We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful fresh seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Esplanada Furnas

Restaurante Esplanada Furnas
Rua das Furnas, 2, Ericeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 69 Restaurants in Ericeira
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awful fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When we entered the restaurant we first had to choose the fish we want for dinner. The fish was awful fresh. We opted for sole, a fish we can hardly get in the Netherlands any more, at least for a decent price. Our waitress was not good at English and we don’t speak Portuguese, so it was hard to find out how things worked in this restaurant without a menu card. We didn’t had a starter and not even a leave of lettuce during the main course. The fish was wonderful grilled and presented with a few boiled potatoes. But it tasted delicious. We ended with a nice ice cream and a strong coffee. All in all it was a wonderful experience. The restaurant is near the shore, you watch the ocean from almost every table. If you want really good and fresh sea food, we recommend you this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    65
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Freshest fish in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We found this place by accident on a stopover in Ericeira on the way from Lisbon to Porto. The fish was the freshest we ever ate in a restaurant. Location of the restaurant is also very scenic, right by the sea. You choose the fish and pay by weight. They will prepare it for you. We stopped by the second day again. We had sea bass and sole on both days. Just watch out for the extras they offer (they'll bring cheese, bread etc.) as they are not free. You'll be charged for those extras even if you didn't order them. I will definitely stop by again next time I'm in Ericeira.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

No menus here, you pick your fresh fish from the days catch and it is char grilled to perfection and delivered to your table. It is not exactly cheap but they do what they do very well. The only thing that I didn't like was the lighting, It was not great having a bare lightbulb shining in your face and it didn't add to the atmosphere but given the quality of the food, it is a minor grumble.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

If you want a delicious fish, beautiful view and great service, don't hesitate and book a table at Furnas. It might not be the cheapest option in town, but be certain that you'll have a great lunch or dinner. Fresh fish from the market, good wines, excellent desserts, and a spectacular view, what more do you want ? Terrasse available but check out if windy conditions xxx

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Week in Portugal and this was our favorite restaurant... As others have said the view is amazing= but even better was the fish - We selected the sole and shared it - so fresh -- so delicious -

We had lunch only - We had a waiter that spoke English very well (he had worked on cruise ships for years) And we had a romantic and enjoyable time -

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Esplanada Furnas also viewed

Ericeira, Lisbon District
Ericeira, Lisbon District
 
Ericeira, Lisbon District
Ericeira, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Esplanada Furnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Esplanada Furnas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.