We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for best price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Soledad 49, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best hotel for best price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great location, very clean rooms, helpful staff, didn't get the chance to try the breakfast, never woke up early enough! No crazy over-enthusiastic drunk people staying at the hotel. It's a nice getaway to rest and sleep after a wild night in Ibiza clubs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Yasmina80 Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know everything was to your liking during your stay at our hotel.

If you decide to stay with us again we would like to invite you to try our breakfast

Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    221
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
329
39
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having worked in Ibiza in 2010 and visited Ibiza several times in the past, i can safely say Hotel Gran Sol is in my opinion the best.

Although this time round i visited with my girlfriend, i think the hotel is appropriate for many different holiday makers. Its clean, in a great location and offers more than you bargained for.

The location for me is perfect, it sits in the much nicer end of town, away from the Chavs up the other side of the west end and with it been a stones throw away from the Golden Buddah, Kanya and various sunset pool bars it offers a great way to recover after a night out in Ibiza.

The facilities merit much more than a 2 star with a jacuzzi and great sun loungers. The poolside food is a reasonable standard.

The Staff are helpful, friendly and trustworthy. The rooms are clean, high quality and do the job.

Best of all the prices are unbeatable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Adam B, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that someone like you that has visited Ibiza on so many occasions enjoyed their stay with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again next time you visit the island.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and i regularly stay at the Hotel Gan Sol for a weeks holiday. The rooms are spotless as is the hotel. Included in your room is a fridge and safe (which you do not have to pay additional for). All staff are very helpful and friendly. The pool and new hot tub are sparkingly clean and the gardens are beautifully maintained. The location is brillant as it is a short walk to the Sunset Strip. Infact if you leave the hotel and cross the road you get the best view of the sunset from the prom. The hotel is very quiet during the day, which is lovely as you would expect it to be crazy busy noisey for being so close to "where it all happens"

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same standard. However the rooms over looking the garden would be quieter than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Alison 2012 Thank you for your kind comment. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and to know everything was to your satisfaction.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in the last week of party season. The room was much larger than we were expecting with a huge bathroom to match and great water temperature. The front desk staff were very polite, the buffet breakfast was excellent and the hotel is walking distance to Cafe Mambo (awesome drinks venue) and supermarkets, restaurants etc. Great value for money, would definately recommend to friends and stay there again. The only downside was the weather - rain, rain and more rain!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Rebecca L Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are happy to hear that you will recommend us to friends and that you would choose to stay with us again next time you visit Ibiza.
Unfortunately the weather in Ibiza can be a bit unpredictable at the end of September begining of October but apart from some rainy days we have had great weather this season all the way thru to October
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a great hotel in Sant Antoni, Ibiza. We booked 4 rooms for 8 pax and reservations was very smooth. Gran Sol is very affordable, clean and staff is very helpful. Choices during breakfast was very good. I suggest you add a few Euros for this.

Location is also very good as it is a short walk to Cafe del Mar and Cafe Mambo. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Pay Extra for Breakfast. Try to get the highest floor. View is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Gary2007 Thank you for your kind comment. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the food served on our buffet breakfast.

We appreciate the fact of you recommending us and are looking forward to seeing you again if you decide to come back to Ibiza in the future.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great hotel and great value. I travel a lot on business and can be picky - but I would be more than happy to stay at the Gran Sol anytime. From start to finish, the family run style shines through. All staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel is kept very clean and is very well maintained. We stayed at the end of the summer season, but everything was very well kept. We took the B&B option - standard buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Bar snacks and drinks are great quality and value (cocktails half the price of the sunset strip bars). Nice swimming pool and lawned gardens with plenty of sun beds. Pool/beach towels at a small fee. The locality is quiet, with more locals' apartments than hotels. Sunset strip is 5 to 10 minutes walk, with Cafe Mambo, Cafe del Mar etc. Main town is a little further, easy 10 to 15 minutes. Local small supermarkets across the road or 2 minutes away.
I can honestly say I do not have a single negative comment. This was my second stay at the Gran Sol and there's every chance I'll be back there for some early or late summer sun next year!

Room Tip: There are rooms with sea views, but if you don't get one the alternative street side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Mark B thank you for your review. All your comments are greatly appreciated. We are proud to hear you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It is a pleasure for us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again if you decide to come back to Ibiza in the future.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I went with my grown up daughter having booked through a booking agency, don't, they had hidden charges, book direct. Firstly we had amazing weather - it was over 30 degrees every day 2nd - 9th Oct 2012, much hotter than we were expecting, other regular guests said it was freak weather. We only had to wear cardis late at night on a couple of occasions.
The hotel is very clean and looks very new despite its age. I mailed ahead to ask for a twin room and a seaview, they were unable to manage the twin beds on arrival but we were swiftly moved next morning to a larger family room overlooking the pool. All rooms have free safety deposit boxes, a decent sized fridge and air con. Wifi is dodgy throughout the hotel, you need to be close to the router on each floor, but at least its free, unlike in the UK! We hired our pool towels for €15 - you get € 13 back on safe return. That saved an awful lot of space in our cases. Nicely mixed clientel, OAPs on extended breaks and young clubbers doing the end of the season. We were only disturbed once in the early hours and a call to reception sorted that out promptly. We were told the hotel will remove noisy guests.
The pool area was excellent, newly surfaced and a jacuzzi added. There are cushioned beds round the pool and in a lawned area. Plenty of room in October! the only drawback for me was the pool temperature - freezing! The bar and cafe are next to the pool and serve snacks til 3.15pm, an omelette and salad was €4, a can of diet coke was €1.95 and beer was €3 a pint. excellent prices for a hotel.
We stayed B&B, breakfast was good, a buffet of cooked and continental. We tried the evening buffet at €10 - it was very popular - but found it was just too much to eat in the evening, we preferred a snack in a bar!
We spent many evenings in and around Cafe Mambo watching the sunset. You can take your own drinks onto the rocks and listen to the music for free or take a a seat and a small bottle of San Miguel €6! but worth the people watching experience. We also enjoyed the Golden Buddah bar close to the hotel which has sofas and great sea views. Beer €3 a pint. Good, cheap bar meals there too. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and reception told us which supermarket to use - 5 minute walk.Taxi was €30 to airport. We loved it so much I've already booked again for next June with husband this time.

Room Tip: The top two floors have a seaview and a sunset over the pool. Lower floors have a seaview towards Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGranSol, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Rosie5519 Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really proud to hear you have chosen to stay with us again next time you visit Ibiza, we are also glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff solved the problems you encountered
We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards
Hotel Gran Sol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza

Address: Calle Soledad 49, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#2 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-managed Gran Sol Hotel is one of San Antonio's favourite, modestly priced hotels: it lies in a quieter corner of the resort just a short walk away from the town centre and beach of San Antonio.There is a fresh-water swimming-pool on a spacious sun-terrace complete with loungers and sun-shades. There is also a garden with lawn for more serious sunbathing.The small sandy beach of Caló d'es Moro is less than 100m from the hotel whilst the beaches of Cala Grassio and more sophisticated Cala Grassioneta are a stroll down the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.