We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apart-Hotel del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apart-Hotel del Mar to your Saves list
Apart-Hotel del Mar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Mar 1, 08720 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“disgusting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

the staff are so rude it is un real they treat you like rubbish, try to windle more money out of youand do not wanto help you or answer your questions, the over all experience was poor but its in an amazing location.... also the rooms will send you crazy bright yellow and blue.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    19
    8
    43
See reviews for
4
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in augest was dreading it after reading all reviews but it was the opposite... arrived at around 11am check in not till 20pm but checked in no problem at 11am we got a safety deposit box which are in reception in view of cctv so no problems there we checked it everyday and nothing was touched we didnt heard of any thefts whilst there either. ROOM:Our room was basic but it had a bed,toilet,shower,fridgefreezer,cooker what more do you need really?? Our cooker wasnt working we reported and was fixed the next morning without a problem the view was fab onto pool and harbour couldnt fault it.CLEANESS: Rooms were cleaned everyday with clean towels if requested we had new toilet roll everyday too. POOL:The pool was cleaned everyday also all the sunbeds and flooring was cleaned everyday too before 10am. To be honest it was like our own private pool was max of 8 if that sunbathing at one time cant fault that at all also a lifegaurd present too. LOCATION: it was perfect within 5 mins to harbour,bank,shops,resturants,westendstrip,taxi rank and about 10 to bus station. There was a bar bang outside hotel that did play music during day and at night till around 3 but i could sleep through it plus your in ibiza what do you expect . FACILITIES::There are computers in reception that a cheap to use too also wifi is cheap 2 euro for 90 min only downside is can only get signal in reception for it but there is seating for it. There are toilets and shower rooms also luggage room for last day if got late flight.STAFF all staff were friendly and helpful at all times...all in all i couldnt fault it you get what you pay for can't expect the ritz when you pay buttons all i wanted was it too be clean and a comfy bed and thats exactly what i got :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We read some reviews on here after we had booked this Hotel and were very sceptical. Our main concern were the reviews reporting theft and very poor conditions. We were booking on a budget so we knew we would get what we paid for. Our stay lasted 7 days.

Our first request on arrival was a Safe for our valuable which was charged at €4 per day plus a €10 deposit. Expecting this to be in the room as is the case with most Hotels we have stayed at in Ibiza, we were surprised to find the Safes are all kept on the ground floor next to reception (and under CCTV). This was fine, just a bit unsure about our valuable being on display to anyone passing through the ground floor whilst we put belongings in/took belongings out.

On the whole, the room itself was basic, but always clean and tidy. We stayed in room 111 and it has a large balcony which unfortunately has no view whatsoever. The balcony directly faces the next building which is no more than 5 metres away. Room was cleaned daily at various times in the morning/early afternoon and fresh towels supplied. The walls are fairly thin and most noise from the surrounding rooms will be heard.

The location is very good as you are located almost right on the Marina (Across the road from the Pussycat Bar), 2 minutes from the 'West End', 5 minutes from the Sunset Strip (Cafe Mambo, Cafe Del Mar, etc) and 5 minutes away from the beach. The taxi rank is just around the corner as are many places to eat, drink and shop.

Our quality of sleep was not great as regardless of when you tried to sleep (morning, afternoon, evening, night) there was continual doors banging on our floor, the floor above and also noise from the main door opening/closing. This is mainly due to the occupants staying at the hotel.

Throughout our stay we heard of no incidents of theft.

Room Tip: If you were on the top two floors, overlooking the poor, your view would be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Right so, from reading all the reviews, we fort we wer going to walk into something from "holidays from hell" but it's not even bad at all!

We got there on the 23rd July staying for 10 nights, at reception we ask for a safe it was 4 euros aday plus 10 for deposit, but worth it if u dnt wanna be robed! Soo we got the room key for room 108.. We walked in and it smelt like " the bin men hadn't been round to collect the rubish inabout a year" and had no view to the balcony just a massive wall! So me and my friend just walked back to rececption and they gave us a new room! On the top floor with 2 balconies it was the best view to have in the hotel, rooms were clean, but we made it messy with in a day r selfs so maids did try and clean around us when wer asleep in the morning sometimes she would get the mop out and everything! The pool was clean, had a life guard too he just sat there all day telling people not to smoke around the pool! The hotel is full ov young people just wanting to have a fun holiday so if your like old and stuf then this isn't the place for you! Most people play music in the rooms and have little party's ect befor going out and even when they come back! We did get told off every night for playing music to loud, but that was only cz the 2 girls next door to us wanted to get there beauty sleep befor 11! Right soo to end it here your going to Ibiza! Biggest party holiday you will go on so dnt moan about music,cars beeping,drunk people, not have a tv and so on! Just enjoy it! Ohh and we never got robbed and never herd any robbings when we wer ther! X

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Land
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here beginning of July for 10 days and after reading reviews on here was slightly concerned. Arrived at the hotel, good first impressions, given top floor apartment with pool/ harbour view (best views in San An). Bought safety deposit box straight away and locked away money, passports, phones etc.
Rooms are basic but ideal for what we were after. Made sure we locked anything else in our cases each time we left and didnt leave anything lying around. Maids changed towels and made beds every day and were friendly enough.
Hotel staff were helpful when we needed them to be and had no problems what so ever. Pool was cleaned regularly and there was always sunbeds free.
Apartments are bang in the centre, bottom of West End and 5 min walk to Sunset Strip.
We also enjoyed walking round the harbour to Ibiza Rocks bar and Linekars etc.

We had a great time at the Del Mar. Theft is high in San Antonio in general, not just this hotel and in the time we were there we only heard of a mobile phone being stolen but that was by young lads who probably left it lying somewhere. I would advise just to have a bit sense as you would anywhere!

Only thing that is missing from this hotel is a bar for drinks/ snacks during the day but right behind is the SPAR which you are allowed to bring food/ drinks into pool area so wasnt too much of a problem. Apartments are lively and all young people wanting a good time.
Would happily stay here again for the price you can't really complain!! infact, i would love to be on the first plane there tomrrow.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor pool facing room for the best views in San Antonio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

after booking this hotel due to the location, I realised that the reviews were bad with all the thefts etc, however having booked the holiday a week before we were due to leave it was too late to cancel or change hotels without losing money. I DOUBLED up on the travel insurance just to be sure if all my things did get stolen I would be prepared. Upon a late arrival we arrived to a Spanish guy at reception who didn't hardly speak any English, me being be-I always try to speak the lingo wherever I go and asked for a security box, and soon as I handed the cash over for that wahay he started speaking English saying"dont leave anything valuable in your room" to my horror I thought so if I didn't ask for the security box you wouldn't of even told me that!! the room itself well very standard and doors were shabby, bathroom window wouldn't lock, u can see why these rooms are broken into, as for the cleaners we just put the do not disturb sign up an that way they didn't go in our room(think we told them no thankyou one time) in the end I put a cooking pot lid in the window to stop it being open. shower was ok and never ran out of hot water, the lady`s at reception seemed friendlier & the maintenance man helped me out at one point, great location for beach/ sunsetstrip/bars& clubs, didn't have a pool view but didn't go there to stay in room,tv didn't work but wasn't fussed, don't trust African women selling hair brading on the beaches as they con you,also look out for men who get off with girls and steal their purses from their bags in es paradise as this happened to my sister. above all get a box if you stay here and only take out what you need but common sense is don't leave expensive stuff out an don't open your door to strangers knocking. I love the area but prob will spend more money next time and get a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

do not stay here ever!! the hotel staff stole my luggage from my rooms and them return my suitcase once they have taken what they want....i confronted them and they said what you going to do!! disgusting hotel STAY AWAY!! dirty pool, tiny dirty rooms also!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apart-Hotel del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apart-Hotel del Mar

Address: Calle de la Mar 1, 08720 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 105 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apart-Hotel del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Apart-Hotel del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart-Hotel Del Mar Ibiza, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apart-Hotel del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.