We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel to your Saves list
Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel
Rua Dr Eduardo Burnay 28, Ericeira 2655-370, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I came here on my own and was quite scared considering it was my first solo holiday! Its really easy to get to by bus from lisbon, amazing central location and the whole atmosphere was 10 times better than I ever could have imagined!

The guys that work here are so friendly and get all the people staying here together for surfing and socialising! I stayed in a 4 bed shared room and it was so clean and nice, not at all basic like most hostels are.

I'd definitely recommend and going again this year!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent a few days travelling around surfing and stopped in Ericeira. The surf camp was exactly what we needed. Rooms were clean and well presented but the breakfast was a little sparse and the price a little high at €25 a night for shared but ok for the central location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

this place was amazing nuno and andre are the nicest most friendly people, they go out of they way to make your stay as memorable as possible.
i could not recommend this place enough it is in the heart of the town 2 min walk to the beach the rooms are big and clean with lovely bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverkusen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This has turned out to be one of our best holidays with the amazingly friendly and helpful ways of the staff (Andre) who made everything for his guests and even spent his evenings with us to show us some local restaurants! As it is quite a small hostel it was nice and personal! The double rooms are spacious and clean. There is a nice chill out area with TV for rainy days. Beaches are a 5 minute walk from the hostel. I would always go back to this place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What an incredible place! I really didn't want to leave - this was possibly the best holiday I've ever been on!! The guys at the hostel made us feel so welcome, the place was spotless thanks to the lovely Isabelle who cleaned the building daily (all communal areas and communal bathrooms), Andre (one of the instructors/managers) is an absolute legend and nothing was ever too much trouble. The hostel is amazingly central to the shops, restaurants, beaches, some really nice bars (jukebox was a regular watering hole for us), and there is also a lovely little market over the weekend, perfect for buying gifts to take home for friends and family, and all practically on your doorstep!

Even though I went with my sister, if you're travelling alone, don't worry!! Andre is fantastic at getting everyone together and providing a real family atmosphere to the group, he really makes you feel like you're a treasured guest in his home. Obviously if you want some alone time then there is nothing stopping you from heading off to explore by yourself and he is more than happy to recommend places to eat/see/visit.

The surfing lessons are great too - I've surfed a bit with friends in the UK but never had the clear instructions and guidance to learn properly before, all the surf instructors are incredibly helpful and friendly and never seem to tire of giving you that all important encouragement. They're just as happy as you are when you get the hang of it :)

If you've got a bucket list, ESC should most definitely be on it! I'm so excited to go back again next year and have done nothing but recommend it to people since I got home. The place totally grips your soul and the people at ESC make it the truly incredible experience it is - see you in 2014 guys!! :)

Room Tip: They're ALL amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begen, norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a great week at the ESC. The hostel is located in the main street of Ericeira, really close to everything you need. The rooms was really nice and clean. The staff was amazing, everyone was super nice and friendly and I felt included form the first day. It was a great atmosphere there and it was easy to get to know the other guests. Simple but nice breakfast was included. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ericeira was a nice little town with a good combination of tradition and surfing. The hostel lies in the end of the main street in Ericeira, very central, close to the beaches, shops and some bars. The hostel it self was clean and had a very friendly, young and open atmosphere, witch made it very easy to get to know new people, no matter if you are travelling with others or just by yourself. Breakfast was included and there was also possible to arrange pick ups at the airpoirt in Lisbon. There was also possible to order your own costume designed surfboard, or just go see how they make them, witch was really cool. The people who worked there was very friendly and made you feel very included. They were all surfers and the surf lessons they gave was really good. If you had any request or questions the staff would help you out, and the answer was never no.
After a week it almost felt like a second home, I´m definitively coming back :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel

Address: Rua Dr Eduardo Burnay 28, Ericeira 2655-370, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has 9 rooms with private bathrooms, 3 rooms with shared bathrooms and a small chill out terrace on the top. It has a lounge area with cable tv, surf movies, books, board games, and computers. We also offer free Wi-Fi. Our facilities provide a kitchen equipped with basic utilities to prepare your own meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.