We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family holiday, although room could do with an upgrade! Honest review x” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Son Bou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Valentin Son Bou to your Saves list
Valentin Son Bou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Torresoli Nou City, 07160 Alaior, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Alaior
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday, although room could do with an upgrade! Honest review x”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Valentin and loved it! Firstly people should note that 4* in Menorca is not 4* as in England fact! Don't understand people complaining about the food it was the best all inclusive food we have ever had, everything fresh and a huge selection. ALWAYS fresh, salad (both standard and spanish), fresh fish and meat cooked in front of you, always a fresh paella which was lush, fresh veg, loads of choice. Couldn't believe the amount of people sat eating chip butties and feeding their kids crap. Sorry but if you eat fresh varied food at home, then you will love the food here. Breakfast was fantasitc, everything you could wish for, so much choice fruit/cereal/meat/cheese/bread/full cooked breakfat/boiled eggs etc etc. I would give it 5/5 for food without any question!!! Fantastic!

Rooms - very tatty/shabby need a good overall upgrade/decorate very 1980's spainish decor, but clean and as you don't spend much time in them, who cares!

Staff - friendliest I've ever met in all areas, only came across one miserable bar person the whole 2 weeks. Life guard was hopeless.

General hotel - was clean and well presented, always fresh flowers in communcal areas which I thought was nice. Reception always quick and efficient. Only 1 lot of toilets in the hotel which meant there was generally a queue and the poolside toilets were a bit grim, more often than not we just went back to the room.

Pool area - was lovely really accessible from all areas, however could never get a bed first thing on a morning. Unfortunately too many people just leave their rubbish by the pool and make it a mess but this is no reflection on the hotel, but the grim people who think the staff are there to run round after them.

Night entertainment - was exactly as I'd expect from this type of holiday, some good some poor. Fake That and the temptations tribute acts were good though.

Kids club - was good although our son only went twice as we like to do things as a family, but the girls there were fantastic with the kids 10/10 :o)

There's drinks service on a night which I've never had before and you could get crisps whenever you went to the bar. Only comment is that the balcony area is lovely but full of smokers who move away from their own families and come and stand near you to smoke, I don't smoke and found it very rude, but again that's the people not the place. Although something for the hotel to consider a designated smoking half and a non smoking half.

The location of the hotel isn't great right at the top of a very steep hill, however there is a courtesy bus every half an hour (apart from siesta time) and at busy times the driver always made 2 trips. Again excellent service.

There's a buggy park where people can leave there prams which is a great idea! 2 play areas for the kids which our son loved (he's 3).

There is no music round the pool, which I have to say didn't bother me and only just realised when I read other people's reviews lol.

Son Bou is lovely, gorgeous beach, very small and not much to do, but suited us just fine. You can walk to Santo Tomas but DONT DO IT WITH KIDS it isn't 40 mins it took us 2.5hrs with a 3 year old in tow! The beach is clean and the water shallow, with lifeguards all the way up it. There is also a nature reserve between the resort and the beach which is lovely, very strange see ducks and chickens on a beach!!! Excellent bus service to Mahon and can recommend the Don Juan trip in the harbour. Excellent Tapas in Mahon too and Citudella worth a trip although the bus service from Son Bou is not as good.

IF YOU DON'T LIKE KIDS DON'T GO HERE - I was sick of people tutting at the kids, if you want adults only pay for it, simple as that!!! Kids are kids they laugh, they play, they run, they scream it's how they learn, don't like it? Don't go to a family hotel, they're easy to spot in the brochure they have a kids club!!!!!

The ONLY thing that spoilt our holiday was the rudeness of some of the other guests. Other than that would recommend this holiday.

All in all this was a fantasic family holiday, there was more than one quivering lip on the way home from our family!!!! Loved it :o)

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing or you'll be over looking the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    317
    155
    32
    21
See reviews for
409
276
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We travelled as 4 adults and a 2.5 yr old looking for a fairly easy going, pool/beach, all Inc holiday.... and that's what we got.
This Hotel is full to the brim with families with young children so if you want a quiet relaxing time then you won't find it around this hotel.
The Hotel is clean and well maintained in all public areas. The main hotel rooms are clean (can't comment re apartments) but could do with a refresh as are certainly tired and dated.
The Pool area does get very busy with sunbeds and with only 1 shallow end for children to enter the pool does get very crowded.
The food was okay, I thought very repetitive but was always hot and plenty available. The restaurant itself is more like a school canteen - it's very narrow so if you happen to be sat near the aisle you get knocked by people getting food. There isn't much space to manouver around the islands so you end up queuing. The drinks are all self service out of machines which i think is substandard of 4*. The food available around the pool was acceptable - burgers/pizza, etc was readily available along with Lollies and Icecreams.
The evening entertainment was ok, some nights better than others. Our major annoyance was the Mini Disco didn't start until 8.45 most evenings. So trying to entertain a toddler from dinner until the music started was a pain and then she was over tired to join in. There is an Adults only bar which parents escaped to some evenings.
The resort of Son Bou itself is really lovely. Very clean with some good amenities and the beach is fabulous.
Don't be put off by the Hotel being up the hill as there is a good 1/2 hourly bus service to and from the hotel. Although we walked a few times as it's quite a pleasant walk down hill (uphill is a good workout :-))
Car hire is a good option too as it's a nice island to get out and about on and with 1 main road you can't get lost!

It was a lovely holiday but I would say a week was enough at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just arrived home from this hotel 1st July 2013,hotel was very clean room were fine,only downside to this hotel was that around the pool in the days no music was being played because of some people requesting not to have music played no alot goin on around the pool at all in the days so was quit boring,also the kids entertainment started at 9 most nights with I think is way to late for the littler children who likes to get involved,also some of the people staying at the hotel same time as us were pig ignorant would give disgusting looks if your children were being a bit loud and these people were Manley couples who didn't have children with them so my opionon is why on earth go to a family hotel if u dont like noise from children??!!would highly recommend the kit Kat bar down in son bou itself lovely friendly atmosphere with a proper pint of samugel and nice meals,food was ok at hotel but did give me and my 2 yr old bad tummies for 2 days.son bou is lovely place but would not stay at this hotel again,stayed at Victoria player Santo Tomas in 2012 in Menorca and it knocks spots of valantine hotel by far

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I and our 2 children aged 8 & 5 returned from a 10 night all inclusive break on 31st May 2013. Despite unsettled weather for the time of year, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would certainly recommend the hotel to other families. This was our first trip to the lovely island of Menorca and we were really impressed. We chose Menorca because of the short flight time and the transfer time from the airport to our hotel was just 25 mins, ideal for children. This hotel is definitely a hotel for families. I would not recommend it for young couples due to the volume of young children staying there. We found all hotel staff polite, helpful and courteous throughout our holiday. The hotel was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.

Rooms - We were allocated an apartment in the grounds in Block B, which was a stones throw from the mini mart. The accommodation was a 1 bed apt with a small kitchen area consisting of microwave and oven, sink etc which is ideal for families with babies. The room was cleaned 3 times a week and bedding changed. The grounds are really nicely presented and which ever block you are allocated, you are literally only a few mins away from the main hotel complex.

The restaurant always had plentiful selection of good food. The restaurant was spotlessly clean and the food always replenished. Lovely clean white linen table clothes were always provided. Always good choice of meat, veg, salad, pasta etc and desserts. We could always find something that we liked. We could help ourselves to a selection of soft drinks, water, beer or wine at meal times which was really handy. The restaurant staff were helpful and cleared empty plates away immediately.

We all enjoyed the evening entertainment. At 8.00pm after dinner there was a kids disco run by the hotel entertainment team which our girls loved. The team were really friendly and fun. Afterwards there was nightly variety act which varied from circus acts to tribute bands. Drinks were waiter served in the entertainment complex and we had a lovely waiter called Liam who looked after us during our stay. Bar staff was polite and very efficient . Drinks selection was vast and served in a glass, not a plastic cup. You could practically choose a local variation of what ever drink you like. Our daughter loved the kids cocktails.

Our girls loved the First Choice run kids club. The staff who ran it was friendly and professional and looked after our children well. Lots of themed activities and fun and they met some friends there too. The only downside was that they are only able to accept 16 children at a time which isn't really enough for the size of the hotel, therefore we had to queue early to secure a place. We found the First Choice reps friendly and helpful too.

The pool area was lovely but the water was rather cold for our girls. It was probably too early in the season to warm up. It was nice and clean and there were lots of sunbeds and umbrellas to choose from. People still insisted on reserving beds and disappearing for hours on end but the hotel has a policy against this and we did witness the pool attendant removing some towels. There was a nice poolside bar serving food, snacks and drinks including nice coffee and kids could have branded ice cream all day.

We used the hotels courtesy bus down into Son Bou a few times. It ran regularly every 1/2 hr throughout the day except lunchtimes. The walk down into Son Bou however was quite pleasant but the return trip on foot up the hill was hard work. There were a few shops to visit and the beach was very pleasant.

As I already mentioned the weather for the time of year was unsettled. We had periods of rain, cloud and at times it was rather cold and windy. The hotels indoor pool was invaluable during this time. Our girls loved it and used it to escape from the cold outdoor pool.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Valentin and would certainly recommend it for families. We thought that it was excellent value for money and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

first off I will say that some of the reviews on here about the british clientel are very short sighted as we did not experience 1 incident of drunken behaviour or aggression by any of the holiday makers. in all fairness the hotel was full to the brim with mainly families with young children and the majority of people were very courteous toward their fellow holidaymakers which I found to be very welcoming.
we travelled june 17th to 24th as 2 families with a 5 year old and a 2 year old and we found it a very good place for the kids and adults alike. the entertainment was of varying quality but you come to expect that on an all inc holiday.
we did venture out of the hotel on many occasions down to the beach or down into son bou and we found the places extremely clean and well looked after.. (no staying in the hotel milking every drop of all inc for us...)
had many a walk round the pretty much deserted streets around the hotel taking in the wonderful surroundings.
the food was of a good standard and there was always fresh produce coming out to be topped up. yes the dining room could be hectic at times but what can you expect with the amount of young ones there...
the people at this hotel and to be honest all over the island were very polite and genuinely seemed to enjoy what they were doing which is a refreshing change to some of the other islands and mainland spain.
we stayed in the 2 appartments closest to the games area and we found these to be perfect for us. marissa the cleaning lady deserves a special mention for her hard work.
the pool scene was hectic at times but all the kids were well looked after by the parents and if they got a bit out of hand most parents would pull them back into line which again was a refreshing change. like I said before the people were top notch at this hotel. we met a lot of good people from places like Watford and Stevenage (you know who you are) and other places like Plymouth and Scotland. the kids really mixed well and my little girl poppy made some good friends which makes it all the more special for kids her age.
overall I would definitely return to this hotel and indeed other resorts on the island as we were very impressed with our first visit to Minorca.
the beach at son bou is lovely and clean but watch out for the nuddys when you are with the kids lol. amazes me how they like to walk round with nowt on but always seem to have a hat on....and a bum bag.
I must say also this hotel was very clean and the staff were multi tasking all the time so top marks to the valentine son bou.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Valentin Son Bou Hotel was very clean, food good, staff very nice. It is a lovely Hotel way up a very high hill, there is a courtesy bus running each half hour but it stops around 6pm so difficult to go anywhere at night and stuck in this hotel overrun with children at least 75% children to 25% Adults. Beautiful beaches at Son Bou but Poolside was a nightmare, usual story people saving sunbeds at 7.45am (we could see this happening from our balcony as could loads of other folk and the saying is if you can't beat 'em join 'em - but who in their right mind wants to be about so early on holiday just to get a sunbed!! IF you did manage to get a sunbed about 2inches from another bed occupied by a stranger.The noise around the pool was just a great big DIN screaming, yelling crying and children 'on high' because of all the free soft drinks available. The Dining Room was chaotic with very badly behaved children all going to the buffet when they should be supervised - they were not mostly and hands going everywhere. Also the dress code was 'shabby' with men mainly turning up very scruffy, flip flops, shorts and 'loud' t shirts spoilt the whole experience of being on holiday.
Without the children who incidentally occupied all the seats in Auditorium at night and spent the whole evening down the front by the stage. This hotel is very nice (if you hare hard of hearing)and I can only think there must have been a cheap offer to have so many children there at the end of half term! It was just like Butlins actually much worse than Butlins and I urge you to stay away if you are a couple or friends x 4 this is not for you. What a shame but you live and learn and we sure have.

Room Tip: a lot of rooms overlook the pool which is lovely but can be very noisy sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is advertised as a four star hotel and whilst I agree that the majority of facilities at the hotel would fall in to the four star category the rooms certainly do not. We were sold our holiday as a family of four being able to stay in a standard room, but there was not sufficient room for myself and my husband and our 3 year old and 8 month old. The rooms are also incredibly dated and shabby. This was such a shame as all other aspects of the holiday were great, but the room really did let the holiday down and based on this point we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Son Bou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Son Bou

Address: Urb. Torresoli Nou City, 07160 Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Alaior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentin Son Bou 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valentin Son Bou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Son Bou Hotel Alaior
Valentin Hotel Son Bou
Son Bou Valentin Hotel
San Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou Minorca/Alaior, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Son Bou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.