We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hosts, great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dona Catalina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dona Catalina to your Saves list
Hotel Dona Catalina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Oriental 14, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing hosts, great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The staff and owners of Hotel Dona Catalina were very absolutely fantastic, the owner had learnt all our names within the first 5 minutes of speaking to us and continued to use them for the rest of our stay! The room (triple room) was very neat and tidy with space for all three of us and our travel bags. The room had easy to control temperature facilities and our room contained a safe (which you could use with a €5 deposit. The morning breakfasts were a perfect start to the day with a continental service and fantastic coffee. The staff were happy to provide you with any information they can and were happy to call a taxi for you when needed.

Overall, they were absolutely fantastic and I would happily use them again.

Gregg, Mike & Jack

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dona Catalina, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Gregg, thank you so much for taking the time to write your very kind comments about our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our breakfast so much. It is always our aim to provide the most personal service possible for our guests, and it was our pleasure to help you whenever we could. We look forward to being able to welcome you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
21
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We felt welcomed when we arrived. The staff was very nice, helpful and caring. Ian the front office manager is amazing, funny and is always up for a chat. Great service with good breakfast.
The hotel is basic, well maintained and very clean with good WIFI, this hotel gives you great value for the money. A walk to the beach takes about 10-15 min, the hotel has a bus station near the hotel that goes to beautiful Puerto Banus (5 min) and Marbella center (10 min).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dona Catalina, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It's always a pleasure to be able to offer our guests the most personal service possible and to help them to have the best possible time here in San Pedro. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the very near future! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is a located a 30min walk or a 5min taxi ride from the port. There is a superb gym that is located just across the road.

The hotel itself while basic, is very clean and has a certain charm to it. What really made my stay was the very friendly and accomodating owner and his staff.

I would deffinately stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dona Catalina, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear James, thank you very much for your kind comments concerning our team and the cleanliness of our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The staff and owner were very accommodating to our group. Nothing was ever too much trouble, be it advice on trips, booking taxis or just to have a chit chat. Rooms were basic but well maintained and clean with a decent shower as well. Breakfast choice was limited but of good quality. The owner kept breakfast open for us late on one day and opened early on another, which was very kind. Wifi signal was good on the first floor.
Great value if you're planning a tip to Marbella but don't want to stay in the heart of Puerto Banus. It's around a 10minute taxi ride to town, and cabs are plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dona Catalina, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear jthak, Thank you very much for your kind remarks about the breakfast in our hotel and the service provided by our team. It is very important to us that we provide the most personal service possible for our guests, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I arrived late on a friday night with no booking. The staff were really friendly and gave me a room on the 3rd floor. The wifi wasn't very strong and I asked to be moved to a room with a better signal, this they did with no problem at all. My room was spotlessly clean and fresh and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great, for me i have fruit and coffee and a boiled egg but there was cereals , toast, breads, ham, cheese etc etc so for the price it was brilliant. I met the owner Paul who was serving breakfast and he is a cool guy, very pleasant and up for a chat, genuinely interested in the customers experience. Location is excellent and parking outside too. It has being renovated recently and you can see that everything is still nice and new. The corridor is tiled and there is some noise with guest walking late at night, that was my only issue. All in all I cannot fault this Hotel, the price was shockingly inexpensive and I shall definitely return

Room Tip: I found room 204 fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dona Catalina, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about our staff, breakfast, rooms and WiFi. We always try to provide a personal service to our guests and to do everything possible to make them feel welcome. We look forward very much to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I originally booked intending to stay for a couple of nights, but ended up staying for a couple of weeks. Why? Well the new owners, and the staff were both extremely helpful in innumerable ways; clearly they are concerned about the experience a guest has there. The rooms were what you might term 'mid category' (i.e. not basic, not luxury), and spotlessly clean. The location within San Pedro is excellent and with my room at the back of the hotel I did not suffer any outside noise issues. Add in the good, continental breakfast and you have a great value there that you will struggle to beat elsewhere. And the key test: Would I return? Definitely if again in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dona Catalina, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the service, team, cleanliness and the breakfast in our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to being able to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a few golf friends. The director, Paul , has helped us very good by selecting and book the golfcourses for us. He was a great help. Clean rooms and very good breakfast. I understood from other guests that the ownership of the hotel has been changed and the services has improved a lot.
I agree; good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dona Catalina, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make such kind remarks about our hotel! We always aim to provide the highest possible level of service to our guests, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dona Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Catalina

Address: Av. Oriental 14, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dona Catalina*** is located in the centre of San Pedro de Alcantara, just 5 minutes drive from the glamorous marinas of Marbella and Puerto Banus. The hotel is a stone's throw away from the church square 'Plaza de la Iglesia' and is surrounded by good restaurants and tapas bars. In the picturesque, orange tree-lined pedestrian shopping street, round the corner from the hotel, you will find welcoming terraces where you can enjoy the 'Spanish lifestyle' until the early hours. For golfers, the Hotel Dona Catalina is an ideal base, with so many beautiful golf courses within easy reach. If soaking up the sun is more your thing, then an easy, pleasant 20 minute walk brings you to the palm-trees, chiringuitos (beach bars), sand and sea of San Pedro beach. Dona Catalina offers 39 very clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, all equipped with satellite T.V. and air-conditioning/heating. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and throughout the public areas of the hotel. In our 24-hour Reception we are more than pleased to advise you about local golf courses, places to eat and drink and any other local information you may require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dona Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dona Catalina San Pedro De Alcantara, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dona Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.