good and only a short walk in to Son Bou. If you are looking for a relaxed family holiday this is a great hotel and a lovely location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    118
    52
    20
    7
See reviews for
119
92
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were delighted with our choice of both apartment and location. We had heard how beautiful Menorca was, but Son Beu far excelled our expectations. When you only have photographs of hotels and resorts to go on, the reality can be sometimes disappointing – but not on this occasion. The Jardin De Menorca Aparthotel is an outstanding property wether you're a couple aged eighteen to eighty or with a young family, you won't find better! And the beach at Son Beu is one of the best and most accessible on the island. A long stretch of soft golden sand that gently slopes into the clear azure sea, perfect for poor swimmers like me. We didn't take dinner at the hotel, but were advised by staff of two outstanding restaurants nearby. The Casa Andres in the centre of the resort offers a wide choice of local fish and meat specialities including their spectacular signature dish of flambe Chateaubriand and the Es Forn, a short drive up the hill from the resort, is a superb 300 year old manor house which offers alfresco dining of the highest quality with everything cooked on a wood-burning grill outside. Our accommodation, was in a junior suite with an elegantly curtained bedroom area and a large bed-settee for our 16 year-old daughter. A basic kitchenette area with a 2 plate hob and an excellent en-suite bathroom completed our very comfortable home-from-home. The hotel was kept spotless inside and out, and our maid who looked after our room every day was so pleasant and helpful, we wanted to bring her home with us!

Room Tip: We would have been disappointed to have been in one of the four-storey blocks. As it turned out our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First impressions very good. We had an early flight and arrived at 10.30am expecting to hang about for hours for the room. Very pleasantly surprised that it was ready within 10 minutes! Junior suite was spacious and adequate. Room consisted of double bed, double sofa bed and cot. More than enough room for 2 adults, 5 & 1 yr old. Kitchen area was in need a bit of updating but it was sufficient for preparing basic meals. We ate out most evenings but used it for some lunches. Rooms cleaned and swept every day by friendly cleaner. All areas of the grounds were swept and mopped daily. The views were very good from most rooms. Almost all have pool view of some sort or would overlook the grounds, which were stunning. The gardens were pretty and well established. Pools all very clean and never too busy. Many sunbeds by the pool and some shady areas under large trees. We got a parasol most times we sat by the pool. Breakfast was good, lots of choice. Egg chef very good. Lots of freshly made pastries to choose from. Lunch from snack bar was very good quality, although not too much choice. Drinks were a bit pricey from the bar but this was as expected and the same of most hotels. Hotel bus into town was handy, be sure to be at the bus stop 5- 10 mins before it leaves to ensure you catch it on your return journey. It was too hot to walk it each time with children. Alba, the bus driver was fabulous with our 5 year old and he was very happy to be allowed to sit up front and help her :-) . All the staff we dealt with we're helpful and polite. Lift was out of order, but we offered help with the buggy and given complimentary wine for our inconvienience. However, it wasn't too much trouble carrying a lightweight buggy up the stairs and we probably would have done this even if the lift was working. Kids enjoyed the disco each night. Both of the staff who ran it were great with the kids. We would definitely recommend the hotel to others and would honestly say we had no real complaints at all in any aspect.

Room Tip: Would be worth asking for a ground floor room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

visted on b&n=b with my wife & children 6y & 3. we had a really relaxing time almost as soon as stepping off the bus. The staff are friendly and willing to help & the breakfast is buffet & pretty good (egg chef only too happy to get your egg as you like it (excellent) bar man was friendly and recommended some tips to see the island - this i recmmens & it really made our visit to menorca. rooms were good enough , couple of rings & kette for a cuppa on request the lounge double as 2nd bed when sofa pulled down & a curtain sparates these two areas (prefernce for a slider or a door or something, the grounds are beautiful, well kept gardens and 3 fantastic pools for everyone 6' for adults a baby kids pool & a graduated poll for all, great fun for kids & families. The hotel was full but you would never have guessed (many people hit the beach i suspect) it is 15 min walk to the resort centre & beach, management & staff at menorca hotel congratulations & thanks for a lovely time ps try theindoodr poll & spa for quiet time !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

After a previous self-catering holiday in Menorca, we decided to book somewhere with the convenience of additional hotel facilities. We took our sons aged 11 and 7 for 5 nights. We all agreed it was a superb holiday. The hotel is situated on the edge of Son Bou, with beautiful views of unspoilt landscapes within well-kept gardens. There is the main hotel, which comprises of the wellness centre, gym, indoor pool, restaurant and reception; then there are attractive seperate apartments scattered around 3 pools and a snack bar. The pools vary in depth, to suit you and your childrens swimming ability, and the adequate supply of sunloungers and umberellas surrounding the pools, mean you can sunbathe, read a book, whilst keeping an eye on the children. The evening entertainment varied, Each night there was something on around the bar. We watched some fabulous spanish dancing and my sons enjoyed an evening with some local wildlife including a talking parrot. There was a junior disco on each night in the childrens club area, which my 7 year old enjoyed. The service was fantastic. The bar staff could not do enough to help- certainly 'service with a smile'. There is a supermarket next door to the hotel, adequately stocked. We were bed and breakfast, so took breakfast in the restaurant each morning. The range of food on offer was outstanding. The hotel catered for various national tastes. pastries( including muffins, doughnuts, croissants, pain-au-chocolat), cold meats, spanish omeletes, cheeses, fruits, cereals, toast, jams, porridge and of course a good old english fry up (whereby your eggs are cooked to your liking in front of you). lunch was either at the snack-bar or bread, cheeses and cold-meats from the shop next door. Dinner we took in son bou and cooked a couple of nights in the apartment. Apartment was clean, spacious with balcony overlooking the grounds which was nice to share a bottle of wine on in the evening. tv inc BBC1 to allow us to catch up on the news and CBeebies. Would recommend that if you are cooking in the appartment, there is no washing up liquid or salt/pepper/condiments etc. Would recommend hiring a car. we chose menorcar rentals, which we easily collected from airport with half tank of petrol and def best deal. This enabled us to explore the island and visit cuitadella. Beach is a 5 minute drive from the hotel- you could walk it in 30 mins, but with the children, heat and bags, we were glad of the car. Will certainly go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just come back. We feel with just a bit of effort it could be perfect - all the problems could be so easily sorted. Agree with other reviews about location, lovely views etc. Stayed B&B but a couple of evening meals for convenience. Breakfast seemed fine to us - you really don't go to Spain and expect the full English do you? Dinner perhaps a bit boring and a bit expensive but quite edible. We didn't bring children but I don't really know what "kids" food is. Three real niggles - the (only) lift was out of action for the entire week. Lots of families struggling with cases and buggies down steps with no offer of assistance. I think this was BAD - definitely not four stars. Two bars, one by the pool and one inside- but only one (excellent) barman. So when the pool bar stayed open for the "entertainment" you can't have a drink in the lounge. You have to go to the pool bar and suffer very loud music to get a drink. Except you can't, because they have run out of glasses!!!! (can you believe that?)
The bus into town is not large/frequent enough. Admittedly they will do a double trip when it is full, but having to stand in town for an extra twenty minutes in 26 degrees for the bus to come back and pick you up is NOT funny. Why does the bus driver need a siesta? Why finish at 13.00 on Sunday (when the taxi rank is also empty!)
Basically a lovely place spoiled by minor, sloppy things which could be sorted out so easily, but make the experience so annoying.

We got the feeling they just needed a decent manager to give them a kick up the **** and all would be well

Room Tip: don't know - we requested a room with either pool or mountain view, and didn't get either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We went here with son wife and family (5 and 7 years old) and had a wonderful relaxing holiday.
The hotel is very clean, staff are always friendly and the layout of the hotel excellent. The buffet food was good, you could always find something you would enjoy on the buffet. The
location of the hotel which is near to open countryside and away from the main centre of Son Bou provides some wonderful walks to St Thomas in the early mornings before breakfast.
The first week in June seemed very quiet and one feels you almost have the hotel to yourself
at times. The hotel is only open from May until October. Nice walk into San Bou, through very
nice roads of expensive bugalows, mini bus available as alternative.

Room Tip: We were given block 6a and 6b which was ideal because it had an outer door which you could shut but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca

Address: Urbanizacion Torre Soli | Playa de Son Bou, 07730 Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Alaior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Hg Jardin De Menorca Hotel Alaior
Jardin De Menorca
Aparthotel HG Jardin De Menorca Minorca/Alaior, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.