We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and Relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Ericeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Ericeira to your Saves list
Vila Gale Ericeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca dos Navegantes, 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santarem, Portugal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Calm and Relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel at this place (i mean, before bought by Vila Galé) exists since a looooong time ago. It was an historic hotel and place where the rich and important families from Lisbon passes their holidays in the 70s . They always stay in this hotel for the season and always in Ericeira. It was a 'must' on that time. A glamorous place from other times... Then the hotel was bought by Vila Galé and closed during a while for big re-shaping (to put it up to date with modern life).
This is how you see it now. Not chic , not fancy not 5 ***** service or decoration but calm simple, cosy and relaxing... With a great view over the cold ocean... It is settle on top of the ocean literally. Beautiful surroundings.

Of course that for me, imagining how that place must have been in other times, with all that fancy people going around and parties, etc... it was an extra from mine imagination... But the ocean 'bathing' the hotal and the great views all over the hotel and all the walks in this cosy village , give us a very good 'scenario' for imagination...

The village of Ericeira is very nice, calm and cozy. You have everything you need in there for a small relaxing and calm holidays. Very nice.

Ericeira have good restaurants too. Some expensive places (but with very good see food a great view for the ocean) but also contains good and cheap places as well.

Good and long side-walking for nice and long walks from the hotel to the other side of the village ... always with ocean view as company.

The are also some nice bars and music at night in there.

you must pass a weekend (2 or 3 days) in here.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean side room if you prefer a great view. It is a more noisy side because of the waves b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the complete description that you have made from our hotel.

The hotel is open since the late 1940's and has you sad is has been visited by many important families and persons related to the portuguese society.

It is an hotel with history and inheritance. It is our commitment to keep up to this legacy.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé "Always Close to You".

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    157
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
98
147
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogense, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Vila Gale in May 2014. An incredible week. Nice og cosy village, where we spent a lot of time, nice little restaurants etc. The hotel was absolutely first class, the staff did everything to make our holiday a relaxing stay. We are returning in september 2014 again.

Room Tip: You sleep very god in their beds and the cleaning is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your words and we are waiting for your visit in September.

See you soon,

Carlos Alves
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hi Jose

We may not be able to make Lucky 7 Plus Two this year. We have retired from work since our last visit and of course we have to watch where our money is spent. We will save up though and try and make the Plus Two soon as we don't want to miss out on the relaxing atmosphere you offer.
Best regards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback and regret that you will not return to our hotel has soon as we wish.

Jose, is now on Vila Galé Santa Cruz in Madeira, however the hotel is still offering the same relaxing atmosphere that you look for.

We hope to welcome you has soon as posible,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth scotland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

we arrived at our room to be greeted by vibrations caused by jack hammers, pheumatic drills and hammers, we were here for a rest! Thankfully after pushing the reception staff we were changed to a room a little further away from the noise, but there was still some disturbance, but it was better than our first one. During our stay here, there were workers walking through the swimming pool area carrying various building equipment and tools (except at the weekend). When one pays for a room at a 4 star hotel 5 months previous, you do not expect to be greeted by building works, these jobs should be done out of season, or we should have been informed of the works and given the opportunity to change our booking. The hotel charges extra for your room safe (they advise you to use the safe) wifi is extra in your room, snooker is extra. Breakfast is good, although it is the same each day, we had dinner once which was acceptable.
This hotel could be a lot better for its star rating, but it seems to concentrate on coach tour parties from Germany who arrive and leave on a daily basis in large numbers, I think the hotel is happy looking after these transient guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We regret that your stay was not so enjoyable has you wanted and has we wished it was.

In fact, last winter the Hercules Storm destryoed all our outdoor Swimmg Pool area and Health Club and of course we had to rebuilt it all over again.

Unfortunatelly the winter in Portugal this year lasted longer than usual and the rainny days were frequent untill May and this has delayed the construction works.

All the areas are ready to welcome you again on a near future for a calm and relaxing holidays.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel.

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at Vila Gale in 2013 and are returning again in July 2014. Hotel is in a fantastic location right by the ocean. Very relaxing stay which was enhanced by the friendly staff. Centre only a short walk away. Plenty of nice restaurants, some very inexpensive

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor with an ocean view is most definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is very well located on the edge of the ocean. The restaurant and the lobby have a spectacular view of the sea. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room with a little balcony where we could sit and watch the waves crash into the shore. The hotel and the room was tastefully decorated with dark wood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken posting this review.

It was a pleasure welcome you in our hotel and for being able to provide you an enjoyable stay.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have stayed here several times and always look forward to returning. We love the ocean and the hotel's site juts out into the surf perpendicular to the beach. Sit on your veranda and watch the big Atlantic Ocean rollers come crashing to shore after their long ocean's traverse. These waves can be enormous. The world record largest wave surfed was set along this stretch of Portuguese coastline. Ericeira is a beautiful village with one of the most swimmable beaches in the area. If you are visiting Sintra this is not far away and a nice break if that tourist mecca is overrun. I would also recommend Coimbra to the north. Its a university town (oldest library in Europe) and the site of Napoleon's first defeat.

Room Tip: the south facing rooms in the middle of the hotel have the best views of the surf and beach beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

The first sentence of your review was received with tremendous joy by all of our Staff, it was trully a reward knowning that you are always looking forward to visit us again.

We thank you for your review and for the description made on it.

We hope that you can visit us for many years more and we will be looking forward for your return.

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Ericeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ericeira

Address: Praca dos Navegantes, 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ericeira 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breath taking hotel is located right on the Atlantic coast above the water offering a stunning ocean view and only 50 meters away from the inviting beach of Ericeira. Connections to the public transport network are to be found 500 metres away and the nearest airport is in Lisbon 40 km away. In the hotel surrounding there are many shops, bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 202 rooms spread over 5 floors. Among the rooms 116 with ocean view and 5 junior suites. The hotel includes a lobby area with a 24-hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access and lifts, hotel safe. For those arriving by car the hotel offers parking or garage (for an additional fee). In the common areas you will find a restaurant with buffet or a la carte service, 2 bars, a game room, kids playground and business corner. The hotel is fully equipped with event rooms with internet access and multimedia options ideal for meetings and conferences. Younger guests may let off steam in the playground and participate in the kids' club activities. Room, laundry and medical services round up the facilities on offer. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. Some of the rooms have balcony access. The outdoor complex offers a freshwater swimming pool as well as a saltwater pool with a separate children's pool, a sun terrace with sun loungers, parasols and a pool- bar. The Health Club with free access for guess is equipped with Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam room and Gym. You may also access the Spa for massages and beauty treatments for and additional cost. Surrounded by the ocean and beautiful landscapes, Vila Gale Ericeira is the perfect choice for those who wish to practice nautical sports, such as surfing. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and Dinner may also be selected a la carte menu or from a set menu. Special diet requirements as well as individual-specific dishes may be prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Gale Ericeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ericeira Hotel Ericeira
Vila Gale Hotel Ericeira
Ericeira Vila Gale Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Ericeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.