We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp mosquito infested dorm, terrible staff, awful instructors” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lapoint Surfcamp Portugal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ericeira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lapoint Surfcamp Portugal
Save
You added Lapoint Surfcamp Portugal to your Saves list
Praceta do Miradouro nr 6, Ericeira 2655, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Ericeira B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Damp mosquito infested dorm, terrible staff, awful instructors”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I can honestly say this is the most disappointing holiday experience I ever had. I requested and paid a supplement for a single room. There are 3 Lapoint properties in Ericeira. As it was early September only the main camp was full and the other two houses where single rooms are located were empty. So the management decided to stick me in a 4 bed dorm on my own in a shack beside the office on the main property. The sheets were damp, the room ridden with mosquitoes, other insects and dirt. After a sleepless first night battling the insects I complained in the morning and they switched me to a dorm in the main building. The dorm was a 6 bed, I felt especially guilty about being there as they then decided to stick two newcomers in my mosquito shack but I was so tired I took it up for a few nights before more people arrived and I switched to one of the other Lapoint Ericeira properties, Mollinos. I have absolutely no complaint over this second house in Mollinos it was clean and not overrun by insects.

I am Irish, I appreciate this camp is Scandinavian but given that they have a website in English and when I enquired seemed happy to take non-Norwegian speakers as guests, I thought it should be fine. I was travelling alone but speak French, German and a little Spanish and Portuguese so thought I'd be sure to be able to strike up a few conversations. In the event I did but found the staff were exclusive rather than inclusive. For them seemed a real pain to have to explain things to me in English. On the plus side I now have a few words of Norwegian and Swedish. However, overall I found that the overriding staff attitude seemed to be that they were there on their holiday and their guests were an unwelcome intrusion. It was very cliquish with the staff and a few long term guests being the cool gang and the short term 1 or 2 week guests being in the uncool club, especially if they were not experienced surfers.

Finally I should say something about the lessons. If you are an extremely ambitious surfer who is looking to be physically challenged and pushed to improve then you'll love this camp. If on the other hand you're less driven and are really there for a holiday and to improve your surfing rather than for an absolute all-in work out then this is not the camp for you. You are given clear objectives before each outing, which I think is great. What I didn't like so much was the individual criticism which was given out to each student by the instructor as the other students stood around in a circle. Surfers were divided into 3 sections, beginner, intermediate and advanced and then each section had an A and B team. Your criticism also included a promise of possible promotion to the A team or demotion to the B team of your category if you'd been a bold boy or girl. I could have sworn I was back playing under 12 football. One instructor was the stereo typical latin macho man, fawning over the girls, flexing his muscles and showing everyone how it's done, paying much less time to the guys or anyone but the most attractive ladies. On the other hand the second instructor was great, modest, helpful to all and an all round nice guy.

My trip was in September 2013, I am writing this in June 2014. I was originally so disappointed I didn't want to write a spiteful review. I just wanted to forget about an awful time and move on. I am writing now so that anyone as I am on another surf trip and hope that anyone who is likeminded: i.e. who wants both a holiday and great surf, makes a better choice and avoids this place. I am currently on a surf camp in Surfivor in Esmoriz in North Portugal and am having a great time. In Portugal have previously stayed in Extreme Algarve in Lagos and think that place is the absolute best of many surf stays I have had. I have also stayed with Peniche Kite & Surf centre back in 2006 an that was good too. I know there are other options in Ericeira but I didn't stay in those so cannot comment, had I not prepaid for my stay I would have moved on from Lapoint after the first couple of days.

If I could sum up Lapoint Ericeira in one word: AVOID

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was my first time learning how to surf with lapoint and I can easily say that it was worth it. The surf instructors are really good and chill at the same time. The staff at lapoint are nice and friendly and will help you with anything. The rooms are ok but you wont have any privacy. Dinner is served at the camp for 10€. The city is small and charming and the house is close to the beach!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lapoint was a great place to stay and learn how to surf. The rooms vere very simple (= hardly any privacy), as was he meals, but the beach was only a few minutes away, with great waves most of the time. Staff was very friendly, and took part in most of the activities at the hotel. The average age of the guests is somewhere around 20.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapoint Surfcamp Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapoint Surfcamp Portugal

Address: Praceta do Miradouro nr 6, Ericeira 2655, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a beginner or an experienced surfer, you will certainly find plenty to do at our surf camp in Ericeira. This is the perfect spot for people wanting to surf in Europe since it has everything to make your trip a success; good waves, a relaxed atmosphere, great people, and lots of things to see and do. We offer various forms of accommodation to suit singles, couples, families and groups. Lapoint Surf camp Portugal combines comfortable accommodation with surfing instructions. It is based on a vision of establishing an unpretentious environment where the aim is to have fun together regardless of age, gender, nationality or surfing skills. All our camp staff love surfing, and their job is to make sure that you have as good a time as possible. WHAT TO EXPECT Lapoint is synonymous with a pleasant atmosphere, plenty of surf, and meeting new people. This is what we guarantee. The rest is very much up to you. Hope to see you soon, we look forward to surfing with you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapoint Surfcamp Portugal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.