We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Bella Apartments

Save Saved
You added Playa Bella Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Bella Apartments
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Carrer de Jaen, 2 | ses Fontanelles, 07830 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend and Playa Bella has everything to offer, stayed in a one bedroom apartment over looking the pool area. Restaurants are good and so is the entertainment. This is by far the best hotel in the Bay Area....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    149
    66
    25
    11
See reviews for
242
70
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just spent two weeks at the Playa Bella Apartments. When we arrived the receptionist were very nice and gave us a map to find our room. We had two refurbished studio apartments in block 2, which were very nice and clean but very small and the maid service was not very good. Then the fun and games really started, first morning up at 8am to stand and wait for the pool guy to open the pool area at 9am, then it was a mad rush trying to grab a sunbed, with the big families all grabbing big stacks of sunbeds which they did not need all of them, with one guy in particular taking 17 sunbeds and thinking it was a competition. We complained at the reception but they were not interested, their attitude was throw there towels off the sunbeds. (which would of coursed more trouble). After a unpleasant week of trying to play grab a sunbed and sunbath we returned to find my mum's apartment had been burgled which they stole a gold bracelet, euros and English money, we then found out a couple on the same floor had also been burgled but a lot worse. We started the process of letting the reception know. Pacco was the first person we told, he was rude, unhelpful, lied to us and told us there was no burglary's in our block but as we were in reception all block 2 locks were being changed. Then Pacco admitted there had been burglary but in a different block (another lie) and just threw a police form at us where we were told to go find a police station which was in San Antonio. Overall stay clear we felt the staff didn't really care and also don't go to the Bahia restaurant in the apartments as they are also very rude and leave you waiting for ages before serving you. Just feel disappointed and let down with the attitude of the staff when we needed help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Manager at Playa Bella Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Mel
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear you experienced some problems when you were here and apologise if you felt your issues were not dealt with efficiently. We had two break-ins on Sunday 4th August. As I have stated in another review about the same incident, break-ins are an extremely rare occurrence at the complex, however security remains our priority and I believe our response was both rapid and effective. The very next day all of the locks in the affected block were changed and an additional security guard was hired during the day. Since this isolated incident I am happy to report there have been no more problems and I am confident it will stay this way. This winter we will also install cameras in all of the blocks to ensure increased security for our guests.
As to the sunbed issue, this is slightly more complicated to resolve. This year we have increased the number of beds around the pool but we certainly don’t want to overcrowd the pool area with beds and want guests using the facilities to be comfortable. The issue of sunbeds is only a problem during August when we are at capacity – we simply cannot fit 500 sunbeds around the pool. In my opinion sunbeds have to be issued on a first come first serve basis, it is completely normal for guests to then put towels on these beds to reserve them – we can’t expect guests to start sunbathing at 9am. Unfortunately, and very occasionally, we do get some guests who take advantage of this and take more sunbeds then they actually require – I am unsure how we can solve this. However if you are at the pool at 9am in the morning, you are guaranteed to get a sunbed on the upper terrace while sunbeds on the lower terrace are available slightly earlier. We will continue looking in to this issue and apologise if it affected your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

went self catering in a studio apartment, good accomodation ,ground floor near pool ,room 17,no view though, beds a bit hard but loads of cusions, good fridge , nice shower and bath ,clean and tidy, maid sevice only once bedding change and twice towels in a week. 5 restraunts attached to the appartments los angeles, good value for money ,chinese exceptional service and value for money and the main resteraunt on the right side as you look at the sea was excellent also. right on the beach overlooking the bay, couldnt fault that, sewerage smell to left hand side as you look at the sea was contant ,thus we avoided that part, staff were all polite and helpful, reps were both very helpful and polite, ferry point just off the beach to go over to the busy side of bay only 3 euros each every 15 mins or so all day until late,nice general location on the quieter side of the bay but with lots of bars ,food ,shops and entertainment within easy walking distance, good air con in rooms, only slightly annoying thing is the constant sunglasses sellers who come past in droves even as your eating , they should keep to the streets and not bother you when you sit sown to drink or eat. everyone we spoke to was happy with the appartments. would go again, everything around pool area and comunal areas was spotless

Room Tip: ground floor had no view , sea views are at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

stayed at this hotel recently and would really advise you to go there if you have kids. the rooms werent massive but had everything you want in a self catering room. the air con in there was really good too and the tv in the room had english kids channels too. the pool area is fantastic for kids, the splash area as well as the main pool were both clean and had a lifeguard on everyday between 10am and 6pm which was good. chip kept the kids entertained round the pool in the daytime by having them queueing up and throwing them in the pool which my daughter loved. the receptionists are very helpful and speak fluent english too. we ate at the playa bella bar alot of the nights and didnt have a bad meal once. very clean area and the bar staff are superb and a credit to the hotel, so friendly, so chatty, really hard working and nothing is too much trouble for them. the entertainment was a good variety every night and was good quality every night and drew some decent crowds in. double dees were a funny act, push the button quiz was quite good too and rolling soul were really good to listen to. the night always started off with a few games of bingo with chip with a decent prize of over 100 euros for a 1 euro ticket. the hotel is in a good location, its away from the hustle and bustle of san antonio town but a five minute water taxi over to it from near the hotel or 25 mins walk if you want to head there. there are plenty of bars, shops and restaurants around the hotel and loads of bars with activities to cater the hotel is situated right onto the beach is a big bonus, the entry into the sea is a bit rocky but its still lovely once in there. the playa bella bar is situated right next to the sea and is lovely to sit over at night. also, a five minute walk from the hotel and you can watch the spectacular ibiza sunset. places to eat around the hotel are good, the indian was good, but relish about 100 yards from the hotel is a must. the fact you sometimes have to book a table speaks volumes for its quality. we went three times it was that good lol. only a couple of minor negative points were having to carry your block key, room key and safe key round with you all the time. id much prefer a swipe card for the rooms and a keycode for the safe. having keys always have a flaw. the sunbed race in the morning can be a chore. have to get there about 8.30am even though it opens at 9 just to guarantee a parasol first before the bed. but every hotel has different policies and there really is no fair way of doing this i suppose. we were unlucky enough to be there the same time as some bloke and his family who come other years. although his family were quiet, this big bloke got on a few people nerves, was loud and thought he was the entertainment, won the bingo every night too, and was even loud at that!! the fact he was able to claim 15 beds a day for family and friends provided the main topic of conversation in the morning amongst other bed chases. but again, every hotel gets one of these. overall, the hotel is a fantastic place in a great location with very helpful and entertaining staff and we will difinitely be coming back again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Just got back after 2wks in sunny ibiza. I stayed at the playa bella apartments and here's my review: For me it was exactly what I wanted. A quiet and friendly place where everyone got on and enjoyed their break in the sun. You get free air conditioning (which trust me you need) and free Wi-Fi (just ask at reception for code) just safe deposit box to pay for. The staff are friendly&helpful and leave you to enjoy you holiday. My room was regularly cleaned and bedding changed, also had the best shower I've enjoyed while on holiday. Everything I needed was within a stone's throw. Though 1 warning to secure a sunbed you need to be down b4 the pool is open @9 lol

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the playa Bella, and what an excellent time we had, travelled with another family 8 of us in total. We had asked for two neighbouring rooms but unfortunately could not get them but on the third day one next door too us became available and our friends moved in, this was not a problem for the hotel staff, who were very helpful and accommodating. Once the kids were in bed we could sit on the terrace and chat and drink some excellent Sangria.
The pool area was fantastically clean and cared for with a great splash area for the kids, although once they tried the big pool we couldn't get them out. I am not a great fan of getting up early to queue for a sun lounger but with 4 young children between us it was a chore we needed to do to get some shade.
Yes we were there when the young couples rooms got broken into. We were staying in the room below, and also in reception when it was being reported. I'm sorry to say these things happen but the staff seemed to deal with it swiftly enough, as the locks were changed the same day in the whole block and the police were checking out the building. Plus we saw many more security men on patrol afterwards. When we checked in we were offered a safety deposit box for €20 which we took to lock all our valuables in, it was large enough to hold wallets Ipad, inotabs, passports cameras etc. defiantly worth the money even got €5 deposit back.
The area is fantastic with plenty of restaurants around, would defiantly recommend Vinces BBQ bar and grill, and Relish.
There is a new water park just down the road short taxi ride, which is great for children. (And dads).
The only thing that spoilt the overall holiday was the sofa beds in the lounge they were old and lumpy and I didn't get one good nights sleep. Maybe I needed some more Sangria!
Please do not read the negative reviews on here I honestly don't think they were staying at the same apartments. We will defiantly be back it was a great holiday.
thanks Playa Bella.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

just returned from a weeks stay at playa Bella apartments. was a little worried about booking this place after some of the reviews so emailed hotel personally asking if it was at a'll possible to have a refurbished apartment, needless to say we didn't get one! we arrived to a very tidy room which had dirty towel, greasy kitchen area, a smelly and dirty toilet brush, smelly mop just dumped in the corner of the bathroom. needless to say we tried to spend as little time as possible in our room and certainly didn't want to prepare food for our toddler. however, the food in the bar was reasonably priced and lovely. entertainment was good and pool area was clean and ideal for young children. would have liked to see the children's splash area running for the amount of time it stated in the information pack.they seemed to switch everything off earlier every day. overall, nice place and lovely staff just disappointing rooms.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room or be prepared to be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Bella Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Bella Apartments

Address: Carrer de Jaen, 2 | ses Fontanelles, 07830 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Specialty lodging in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Bella Apartments 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Playa Bella Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Bella Apartments Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Playa Bella Ibiza
Playa Bella Apartments Ibiza, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Bella Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.