We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the quietest place on earth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marian Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marian Apartments to your Saves list
Marian Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alicante 28, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not the quietest place on earth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

You get what you pay for..... The apartments are clean, towels and sheets changed 3/4 times a week and floors mopped. Big godsend having aircon. Kitchen had limited tools and plates etc., but then who is going to Ibiza to cook. It did have a big fridge and freezer that again was great for your drinks.

The place itself is OK, music starts about 10am and stops about 12 midnight. The stairwells echo like nothing else so when everyone comes in at 5-6 in the morning, it is noisy.

If you are a young group they will take a deposit off of you... so beware.

About 10 mins walk to the top of the street where all the bars are, 20 minutes to get to the boat taxi to take you to a natural beach at Playa Pinta...... Much nicer there.

I'm sure you could quite easily find a better apartment and eal doing it yourself as there are hundreds. But overall well run place, clean and friendly.

Best bit was the fact that we didn't have to eat there and found some fantastic restuarants.

Recommend... Restuarant Pepe Caribe for Tapas 36 euros, Grill Sant Antoni for amazing steaks 59 euros. meals fro 2 people with starters and bottle of nice wine.

You can either mak it an epensive trip or shop around and eat and drink very cheaply. We found you could get a small beer for 1 euro and english breakfast for 2.50 euros. Enjoy

Room Tip: Do not get room 109 for some reason. Rooms all have balconies but not big enough to sit out on. If s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Myself and 11 friends stayed from 12th Sept for 7 nights and had the bext craic ever here! Very central location, 5 min walk from the strip and 10 min walk from the port (the beech). the food was very basic and the drinks were cheap enough. Every1 seem to say how dear ibiza was but only the big clubs seem to be deer! 11 euro for a smirnoff ice in eden and down the strip would have been about 5 euro! food cheap enough, could go out for a main meal for about 10 - 12euro!! toasties etc in hotel were about 4 euro and vodka and mixer 5 euro! cheap enough! the night porter alex is dead on, he is grumpy but keep on the right side of him! we never had any bother with him and there was 12 of us! Fernando who does the bar during the day is great craic! cocky as anything but great craic! the pool area is very very clean. cleaned out every day! we got our room cleaned everyother day which wasnt too bad! rooms very spacious with huge balconies! we were in 106 & 206 and the boys were in a room with groud floor which were bigger! showers were amazingg, real powerful!

all in all had the best time ever!! didnt really like dance music before i went but certainly liked it by the time i left! song of ibiza 2012 million voices! ah ah ah ah ah eh eh eh eh eh!!!! yeo!IBIZA ROCKS!! Oh and go to the beach oppisite ibiza rocks bar! strawberry dacquries at 5 wuro are amazing!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The overall experience was brilliant. Staff were friendly, made some amazing friends and everything was to hand.
Appartement was massive, beds were clean, air con worked, shower was powerful, balcony was huge, clean towels every day and food was half decent at the bar. (my fave was cheese omlette, although I didn't eat much, I just drank the whole holiday!)
WestEnd wasn't a five minute walk away.

I stayed on a 2wentys holiday with another girl and our Rep was the best. The map we were given after being dropped off at the top of a road was SO inaccurate that we spent about half an hour walking around looking for the hotel. We finally found it after asking several locals with out limited Spanish and their limited English.
The girl who I thought was a friend decided to book a flight and left me only 3 days after we arrived. I was on my own for the rest of my holiday but luckily I met some really great people who helped me through it and showed me an amazing time!
The hotel staff were plesant and always happy to help.

Overall the hotel was good.
Would defo go back another year!

Room Tip: We stayed in 301, higher floors seem good for better sleep. Numbers ending in 01 and 04 are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just come back from staying at the Marian with 3 friends and we could not have asked for anymore! The staff are so friendly and helpful and the apartments themselves are spacious and have everything you need! The food at the bar is great value for money and the bartender fernando is absolutely hilarious! We travelled with Thomson twenties and Luton, our rep was fab! The only bad thing about the apartments is Alex, the night porter who switched our electric off for laughing in the corridor of the hotel!! I would definitely recommend the apartments and look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and 11 friends went to Marian on a girls holiday.
Couldnt want anything more really, perfect for a girls holiday. Big, clean rooms with fridge, freezer, cooking stuff ect. Aircon, nice blaconys. Suma the supermarket is two minutes away and has everything you will need,
Big pool and sunloungers, nice bar downstairs to sit for pre-drinks. Safe so you an keep things safe.
Good location, 5 minute walk to the west end, gives you time to eat and sober up on the way back.
Have a toastie in the morning they are really nice !
Go with twenties they'll look after you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I've recently visited San Antonio with 2 other friends. The Marian is a very small hotel right in the middle of what looks like a town. We got dropped off at the top of the bank and it took about 20 minutes to find our hotel. Anyways, after finding this hotel, it's quite small, but for what you need it's ideal. All rooms are different to one another, we asked for a pool view with a balcony, we got the bottom floor in the corner of the building. There was no ventilation in the room what so ever.
Moving on to the important things. Rooms, cleaned about 3/4 times a week. You get 2 beds and a sofa bed. There's also a separate pull out bed that can be used. You get a fridge, cooking hob with utensils, shower, toilet wash basin, etc you get the gist. The pool area is very acceptable, clean, sun beds always available. The bar area is quite a fun place to be in. The barman during the day is called Fernando. He's a hoot, total perve towards the girls but everyone takes him for what he is. There's supermarkets within a 5 minute walk but if you can't be bothered, foods served until late in the bar, at a reasonable price. Big pints of beer (Estrella) 4 euro, magners and kopparberg 5 euro. If you want vodka redbull, 8 euro (2 of them and you're wasted) 2.50 euro for a 1.5l bottle of water.
Moving on, the strip is about a 5/10 minute walk from this hotel. Try and remember your way though, we spent 14 nights there and still managed to get lost. Try to get your tickets for clubs from the strip and a proper ticket seller, when we were there a group of lads got scammed out of 700 euro. If Luton is still there (20's rep) see him... Doesn't work off commission on tickets, plus a genuinely nice guy.
1 gripe about this hotel. Our first night, we came home at 7/8 in the morning to be greated by the night porter. His name is Alex. He's possibly the most miserable man in Ibiza, and unless you're willing to give him 20 euros per person, you ain't taking any people back that night. Also he called the police on us for making excess noise, end of the day, he's got a job to do and he does it. Try keep him happy and he'll not be as big of a problem. 1 last important thing, 150 euro deposit is required when you get there, with passports. Safe is approx 25 euros. We got it back when checking out though.

Summary... It does what you want it to do. Basic but satisfactory room, nice pool area and bar that serves alright snack food, pizzas till late. Would recommend it, but try not to get into room 109, probably the worst room in the hotel! Strip minutes away. The bay is a 10 minute walk away, supermarkets and restaurants on pretty much every street corner. Ibiza is the best place in the world, if you're a young lad or lass, this is the place to be! Be sure to take plenty money though, £2000 wasn't enough for me in 2 weeks! Have fun!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here at the Maian Apartments from 11th july to the 18th july 2012 with a group of 7 friends. We had two apartments between us. There was four of us in a one bedroom apartment and 3 in another, on first arrival it was smaller than expeced but plenty big enough for all of us.
The bar and cafe downstairs in the hotel does a wide range of good food at good prices and the drinks are around english pub prices.
We paid 25 euros for a safe which was well worth it. 150 euros is also required as a room deposit. We lost 40 euros from our deposit at the end of the holiday for a dirty towel and pillow cases!! This was ridiculous, so be very careful if you want all of your deposit back.
The pool area is a good size and we never had trouble finding sunbeds at any time of the day. There is also table tennis and two pool tables which the boys made good use of!
There is a large supermarket literally 2 minutes away and the west end is only a 10 minute walk away.
The night porter can be a bit of a pain when you roll in at 6am and he wants to check all your names in the book to check your actually staying there but at the end of the day its for your own safety.
Overall, i would return due to the good value for the rooms and the good location.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on a lower floor. we were on the 3rd floor and had 6 flights of stairs! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marian Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marian Apartments

Address: Calle Alicante 28, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marian Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marian Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marian Apartments Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Marian Apartments Ibiza, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marian Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.