We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lamprey heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Gaveto

Restaurante O Gaveto
Rua Roberto Ivens, 826, Matosinhos 4450-250, Portugal
+351 22 937 8796
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 171 Restaurants in Matosinhos
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lamprey heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If there is a shellfish heaven, it's Gaveto. Also every kind of fresh fish you can think of from the Atlantic is done with extreme care and perfection. The wine list is really great and you can find the best of each Portuguese wine region on it. Is is also very wisely done has you have wines for all kinds of wallets. The service is friendly and very professional. Mr.Pinheiro (the owner) and his two sons just do the impossible to make us feel like kings! But what keeps me coming back year after year is the lamprey. I am sure it is the best place to eat lamprey in the hole world. And that for me is heaven! If you come between January and March try it. It looks ugly but it is amazing!! For the rest of the year you can eat the best clams and shellfish rice in Porto.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great seafood table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Off season, off the tourist track, full of locals, and very fresh even on a monday. We had a great lunch, at a fair price! Meals are 20-30 eur, so scale up if you want to round up with cheese, wine & desserts. Staff is very friendly. Eating on the bar at lunch also an attraction, followed by ocean stroll nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I cannot come up with enough accolades to describe our experience at this restaurant. The service was incredible. From the moment we arrived the staff treated us like royalty.
First, they brought us a couple very nice small dishes to try on the house. They recommended a great Portuguese white wine to go with our excellent grilled fresh sea bass. Needless to say the rest of the meal, including the desert and the1983 Niepoort Vintage Port were wonderful.
Porto is a beautiful town, the Portuguese people are friendly, but our experience at this restaurant made our stay there memorable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Go for it if you are in the mood for fish or shellfish!
Fresh fish and live shellfish, great clams:-)
Good wine list and service, they will take the spines of your fish, all you have to do is enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunel
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“birthday lunch great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

we had been out to Matosinhos on the metro to see the sea and it was a sizzling 43 degrees
after a shop and visit to a post office we looked for some where for my 71th birthday lunch
I spotted this restaurant as we walked in small streets seeking some shade

its so lovely there is a part with a bar for eating at with high stools next to the tanks of live seafood then through to the main dining room on the corner with its wood and white clothes and many attentive people

one look at the diners tells you this a place for serious eating this was our most expensive meal in Porto coming to 54,10 euros so here goes
as usual a small and large waters sparkling and still and glass of good red wine for me

we shared a melon and dried ham to start then it was roasted veal and peas for my husband served with home made crisps or thin roast potatoes on a serving dish with gravy
I fancied the shrimp ommelette and requested sliced tomatoes and raw onions which i love together
l could have had any other side dishes included
the ommelette was enormous and full of shrimps and an oval platter of salad
but we did manage to get thought it all very slowly

then on to dessert Denis went for a local cake and for me ice cream a gelado fantasia
a very big mixed selection and home made
very lovely
as we were about to leave the main man came with a bottle of a dry port
so i asked for a small glass and it was so good not at all like the heavier ports I remember from the UK

I had every think I wanted beautifully served and presented and very good quality for what to us was a very reasonable price so if you are out that way do try it

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Gaveto also viewed

Matosinhos, Porto District
Matosinhos, Porto District
 
Matosinhos, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante O Gaveto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Gaveto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.