We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place will scam you for money!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Rosalia

Save Saved
You added Hostel Rosalia to your Saves list
Hostel Rosalia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Rosalia
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rosalia, 5, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place will scam you for money!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was the worst hostal I've ever stayed in. They try to scam you for money, my friend didn't have the key at the moment and needed to get into the room. She asked the receptionist if he could kindly let her in after showing him her ID, verfiying that it was indeed her room. Any other hotel would be hospitable and say yes, this hostal is different... They said "Yes, but what are you going to give me for it?" and she answered with "um... I don't know" because she was so thrown off by his question. He asked her to give him 5 Euros or else he wouldn't let her in. He then proceeded to put the 5 Euros in his pocket and then opened the door.

That's not the worst part, after our stay, they charged my Visa an extra 50 Euros for a broken bed?!?! Sorry, but I'm actually pretty tiny and I have never broken a bed in my life. If I were to break a bed, it would mean their beds are completely UNSAFE and should NOT be used for their paying guests.

Bottom line, DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE AND TELL ALL YOUR FRIENDS!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    4
    2
    12
See reviews for
2
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The second stop of our 17 day trip to Spain and France was Ibiza. We wanted a low-cost option, mainly to keep our luggage while we were out partying or lazing on the beach. Hostel Rosalia looked like an okay place while booking. But turned out to be a disaster.

It is really far from the airport (buses to San Antoni are at a frequency of 90 min from the airport). And from the bus-station it is another 15 min walk... a pain if you have luggage - as it can't even be rolled along on the cobbled streets.

We arrived at noon (we are 3 couples), and only one room was ready. The guy at the hotel desk was a bit of a slimeball. He demanded the entire payment on check in, even though 2 rooms weren't ready. And selectively understood what we were trying to communicate. We dumped the luggage in one room and waited till 1.30pm when the rooms were finally ready.

The rooms are very shady, with moldy beds. The water from the shower leaks out and forms a pool on the floor. There is only one table fan. The location also sucks, as it is about 15 min walk from the nearest beach... and far away from the party places. We rented a car, and managed to get around much more comfortably.

Oh and the pool in the pictures? It more like a little pond.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

situated about 200m from the west end, clean and cheap but the staff are thieves i stayed there for a few days and 8 rooms were robbed in that time in the middle of the night and found out a few weeks later it was an inside job and that it wernt the 1st time its happened and staff and hostel owner didnt want to know.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Its filthy, unsafe and the rooms are like a box room with 2 beds squeezed in. There is notting but two beds in the room, its so small. We booked through Budget travel, the twentys club and we were informed it was a nice place. Its not and defo not for young people, if the music is too load they will turn off all your electricity. Seriously dont stay here.

  • Liked — The location was ok
  • Disliked — The staff and rooms
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

The coach transfer from the airport dropped us in a street and we had to walk from there with cases to the Rosalia. The two girls in the next room to us were fighting in the corridor on our first night. The walls are paper thin, we could hear them talking and when the toilet was being flushed.
The first morning of our stay we got up for breakfast, only to find we had to cook it ourselves. Breakfast consisted of a loaf of bread to which which you helped yourselves and toast yourself on an old fashioned grill arrangement. Coffee and tea was served from a machine. At precisely 10am the manager/owner, turned the machines off and took away the bread.
The swimming pool was tiny, the sun only shone on one side of the pool at a time. You could only fit 4 sunbeds on the sunny side at any one time. It was abyssmal. You could only take drink out to the pool that you had purchased from the Rosalia. You were chased after if you took anything else.
The view from our room was overlooking the street and an unfinished apartment block opposite which looked like a building site.
In its favour it was quite close to the West End.
NEVER, NEVER AGAIN.

  • Liked — CLOSENESS TO WEST END
  • Disliked — BREAKFAST, POOL AND DRIBBLING WATER IN THE TAPS IN BATHROOM.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

My fiance and i booked through twentys with first choice for 2 weeks at the rosalia in san antonio. Whilst we were not expecting the ritz we did expect basic clean accomodation. We
arrived on the transfer coach at 4am and had to stand outside waiting for half an hour while they took forever to check everyone in. The room was terrible, one of the beds was broken, ciggerette burns in bed sheets, chunks missing out of the wall,shower sprayed everywhere and flooded bathroom, and was very dusty throughout. The sheets were not changed once in two weeks, only the bed was made and the room was only properly cleaned once. We never seemed to get toilet roll replaced and had to buy from the shop dowen the road. The hotel staff were not friendly and the english guests were treated like naughty school children. They made a point in taking 50 euros each off you as a deposit and made you sign sheets with prices of what you would pay if you broke anything. Before entering the room this was reasurring as surely if they charge for everything that gets broken then everything should be repaired using that money and the rooms be in good condition., but unfortunatly thats not the case at the rosalia.
Also my engagement ring was taken from my room. whilst it was not particualry expensive it obviously had sentimental value, and i cannott prove anything but the only other person that came in our room were the maids....
The reps were not over helpfel and when we arrived it was not very nice getting woken up by banging on the door by them at 10 am after 4 hours sleep demanding we go to the welcome meeting.
The only plus points were the other guests all got on well and there was a friendly atmosphere between all the guests at least, being as we were all in the same boat.
The pool might as well be called a bath it is absolutly tiny.
The bar and enterence are very nice and airconditioned but the rooms were terrible. I think we were lucky too as other rooms were much smaller than ours.
There is also lots of noise although being in san antonio this was expected but did not expect people urinating off the balcony above onto the road below.
On another note not really to do with the hotel but the resort, dont go to san antonio expecting nice beaches as the one nearest the hotel is tiny and rocky and the one at the harbour is not particulary nice.
Safe to say i will not be staying at the rosalia in the future, in fact they would have to pay me to go back.

  • Liked — bar
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Rosalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Rosalia

Address: Rosalia, 5, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Specialty lodging in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Rosalia 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Rosalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Rosalia Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Hostel Rosalia Ibiza, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Rosalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.