We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Ericeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Ericeira to your Saves list
Vila Gale Ericeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca dos Navegantes, 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Apart from some small problems that we reported to the staff, we had a very pleasant one-night stay at Vila Galé. The room had a wonderful sea view and a very sunny balcony, was mint clean, and plus a large choice of bed pillows. We slept with the sea sounds all night!
The breakfast had a huge variety of both hot and cold meals, and a lot of choice, even at the breakfast end time (10h30). We also found the "Pirata" bar quite cozy. The staff were nice all around, and the overall opinion is that we will probably be back again, given the opportunity.
The only big let-down was the SPA, which is only accessible from the street (terrible during Winter), and seems a bit "separated" from the hotel, as you can only be given information on the available services at the spa's reception, and not at the hotel's main reception.
As a final tip, the car park seems a bit small for such a big hotel, but in the street there is some free parking spaces (not many, though). On the bright side, all the village is accessible at a walking distance, so just leave the car in the park and stroll around!

Room Tip: Obviously, with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments as we feel very happy and proud to know that we provide you a nice stay .

We look forward to welcome you back at the Vila Galé Ericeira.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    157
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
98
147
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Hotel looks impressing from the outside but under a closer look most of it should have been better maintained. It looks af if the Money or the interest of the hotelowners would be missing.
The first impression of our room was the really bad smell from cigarettes and old interieur. Unfortunately it was not possibel to get rid of it by keeping the windows open. The Carpet was covered with several stains and from one wall concrete and colour already came of. We really felt unconfortabel in that room.
The Spa was obviosly not renewed since decades which was a pitty because this was the reason which convinced us not to take a cheaper Hotel or Hostel. I really don t know why this place still owns 4 stars.
At least the lady from the reception was really friendly and helpfull and did a great job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Patrick,

Thank you for your comments and we regret that some items were not up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ericeira so we can provide you a better experience with us.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillesand, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very nice place to stay in Ericeira. Close to the praia sul, and the resturants in Ericeira centre. Good starting-point for jogs to Foz do lizandro. Beautiful hotel located swell-side.

Breakfast buffe was good, with everything you might want(fruits, breads, eggs, beacon etc). When it comes to restaurants in Ericeira centre, the number is quite limited but good quality.

Pool-area is well kept, and with good service from the personell. From the sunbed you can feel and hear the impact of the waves. There is also a restaurant serving simple dishes pool-side.

Rooms were pretty good. Make sure to get a room with seaview and balcony.

For surfing, Foz-do-Lizandro has board rental and schools.

Room Tip: seaview and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Andy,

We are very gratified glad for having provide you with a good holiday experience, thats why we are here.

We'll be waiting for your return.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week for a conference I was attending, and ended up staying an extra couple of days as we were so happy with the room and services. If I had just been there for pleasure, I would have given it 5 stars as it was top notch at a great price. As a conference participant though, it was lacking a bit as Internet connection was very cumbersome and get kept dropping, and there were a lot of issues with bookings and payments for many conference participants. The breakfast buffet was great in the mornings, but I would recommend eating other meals elsewhere in the town.

The best part of this hotel is it's location and stunning views. The swimming pools and spa are also terrific.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mrs. Kathleen,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé on your next trip to Ericeira.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here in a lovely room facing the ocean across the pool area. The room was excellent, the decor might not be new but was in excellent condition and consistent with the style of the hotel. We slept with the doors open, listening to the surf for 2 nights but the third night resorted to the air conditioning, which worked well, as it was very windy.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pool area was pleasant for relaxing and not too busy when we were there.
The breakfast had a reasonable variety of foods but did not seem to taste that good. eg one type of cheese and only pressed ham, no cured ham, the cooked foods were very salty.
Vila Gale is a large hotel and very dominant in its position but is the best place to stay in Ericeira.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and we were very pleased that you were happy to stay with us.

We specially thank you for the comments on the items that were not completely tou your standards because those help us to improve..

Looking forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ericeira.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel with a very good location. Whe feel that we are in a boat on the sea. Fantastic.
Breakfast enough.
My room looks old. Early in the morning so much noisy - the doors of the other room closing make a lot of noise.
I dont understand why the pools bar was closed, with a lot of people in the hotel. Finaly in a hotel with 4 stars with a price near 100 € for a room, we need to rent a key for de safe guard for 2,5€ a day. Why not include the safe guard in the price? it's look better, in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which helps us to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ericeira.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 14 nights at the hotel and had no complaints whatsoever, We had room 328 which looked out across the bay and had a clear view of the sea. The rooms are not huge but plenty big enough for two and are kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of choice and cooked very well. The staff are friendly, and very helpful. Ericeira is a lovely village with all the restaurants, cafes and bars you could want, and less than five minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Room 328 overlooks the bay and the hotel swimming pools, we might try a corner room next time we vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments as we feel very happy to know that we provided you a nice stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Vila Galé Ericeira for more stays.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Ericeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ericeira

Address: Praca dos Navegantes, 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ericeira 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breath taking hotel is located right on the Atlantic coast above the water offering a stunning ocean view and only 50 meters away from the inviting beach of Ericeira. Connections to the public transport network are to be found 500 metres away and the nearest airport is in Lisbon 40 km away. In the hotel surrounding there are many shops, bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 202 rooms spread over 5 floors. Among the rooms 116 with ocean view and 5 junior suites. The hotel includes a lobby area with a 24-hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access and lifts, hotel safe. For those arriving by car the hotel offers parking or garage (for an additional fee). In the common areas you will find a restaurant with buffet or a la carte service, 2 bars, a game room, kids playground and business corner. The hotel is fully equipped with event rooms with internet access and multimedia options ideal for meetings and conferences. Younger guests may let off steam in the playground and participate in the kids' club activities. Room, laundry and medical services round up the facilities on offer. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. Some of the rooms have balcony access. The outdoor complex offers a freshwater swimming pool as well as a saltwater pool with a separate children's pool, a sun terrace with sun loungers, parasols and a pool- bar. The Health Club with free access for guess is equipped with Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam room and Gym. You may also access the Spa for massages and beauty treatments for and additional cost. Surrounded by the ocean and beautiful landscapes, Vila Gale Ericeira is the perfect choice for those who wish to practice nautical sports, such as surfing. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and Dinner may also be selected a la carte menu or from a set menu. Special diet requirements as well as individual-specific dishes may be prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Gale Ericeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ericeira Hotel Ericeira
Vila Gale Hotel Ericeira
Ericeira Vila Gale Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Ericeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.