We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place isn't really that Bad!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Hotel Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Hotel Nautilus to your Saves list
Club Hotel Nautilus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cala de Bou 46, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This Place isn't really that Bad!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

I've just recently returned from a 2nd trip to this hotel, the first time being back in 2005. Before going out for the 2nd time, out of curiosity, I read a few reviews on this site on this place and was shocked to hear some of the things, I thought the place had completley run down and was really expecting the worst ..hotel from hell.....broken in rooms....obnoxious staff......non-edible food etc etc.
Now don't get me wrong, the Ritz this ain't, and it does rate itself as a 4 star on some sites, I would probably rate it as a 3, and I have stayed in hotels all over the world from 3 stars to 7, what I would say about this place is that it isn't really that bad as it has been made out to be and I thought i'd try and give a fair and honest review of it.
We went on an all inclusive and booked for 5 nights at a total cost of £200 per person, which to me, is great value. The food at the place was mediocre ,but not poor ,with plenty of selection, the staff, very friendly, the rooms were cleaned to a good standard daily with fresh towels, the pool area, maintained very well, with a snack bar that served alcohol, hot and soft drinks and a few average snacks, pastries, sandwiches etc until 7, then the main bar in the hotel opens where they would have some form of entertainment until close at 11.30. As far as rooms getting broken in, no one at the hotel had experienced that during the 5 night we were there and throughout the night, hotel staff knew exactly who was coming in and out.
So overall, not a bad place for the price you pay, not the sort of place I'd go for a romantic break but a good place to go if you are with friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    20
    27
    66
See reviews for
25
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NIreland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Ok so you think four star hotel all inclusive at the beach- how bad could it be?! If you are anything like me - you are thinking four star hotel - ok slight exaggeration worse it is going to be is a three star - which is acceptable! All inclusive - even if I don't eat the food, I will probably get my value worth through alcohol!
Seriously think again! We arrived at 2am - as most cheap easyjet flights do in the UK - the hotel lobby was in complete darkness - apart from a light above reception. There had been a few couples in font of us that had booked through internet travel agents to find the hotel hadn't got their booking and the night porter didn't really care but gave them a room anyway after some arguing. We were luckier (unluckier!) in which I had booked the hotel through a hotel booking site (found through trip advisor) and had emailed the hotel group directly to confirm my booking and they did have our rooms! However I had booked two rooms and we tried to pay for them separately but however the night porter found it too difficult to get a calculator and divide the total by two and just held our passports until the morning! You would also think that they would give you two rooms at least on the same floor when booked together - instead they were three floors apart! After a tight squeeze into what has to be the oldest elevator in the world - we dropped the first couple off at the first floor - expecting the elevator to travel up to the fourth floor instead landed back to reception then the third floor back down to reception and then to the fourth floor! So after about 20mins we finally reached our room! In all honestly the room hadn't been updated in about 20 years and couldn't be rated more than a 2 star! After wakened at 5am - not by the drunken stop outs - but an actual rooster - yes as in the bird kind! We looked out of all balcony to our wonderful sea view - which could only be seen it you practically throw yourself over the balcony and stretched your neck to the right between the hotel and another building! This seemed to be the case for the majority of rooms! Ok in the true light of the morning we could see the hotel had been run down and seriously dated! We meet up with the other couple to find that their air con had been pumping out warm air and complained to reception. They were being palmed off it they weren't able to compare their air con to ours!
Breakfast, lunch and dinner were uneatable - as to say the least I am not a fussy eater -for example they had pan fried fish for lunch and then for dinner I assumed they just battered the leftover fish!
The all inclusive bar during the day was a track away unless you were at the pool or beach! There was no daytime bar lounge, even to buy a drink! The pool side was small and inadequate for the size of the hotel and was almost impossible to find a sun lounger at the pool!
The all inclusive bar was limited (local products as expected) although measures were as generous as you could get in a small plastic beaker! The snack bar was limited to a few bruised fruit, broken biscuits and cling filmed wrapped sandwiches - all looking unappetizing so can't honestly say what they tasted like! At night there was generally a queue at the bar as they had only two staff! Bar closed promptly at 11.30pm and no more drink was served - even if you wanted to pay for it! The turned the lights off on you if you were still sitting there at 12am and as people moved out towards the lobby, the lights went off out there as well!
After day two (withholding payment until air con was fixed in room 125) a maintenance guy came to look at the air con - telling us that the air con was too old, hotel too old, need new part and hotel wouldn’t pay for new one - reception then said they could move room tomorrow! So three days of no air con- the other couple expressed they were unhappy about this- as on average the heat was 33*C during the day and 20*c at night - and reception bluntly told them if they were unhappy to move to another hotel! This was the best idea we had heard and took her up on her offer! The best part of this hotel was leaving it! With regards to location, it was on a stretch of beach, it would have been a good 45min track to the west end and the water taxis would have been the quickest way to travel (although they were unpredictable) - with regards to the distances that most websites are quoting it seems to be as crow flies so unless you have a boat or are an excellent swimmer I would double the distances quoted especially with the one way systems!

Out of curiosity we moved up to the Marina Playa (self catering) - which I couldn't recommended enough if you are young and don't mind a bit of noise! But rooms clean, staff friendly, good atmosphere in a small complex, we had excellent views over the bay (proper sea views!), 20min walk to west end along the board walk, beach across the road but plenty of beds around the lively pool! (And the bar/lobby was still opened at 5am!)

If you have never been to Ibiza, it will prob be the best hol you have been on as long as you get accommodation and location right! Bring plenty of money though - it is expensive especially if you want to do it all!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, never in a billion years is this 4* - how I wish we had read the review before we went. Staff very rude, lifts that dont work, no hair-dryer in rooms, you can hire one for a silly price, not enough loungers round the pool, one issue of shower gel and soap, no beach towels to hire, no sun umberalls or cushions on sunbeds, it breaks your back sitting on bare plastic for a few hours - god it was a nighmare. Food absoutely terrible, we went fully inclusive and lunch time snack at pool bar consists of the most god awful so called ham sandwiches everyday - no choice of anything else. Breakfast and dinner really poor if you are are veggie or dont like veal you would have to eat out (not a bad idea anyway) by day two you think you are going to burst into tears when you walk in the dining room. Pestered all the time by pedlars round the pool selling rubbish. We went for a relaxing holiday - it never happend, shame as the beaches and San itself is ok, would go back but never in a million years to this hell hole.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

stayed hear in june hotel is verry good rooms are a bit dated but very clean pool and beach where superb realy enjoyed it food and drinks where good very good value for money

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

4* never in a million yrs ! , more like 2* , arrived 430am , to the hotel from hell , empty bed frames in corridors , dirty mattresses in corridors , door to rooms open with naked girls sat on the beds with men around , was like Amsterdam brothel ! , our room an many others had been broken into the view !! well was of the locals flats ! , even though we had paid 4 a side sea view !! , the carpets on the stairs were appaling stapled together , stains galore , totally disgraceful , like the oldest dirtest nightclub carpet eva ! ,
Food , totally disgraceful , unless you like salad ! , no choice , 1 chicken dish , 1 fish dish , and 1 potato dish everynight an every lunch ! , or salad , Sweets angel delight , 1 cake , or melon every day ! , everyone ate out , the restaurant totally empty !
DRINKS , well as long as you like sittin on the terrace every night from 11pm in the dark ! , (they turn the lights out !) , an at 1130 last orders , by 1145 the whole place is closed ! , you are told to take your drinks 2 your room ! , as they shut ! , this hotel is so bad anyone can walk in and help thereselves to anything , no security , wrist bands or anything ! , prob because no one would go an eat there ! ,
Childrens pool a disgrace , never cleaned , totally filthy , never cleaned dirty , an would not be nice to put a child in there , certainly nothing for children to eat , or adults
~Only good points , location to local pubs , an the maids do clean the rooms to a good standard , if you want 2* it perfect , but no more , would not recommend to anyone ! , the whole hotel commented on the food , an everyone English , just had to joke about it an eat out !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

I just came back after staying in Hotel Nautilus for 12days. The food was terrible, and one night the floors started leaking and they just put a huge bucket under it and then it went leaking on 3 other places, the floor was swaying but they didn't do anything.A waterpipe had broke and in my girlfriend room water came out in the bathroom and it got filled up with ants...! They never changed the bed sheets while i stayed there and i was bitten in my sleep from the bugs in the beds, it was really bad and i had to see a doctor and get creams and pills for it. The staff was very rude and didn't care about anything you had to say, the only person there that was nice was the guy that took care of the games on the pool area on days and entertainment on evenings. He was also the only one there that spoke English. While we stayed there 5 bedrooms were robbed, i don't understand how they would. must be the staff. The water stooped working to and we had no water for one and a half day. The old elevator stooped working too so we couldn't use it for like 2 days. I really do not recommend this hotel to anyone and especially if you have kids. But we ate out most of the time and i do recommend the place against the hotel that has both Indian and Thai food, it was called Amsterdam i think and if you want a good pizza go to George´s which is like 2 minutes to the right from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Where can I start ? there is just too much to complain about this hotel.

When we first arrived we were denied security box, it was so late and they wanted to do it the day after.... (it costed 55 euros a week, not a chance in hell)

Like you can see on my photo there was mold on our bathroom...within 2 days we were all sick...who stayed in that room (3 of us). We complaint...and what we got was a handyman who painted over it, and nothing more, ohh and yea, he stole 100 euros from us.

Back to theft.... In total there was stolen 700 euros and a laptop from icelanders (wich I was traveling with) currency rate for euro vs krona is 1 euro = 180 kronur. Wich means they got away with a laptop and around 130.000 kronur. Wich is more then some people make in a month in iceland :S

Next, the staff. There were 2 people in the whole hotel I liked, there was the entertainment manager, Alfonso, he a genius, he sometimes walked with us icelanders to west end, and to other places and got us better deals. And there was the lady who worked at the "snack bar" (if I can call it snackbar, dry buiscuits and old bread)
Rest of the crew insulted us, screamed at us, were always in bad mood, you get the picture.

Kitchen.
A friend of mine stumbled into the kitchen the first day, thought it was the way out...they were smoking inside there while making the food. DISGUSTING. EVERY day we got the same food, cooked a little bit diffrent, but always the same, even the pasta was tired after a week of only pasta. One good note on the kitchen, the cakes and the icecream were good.

House cleaning: most of the days we didn't get a clean towels, and not our room cleaned. It was crap.

Hotel in general:
In our second week the hotel started to flood, the water was out for a day or so, water everywhere and they only put towels and cans under the water to stop it (there is a big hole in the ceeling in the lobby now...after water got through) There were ants in some of the rooms, the air condition didn't work for half the time we were there, and when she worked, she also leaked.

We ordered a ocean virew room, and you can see on my photos what and "excellence" sea view we got, that was like 1 meter we saw.

There is soooo much more I can talk about. But to summon everything together.

DO NO GO THERE !!! for the love of god, if u want a plesent stay in ibiza, get another hotel. This one is just crap crap crap crap.

I will never in my life even take a look at that hotel if I go back to ibiza.

And again, DONT GO !!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Hotel Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Nautilus

Address: C/ Cala de Bou 46, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 105 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Hotel Nautilus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Club Hotel Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Ibiza
Nautilus Hotel
Club Hotel Nautilus Ibiza, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Hotel Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.