We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dona Catalina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dona Catalina to your Saves list
Hotel Dona Catalina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Oriental 14, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hi

Stayed here last week and overall would really recommend staying here for the money. Make sure you specify a no smoking room though.

I didn't elect the breakfast as like to get out and the little cafe across the road, recently renovated by a lovely filipino family, is cheap as chips and good quality.

The staff are all super nice and really accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
20
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tielt-Winge Vlaams Brabant
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Normal standard room, not big but with hot water shower and balcony. Shower is quit small, even for one person.
Brekfast is poor, every day the same, no variation. Quit far away from the sea.
The manager is a friendly talking Dutch guy from The Netherlands.
The bacside from the hotel is verry calm, no noices but at the frontside, there is a verry bussy street.
Place to be for older coupples iff you want a " relax " vacation.....

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I understand some of the negative comments seems to me that these people had a mismatch of hotel to requirements. If you want to be in the middle of a lovely Spanish town that is not so close to the beach then this is fantastic. I would say thou that the best places no matter where you are staying would need a car, for example my favourite beach with great restaurants and bars is Laguna Village (search on google earth) its between san pedro and Estepona, its fantastic, I come here every morning for breakfast at Terra Sanna food, coffee and service is fantastic, but there are no buildings close by let alone hotels. So to see this area properly and enjoy the beach front bars and cafe's dotted along the coast you need a car. I found this hotel was a great base, Ian on reception was amazing we took all of his recommendations on where to eat and where to visit and they were all perfect. If you read this Ian we had a present for you but left in such a hurry we forgot to give it to you :( The hotel is diagonally opposite the square which has a few restaurants dotted around, I ate mostly (Ians recommendation) in a restaurant owned by a Dutch guy the steaks and ribs were amazing and cooked to perfection. At the top of the hill othe same side as the hotel is a gastro restaurant it was also very good. I had only booked for a week but we found out that in 2 weeks there was the San Pedro fiesta, the rooms are fine very clean good bed and a powerful shower what else do you need ? Oh and not to forget the great friendly staff., so we stayed so we could be in the middle of the action and for a week of the fiesta that's exactly where we were, it was a great experience. Breakfast is sufficient what do you expect for the price !! I enjoyed trying some of the local places to eat breakfast. A massive plus this hotel offered free wifi in all rooms and it worked a treat if you go to the 4* Andalucia Plaza h10 they only have it in the reception area, if you go to the 5* hotel at Los flamingos they charge 3 euro and hour ! I came back in December but this hotel had closed for the season and I stayed at the Andalucia Plaza which I will review later.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms (as i extended our stay from 1 week) that were quiet, Ian on reception looked after u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I only stayed here the one night whilst waiting for friends to arrive. It was small and friendly, the lady at reception was very helpful, the room was basic and clean but served its purpose. The continental breakfast in the morning was lovely and the location in the centre of san pedro was fantastic. Its by no means somewhere id stay for more than a few days but for the one night it was perfect and id have no hesitation in staying there again if i should ever go back to san pedro

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Room was very clean and service was great, Staff were very helpfull, had a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Sorry to say that but reading the last reviews feels like i've been in a different hotel...First of all it is far away from the beach,aproximately 1 km 15 min to walk which is pretty much on summertime...The beach is calm and beutifull but full of stones.In the area there is no restaurant which i can say that had a decent menu.It is located 13 km from Marbella centrum and it is totally useless to take a local transport (been waiting for a bus one hour and didnt show up in the end) so your solution is a taxi which costs 14 euros.
In the expedia advertisement it was written that you have a view to the sea from the balcony.Well...Thats just not true.At the opposit of the balcony there is just one horrible building which looked like it came out from a poor neighbourhood of Mexico.You can hear everything that is going on on your floor with details.
As much as you understad i dont recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gastor, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Our second time of visiting Dona Catalina. Great central location, clean comfortable rooms although a little "corporate" maybe but excellent value for money. Ian remembered us from our previous visit last year and even discounted our room as we were not offered a parking voucher last time. He even remembered the restaurant we went to (more than I did!).

The restaurant we went to this time is DEFINITELY worth seeking out. Authentic Spanish bodega with the not-so authentic name of Bar Waikiki. One of the best steaks I've had in a long time, perfectly cooked and accompanied by griddled FRESH vegetables. Wonderful. The owner was very friendly and even joined us in an excellent Pedro Jimenez. It's just a short walk from the hotel in

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dona Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Catalina

Address: Av. Oriental 14, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dona Catalina*** is located in the centre of San Pedro de Alcantara, just 5 minutes drive from the glamorous marinas of Marbella and Puerto Banus. The hotel is a stone's throw away from the church square 'Plaza de la Iglesia' and is surrounded by good restaurants and tapas bars. In the picturesque, orange tree-lined pedestrian shopping street, round the corner from the hotel, you will find welcoming terraces where you can enjoy the 'Spanish lifestyle' until the early hours. For golfers, the Hotel Dona Catalina is an ideal base, with so many beautiful golf courses within easy reach. If soaking up the sun is more your thing, then an easy, pleasant 20 minute walk brings you to the palm-trees, chiringuitos (beach bars), sand and sea of San Pedro beach. Dona Catalina offers 39 very clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, all equipped with satellite T.V. and air-conditioning/heating. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and throughout the public areas of the hotel. In our 24-hour Reception we are more than pleased to advise you about local golf courses, places to eat and drink and any other local information you may require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dona Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dona Catalina San Pedro De Alcantara, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dona Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.