We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay and would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel to your Saves list
Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Jose Luis Carrillo Benitez s/n, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay and would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having just returned from Pueblo Andaluz on an all inclusive basis and having read previous not so good reviews I want to provide my own review

A very pretty hotel about a mile walk from Puerto Banus with bus links into nearby Marbella.
The hotel is very clean, staff very helpful, entertainers work extremely hard and are good fun. The pool is large, plenty of sun beds. The food is fine and plenty to choose from, remember this is a 3 star not 4 star hotel.

Mainly French and Spanish speaking guests but then why do us Brits feel we always have to be the main holiday makers, it made for a lovely mix.

There were 10 of us aged between 15 and 70+ and we all had a good time.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Gerente at Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and took back with you many fond memories of our beautiful country.

Once again thank you for choosing the Hi! Hotel Pueblo Andaluz as your holiday destination and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
CR
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    92
    51
    27
    15
See reviews for
53
104
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Only one bar which is by the pool, across a small road from the rooms/reception. Pool-side entertainment is constant, very loud... and in French. The evening entertainment is based in the bar and unfortunately can be too loud to allow conversation! Staff are friendly and all speak English. Food is adequate but samey. Wifi only in reception area but free. Hairdryer is free with 20 euro deposit. Rooms vary enormously; we moved 3 times, but our final room was fabulous - double fronted with terrace, but most rooms only have tiny balcony or none. Best are 75 to 78 (we had 75). Aircon is ineffectual but the ceiling light/fan worked well. No fridge or kettle. Easy access to local (cheap) buses and the beach is a 10 minute walk. Nice bar next door 'Buddies' where they have a guy playing guitar and singing (was good), drinks are a reasonable price and is friendly. Hotel next door might suit Brits better... Hotel Blanco I think it was called. Overall we had a very pleasant and relaxed week here, but were disappointed by the noisy entertainment and lack of a quiet bar area. Recommend you get the local bus from the airport (about 7 euros to Marbella) then a 20 euro taxi to the hotel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms 75 to 78 are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Gerente at Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time that you have taken to share your comment in the Tripadvisor review following your stay at our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. We are currently reviewing what we can do to improve our menu. We occasionally try different food options and see how popular they become depending on Guest suggestions and feedback.

We are sorry you had to move 3 times and happy to know that you finally found a fabulous room with terrace as you expected.
We know that holidays are special and we do our best to make them completely enjoyable.

Best Regards,
CR
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a hen weekend which was organised by Freedom Events and allocated by them so was a bit apprehensive as to where we might end up. However, when we pulled up outside with all the beautiful bougainvillea framing the entrance and other flowers, I liked it instantly. Past reception was a courtyard with lime and lemon trees; and it has a really quirky layout which made it really pretty. Some of the tiled, spiral staircases were a bit precarious but I liked them. The room was basic but perfectly adequate, given its 3 star status. The food was fine, we were all inclusive so you could get drinks all day long, including some alcoholic drinks. The pool was a good size and very clean, beds were always available. The hotel entertainment was a bit questionable but we didn't partake so it did not matter to us. Its a 10 min stroll to the beach and there is a lovely promenade to walk along. We only found one cafe so its not over served with refreshment stops. Puerto Banus is not far, walkable though we did take taxis (approx 10 euros inc. tip each way). All in all we were pretty impressed by this unassuming complex.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Gerente at Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services.

The genuine care and comfort of our Guest is always our highest mission. Your concerns and feedback have been acknowledged noted and shared to our staff.

Once again, we thank you for your support of Hi! Hotel Pueblo Andaluz and we hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
CR
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just loved the low rise accommodation with beautiful flowers in all areas .we stayed in the main body of the hotel,but would love to stay in the courtyard area next time. We enjoyed not having Brits abroad there,in fact as most of the guests were French it really was a pleasant change. The entertainment team worked very hard all day to keep the guests happy. I had a face and back massage for two euros,it was perfect. The food was a delight always plenty of choice,in fact we have both gained wieght, the Spanish night was our favourite.Fatima in the resturant was charming and tried her English on us every evening. Olga in the cocktail bar had a wonderful smile for all.Severine on reception was also a delight she made us feel very welcome and answered all our questions. We went to Gib which we booked through the hotel it was cheaper than the shop up the road.The swimming pool was just perfect.We would not hesitate in booking a return visit,in fact we will try for next June.it may not suit you if you want lots of noise and late nights!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203. Overlooked a courtyard and the view of the mountains was spectacular.we never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Gerente at Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the encouraging words you have shared to all the readers of Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our hotel.

It is our great pleasure to hear you had an enjoyable staying with us.

Furthermore, we appreciate your positive comments on our food quality, swimming-pool and your great experience with the entertainment.

We will share your comments to all the staff, especially Fatima, Olga and Sevrine and I believe the will be very happy to read it, too.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back again in our hotel.

Feel free to contact us personally if we may be of any assistance pertaining to a future booking.

Best Regards,
CR
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend for hen party. Didn't know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised by the delightful grounds and flowering courtyards. The food was really ok. Staff were very helpful. It is a French hotel predominantly but staff all spoke English. Not far from beach. Drinks on the AI package were decent.

Lovely swimming pool area. Not far from Puerto Banus and Marbs. Lots to do in the surrounding area. All in all a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Gerente at Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us and thank you for your nice comments, we are pleased to see that you had a great stay with us and that you found our staff very helpful, we have immediately shared this comment with them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in your next visit.

Sincerely,
CR
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went with my two sisters and loved every min, great location only 20min strole into Banus, Food was tasteful and lots of it too...Rooms basic but very clean..We had no problems with this hotel and im looking forward to my next visit with my husband this week..YIPPEE!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Gerente at Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your extensive and extremely thorough review. It is very rewarding to learn that you have indeed enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure your review will give Tripadvisor readers a lot of information about the area and the hotel.

Your suggestions have already been taken into account in order to deliver seamless service to our Guest.

Once again, many thank for having spent the time and shared your experience of the Hi! Hotel Pueblo Andaluz.

CR
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yes this is a French hotel, but all the service staff spoke English. We were not interested in joining in the activities around the pool. In fact we would have preferred no poolside activities as it was quite noisy...it probably would have been even worse in English! But if you want a holiday with organised activities, especially for kids, this is not the hotel for you. I would say 90% of the guests were French and over 50 years old. Not a problem for us, but some people might want to be around younger folk. There is a similar hotel but for English people just around the corner called Cortijo Blanco, which may suit some people better. The pool is not as big there though!

Rooms: The first room we were given was large but very noisy (sounded like some kind of generator). We complained and were offered another room, which was much smaller but didn't have the irritating noise, so we took it. This room did however start emitting a strange foghorn-like noise from the bathroom about half way through our stay, which disturbed our sleep quite a lot, but by that point we couldn't be bothered complaining again! Other things about the room to bear in mind:
- No tea/coffee waiting facilities or minibar
- Not many plug sockets (only one in our room)
- No hairdryer
- Safety deposit box - €2 per day for key rental plus €20 deposit (worth it I think)
- There is a TV in the room, we didn't use it but you have to rent the remote control from reception if you want to use it.
- Our room didn't have any outdoor space for drying swimsuits etc (I think some had a balcony though).

For me the best thing about this hotel was the pool. Although it was not a great place to relax and read a book (because of the entertainment) it was amazing for swimming in. It was at least as big as my local pool, and I liked being able to swim lengths in it. The water was incredibly clean - no flies or bits in it at all. I normally get bad eczema when I swim in chlorinated pools but this did not affect my skin at all so I don't know what they use. It was probably the nicest pool I have ever swam in!

There are some excursions organised by the hotel's entertainment team but they are all in French. I recommend a company called VivAndalucia (http://www.vivandalucia.com) if you want to go on any trips. We travelled to Gibraltar with them and it was a wonderful day, and all in English. They have a board up outside the local 'supermarket' near the hotel, and a man was there between 09:00 and 13:00 taking bookings.

It's not exactly a buzzing hub of nightlife but we didn't want to go clubbing. Buddies Bar is the closest place for food and drink, and we were there practically every night. Lovely food and nice atmosphere. The staff are very accommodating too. There is a street of restaurants a bit further along, past the other hotel - we had a nice Chinese there (follow signs for the pizzeria!). There are also loads of restaurants along the seafront and in the actual town of San Pedro. It is also a pleasant 30-40 minutes walk along the promenade to Puerto Banus which is a completely different world, with trendy beach clubs and restaurants. We went there twice and it was nice, but I preferred our quieter resort.

For gift shopping there are some nice market stalls on the promenade (turn right when you get down to the promenade from the hotel). N.B. The stalls are only there on Sunday, so if you see something you like make sure you buy it because they're not there any other day!

Nearest cash points are in San Pedro town or Puerto Banus (both 30-40 minutes walk away). I think you could also get euros from the hotel reception, but no doubt their exchange rate is not so good.

Free wifi in reception area only. It seemed to be a really weak signal though. Fine for very light internet use, but can be frustrating if you need to do something quickly!

IMPORTANT! Do pay out for a private taxi transfer from the airport. We got a shuttle bus because it was half the price, but it meant that what should have been a 45 minute journey actually took 4 hours! So we lost out on an evening of our holiday...NEVER AGAIN!

All in all we had a lovely stay there and would definitely go back. Just make sure it's the right hotel and location for you before booking though.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room they give you, ask to move - the rooms vary a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel

Address: Avenida Jose Luis Carrillo Benitez s/n, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surroundings where we can enjoy all the beauty of the south, nearby Seville, Granada, Cordoba and Marbella make this the perfect destination to share sensations with friends and family. Located between San Pedro de Alcantara and Marbella, just 24 km from Estepona, and 45 km from Ronda and just 3 km from the famous Puerto Banus. Refurbished in 2008. 211 rooms with air-conditioning (on request), safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adults pool, 1 children’s pool, pool bar, buffet restaurant, snack bar, Themed Dinner three times a week, Flamenco Show, a magnificent offer for both children and adults. Great additional local amenities and wonderful for golf lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Andaluz Hotel San Pedro De Alcantara
Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel San Pedro De Alcantara, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.