We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VilAzul

Hotel VilAzul
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ericeira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel VilAzul
Calcada da Baleia n0 10, Ericeira 2655 - 238, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Ericeira
Carp, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in late August and enjoyed the stunning view to the ocean and the sunny balcony for a cold beer ! Ate at the restaurant twice - it was so good ! Service great and friendly too. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definately a balcony looking to the ocean ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and it is a nice property right in the center of the village. We were in a room on e top flor, with a little balcony, great for a cold beer in the sunny afternoon! It is a family run small hotel and I will certainly go back there!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Travelled for two weeks in Portugal and stayed in many B&B and hostels. For this hotel there are two keywords; Old and Smelly. Price was quite high and and room was poor. Wifi did not work in the room. Booked last minute for two nights but did not like it at all as the bed was poor as well. Decided to travel to next town. The "friendly" owners did not ask why but started to call us names and swear. Travelled the whole world, made many many friends but never experienced something like this....will never go there again. Location is perfect though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grobbendonk, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

+ The service here is really nice.
+ Great (!) location
+ Picturesque
+ Good price/quality
+ Many luxury items like tv, wifi, ...
+ Delicious food in their restaurant (hint: eat there once at one of your evenings)

- We didn't hear the clock radio because of the noise of the airco ;)
- Wifi wasn't reachable everywhere

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

we have stayed in this hotel on many occasion's and cant fault it at all.We would challenge any one who would not be entirely happy with the facilities the hotel has to offer and the warmth and friendliness of the proprietors and all the staff. the only problem we have ever encountered at this hotel is a fraudulent review written in my name entitled Very Bad Hotel. we are all ways happy to stay and eat at this hotel and would be happy to recommend it to all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Very pleasant hotel for a 2star, actually more like a 3star based on our experiences in Portugal. A decent value because the buffet breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Vilazul combines the perfect location with an affordable quality you don't easily get. Happily situated right in the middle of town, it is very easy to reach and neighbours two lovely bakeries which, for those with a sweet tooth, can be very handy! Despite not being able to give us seeviews, lovely Beatriz at reception made sure we stayed in the only bedroom with a balcony with very pleasant views. Cleanliness was on the spot and breakfast was served in the dinning room. I thoroughly recommend this place and might stay there again on our next visit to Ericeira. I also recommend the restaurant "Gafanhoto" for cheap good local food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel VilAzul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VilAzul

Address: Calcada da Baleia n0 10, Ericeira 2655 - 238, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Vilazul Hotel Ericeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VilAzul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel VilAzul to your Saves list