We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Sol 2Star????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Soledad 49, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gran Sol 2Star????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Been to Gran sol three year running now for closing parties,This Hotel is unbelievable for a two star ive stayed in a lot worse 4star hotels. San Antonio is not the greatest of places to stay for a holiday and to be frank i wouldnt want to. But if you go to ibiza purelly for clubing its great.Have stayed in lots of other 2 stars in San ann and they are terrible.This Hotel for its class is the best there.far better than ibiza Rocks.You will not regret it!!!

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    232
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
86
356
41
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent budget hotel...Stayed 20th sept for 4 nights for closing parties. Been to Ibiza many times over the years and stayed in everything from villas to flea pits. Staying at Hotel Gran Sol was the perfect location and it provided a very friendly and comfortable place to recharge batteries. Reception staff are really helpful, friendly and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Pool area fantastic and bar food is good, drinks reasonably priced. Really nice mix of people, all ages, families, couples and sensible party people. Location is ideal for sunset strip and all things san antonio..... Planning on re-booking for 2013...think prices have increase a little for this season, but still fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear loftysalter Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really proud to hear you are choosing to stay with us again next summer, we are also really happy to hear you enjoyed your last stay with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our second visit this year and yet again we could not fault it ,2 star is a serious under rating,the staff are superb as is the cleanliness of the hotel,the pool area is clean and more than adequate with an abundance of sun lounges.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view room in fairness an additional charge may prevail
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear mikejohn1 Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know everything at our hotel was to your liking. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been in this hotel a few years ago. It was a good experience overall. For the price i paid which if i remember correctly was dirt cheap for ibiza (60 euro a night) I was not dissapointed. The only negative thing would be the customer service is very average (common in ibiza)..
It's also abit far from the best clubs, in San antoni the clubs are usually cheezy and tend toward the commercial/bad music side. Breakfast was good, room was clean an the view was nice.
If i'm under budget again i will think of returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have now stayed here 3 years in a row. The hotel is very clean, the staff friendly and the pool area is great. Lots of space around the pool, with plenty of beds, they even have a nice grass area so if you want some privacy this is a great place. I've been with my partner, we loved it. Then took my 3 year old son, perfect and went last year with a group of girls for a hen party. I had stayed in other hotels prior to finding this hotel and they were awful, noisy and full of drunken teenagers. This hotel is perfect for families, friends and couples. The food is your average selection, it's okay for convenience for lunch around by the pool. There are shaded areas too. Few minutes walk to cafe mambo / del mar and some really other nice sea front restaurants. 15 min cab ride to Pacha 20 min to Ibiza town which is worth a visit. Great shops & old town stunning. The rooms are basic nothing flashy but good enough space. With my friends we booked a triple and there was enough room. This needs to be a 3-4*

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out to sea, these are really nice with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear LondonPixie thank you for your review. All your comments are greatly appreciated. We are proud to hear you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel. It is a pleasure for us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again if you decide to come back to Ibiza in the future.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A little out of the clubbing scene but perfect for couples, just beside mambo and the other classier bars, quiet enough to get. Good night sleep.
Staff were helpful and pleasant, rooms clean and tidy.
If you are looking for a party pool everyday this is not the place for you but perfect for relaxing days and party nights.
5minute walk to the strip, other hotels look dirty so for cleanliness and a good price, gran sol is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Njenkins91 Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel .
We thought some tips on how to get to the clubs might come in handy in this post :
Privilege offers a free bus transfer from Kanya thats only one minute walk from the hotel
All other clubs on the island can be reached by bus from San Antonio´s bus station ( 10 min walk from the hotel ) using the Discobus service that departs on the hour all night
We hope to see you again if you decide to come back to Ibiza in the future.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great location, very clean rooms, helpful staff, didn't get the chance to try the breakfast, never woke up early enough! No crazy over-enthusiastic drunk people staying at the hotel. It's a nice getaway to rest and sleep after a wild night in Ibiza clubs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Yasmina80 Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know everything was to your liking during your stay at our hotel.

If you decide to stay with us again we would like to invite you to try our breakfast

Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza

Address: Calle Soledad 49, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#2 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-managed Gran Sol Hotel is one of San Antonio's favourite, modestly priced hotels: it lies in a quieter corner of the resort just a short walk away from the town centre and beach of San Antonio.There is a fresh-water swimming-pool on a spacious sun-terrace complete with loungers and sun-shades. There is also a garden with lawn for more serious sunbathing.The small sandy beach of Caló d'es Moro is less than 100m from the hotel whilst the beaches of Cala Grassio and more sophisticated Cala Grassioneta are a stroll down the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.