We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. de la Fontanilla S/N, 11140 Conil de la Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was easy to find a parking space in the street, so no need to use their parking. This was the last hotel on our Andalucia tour and also the most expensive one, so my expectations were very high. The hotel is in a beautiful location, next to the Fontanilla beach. The outside of the hotel met my expectations with lovely grounds, but I was a bit disappointed with the room. I was also expecting small details like other hotels of this category have, i.e. there is only a dispenser for the shampoo/body wash in the bath and a couple of soaps in the sink. The staff were very friendly. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniobasallote, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,


first of all let me thank you for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor, it helps us to know our guest's experience.

It is a joy for us to know that you enjoyed the location's advantages, outside's facilities and, very specially, our staff' kindness.

Finally I also appreciate your improvement suggestion and encourage you to visit to know our room's reorganization.

Kind regards,

Antonio Basallote

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    226
    61
    15
    12
See reviews for
365
282
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in a Junior suite at the start of our Andalucian Trip and 4 days at the end in a 2 bed family room. 2 adults and 2 young children.
Its not cheap (we did go peak season) but definitely a solid 4 star hotel trying its hardest to become a 5 star (not too far off either). All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful at all times of the day or night, buffet food was good and offered a wide and varied selection each day. Hotel is maintained to a high standard. Everything was clean and tidy. 5 pools of varying sizes and depths (good for children). An evening show everynight for adults and kids alike, and wifi available (intermittent in some areas)
It is a large hotel and certainly the second stay was busier than the first but good location for beach and town (15 minutes walk with kids - hot in August). Beach is exceptionally good and 5 minutes from the hotel.
Overall it is a good choice for families, nice seaside town, brilliant beach, very few Brits venture here for no good reason, 1.5 hours max from Gibraltar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abasallote, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

thanks for sharing your experience with us. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay, specially the facilities and of course the kids animation and the staff in general.

Me and the hole team will be glad to see you and your family next year!!

Kind regards from Conil,

Antonio Basallote

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Fuerte Conil-Costa Luz in late April 2012. Having read several negative comments about the hotel we did not expect too much (other hotels received even worse comments and this appeared to be the best of a mediocre bunch). We were, therefore, surprised to discover that All staff were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation certainly up to 4 star standard (the weather was poor during our visit and we spent longer than expected in our room). The breakfasts (included in the room rate) were excellent. We took the buffet dinner for 3 nights; the food was of a very high standard (meat and fish cooked to order) and, at the special offer rate of €15 represented excellent value. In April we had no difficulty parking in the side roads near the hotel and did not use the hotel’s secure parking facility. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniobasallote, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest,


first of all I would like to thank you for your commentaries. Our aim is the constant improvement that is why it is so important to know our guests' opinión.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Fuerte Conil – Costaluz.

You wil always be wellcome

King regards


Antonio Basallote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed three nights as part of our seven night honeymoon in Spain. The hotel itself is lovely, immaculate infact and a few hundred yards walk to the beach. However, we found the staff were not very welcoming, certainly by no means four star standard.
We did`nt recieve a very good welcome from the front desk thanks to a grumpy woman employee. When we said we were on our honeymoon she did'nt say a word, not even congratulations. We asked for our pillows to be changed on the first day as you can choose different types, the one`s we asked for never did arrive.
The staff that can supposedly talk 'British' struggle to string a conversation together. Be prepared for the hotel to be 99.9% of German tourists too.
You also have to walk 150 yards to the underground car park where you will be charged 5.50 Euros per day. It`s quite an awkward and long walk with lifts etc. Grab a space on the nearby streets if you can.
We found the only staff that were nice, friendly and helpful were the chambermaids and a couple of the waiters. The front desk staff were unaproachable and very wooden. Great hotel and surroundings, lovely beach but don`t go for the four star service because it is`nt

Room Tip: You may get a bit of noise if your room overlooks the bar and dinning area at night. Our`s overlooke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abasallote, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,


we appreciate your commentary. I am glad to know that you found the hotel's facilities and the location very enjoyable.

However I am very sorry to hear that our staff is not friendly and welcoming as it is one of the items that our guest always value as something very positive. I would like to apologise in the name of the team and also be at your disposal for anything you need.

You can reach me by email rrppfc@fuertehoteles.com. I will be glad to know more about your experience with us in order to improve our service.

Once again, thanks.

Kind regards,

Antonio Basallote

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Indeed, our experience in Fuerte Conil was great. The basics were just very well covered. Spacious room, nice staff, great house keeping and a wonderfull breakfast. The atmosphere in the entire hotel was authentic and relaxing. Nothing to modern or fancy, which was definitely an upside.

The main pool area was also fine, with abundant sunbeds and parasols, even since the hotel was almost fully booked. The layout was also very spacious. No crowded poolside rows of sunbeds, but grassy meadows with plenty of choice regarding the view (sea, pool, ...) As guests of Fuerte Conil you can also use the facilities from the next door Fuerte Costa Luz, but why would you, when you are in better hotel!

We didn't get to use the beach facilities due to the heavy winds, but its just a short walk down. Really, we doubted it to, but it really had an easy beach access with just a short walk down some stairs.

Besides having breakfast everyday we decided to have diner and lunch once as well. I am personally not that fond of buffets, but there was a tremendous choice during diner, so nobody can be disappointed. The lunch menu at the pool restaurant was fine, but we are light lunchers and the choice of small sandwiches of some sort was not that big. But the one on the menu was great!

To finish this review I would say that Fuerta Conil is a beautifull hotel, just make sure you either stay in the hotel or get a car to get around Andalucia, because Conil itself was not inspiring at all (this offcourse could also be because we visited just outside the main summer season). We preferred Cadiz and Vejer de la Frontera.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abasallote, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

thanks for sharing your opinnion with all the tripadvisor's users.

I am happy to know that you had a nice stay with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Antonio Basallote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of a work colleague. Over the years we have stayed in various hotels of this category all over the Costa del Sol, where you felt as if they were doing you a favour by your staying there and didn't seem too bothered whether you came back or not. We were very pleasantly surprised at the level of courtesy and service we received, all the staff, without exception, went out of their way to be helpful and make us welcome. It was refreshing to receive some so-called old fashioned service, and with a smile too.
Although a modern hotel, we liked the traditional style of decor and the feeling of space and tranquility. At check-in, which was quick and efficient, we asked for and received a quiet room at the back overlooking the lawn. The room was spacious with a flatscreen TV with Sky & BBC channels and a mini bar, although was half empty on arrival; guess would have to request it being stocked if required. The bathroom was likewise spacious and impeccably clean as was the rest of the hotel including public areas and restrooms. The room safe was the best ever encountered, card operated, no need to punch in codes.
The hotel is arranged in two phases, the Fuerte Conil and the Fuerte Costa Luz, both interconnected with mature gardens and swimming pools. Guests have access to all the amenities of both hotels and both are equally attractive in their own way.
The swimming pools were particularly attractive in that there were not hundreds of sun loungers side by side as in other hotels, rather they were arranged on lawns on different levels, so you could find your own ideal quiet spot if you so desired. There were pools for little ones as well as for adults.
Night entertainment was excellent, with some very professional artists. Regarding the food, we take this very seriously and we found the quality and variety very impressive, freshly cooked in front of you as well as an extensive buffet to suit all tastes.
On the first evening at dinner we must have detained one of the waitresses a little too long with a question because we noticed the Maitre di’ subsequently speaking with her to find out if there was problem. Within ten minutes, a very pleasant young lady called Maria from Customer Relations was at our table to satisfy any queries we may have had. It was only out of interest we asked a question, but it gave us confidence that had we had a real problem or been unhappy with something, it would have been addressed immediately.
Our compliments to the hotel management for a very well run hotel. Will we return? Most definitely, yes!

Room Tip: Any special requests, such as double bed as opposed to twin beds, ask at time of booking. Hotel will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abasallote, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all thanks for your commentaries. I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main aim is our guest's satisfaction so words like those make us happy with our job.

I would also like to pass you our Manager's gratitud on.

¡We will congratulate our team!

Kind regards to Gibraltar and ¡see you soon!

María Echeveste

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just spent the May bank holiday at this hotel. The Hotel is a very clean and well kept. The gardens are beautiful and swimming pools clean. Located slightly off the beach a very short walk though the gardens leads you to the beach (nice fish restaurant there). The beach is 18km long and so no cramped sun bathing like the Costa del Sol.
All staff were especially attentive, i had a problem with the mini bar not cooling properly, the maintenance man arrived in under 15min (I was shocked so quickly), but I was more shocked when he came back to check it was still cooling an hour later!. The receptionist even sent me up a small birthday present as she had noticed my DOB when checking-in.!!!

The hotel was not busy - a plus not a negative. We eat midday at the Beach bar at their sister hotel within the same complex (20E for both of us, 20% discount for guests), the breakfast was good and service first class

I would point out that along this coastline the hotels are rarely busy apart from mid summer (as was brought up in another post), so if you want a relaxing sun soaked holiday with miles of untouched beaches and historic areas of interest (Bolonia, Cadiz etc) and wonderful food come here. If you want Fish and Chips, packed beaches and high rise hotels then go elsewhere.
I will be back for sure

Room Tip: get a room number around the _80's (external facing one) . sun in the afternoon with a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniobasallote, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for your commentaries.

I am glad to know that enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Fuerte Costaluz.

You wil always be wellcome

King regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz

Address: Av. de la Fontanilla S/N, 11140 Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Conil de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#2 Family Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#3 Luxury Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conil-Costa Luz Fuerte Resort is a tourist complex comprised of two buildings managed in an environmentally responsible way. Located right on the beach front at Fontanilla beach, ten minutes' walk from Conil, a typical fishing village. The hotel has 24.442 M2 of gardens and its gorgeous terraces and swimming pools boast sun loungers where guests can relax completely whilst enjoying panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and the typical golden beaches of the area. It is the ideal place to have a family holiday, both due to its privileged geographic location and the openness and hospitality of its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerte Conil Hotel
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz Conil De La Frontera, Costa De La Luz, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.